We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Terrible” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Out Of India

Out Of India
Reserve with
Out Of India is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #29 of 42 Restaurants in Morwell
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Terrible”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2014

Worse indian meal ive ever had. Girls were looking beautiful in those indian outfits, nice and polite but they need to understant that they are representing the restaurant. They should be ready to receive feedback! While i was writing a feedback for chef she offered us if we want to talk to manager. I dnt wanted all their customers to know about our bad food experience thats why i was writing my feedback. After talking to chef Rao who was very arrogant, he insulted us and said we are bullying him and his staff. I think he beleived that we weren't allowed to make a complaint about food and threatened to call the Police. Uncooked naan and cold butter chicken was served up to us which is not acceptable, if i had eaten this who knows what could of happened as i am pregnant. Oh, by the way where is your hospitality saying "customer is always right ?" After paying for the uneaten food i gave the paper with my feedback. Bullying is a very strong and aggresive word to use to describe your customers. Both my husband and i felt very unsettled about the whole incident. We as a customer have right to speak and give feedback and he as a owner should be ready to receive feedback as we are the one who is paying but insulting your customers isn't the way to run a business. Hope this feedback is helpful for indian food lovers.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Kimipower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
xmas_12, Owner at Out Of India, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
Thank you for your dishonest review, every history have two side & we believe every customer has right to comment on our food & service, but not treat us as their sleaved, we are human too, we cook food for everyone, as you were pregnant, it maybe change your taste, but not our recipe, we have been flowing the same recipe for last 12 years, if there is any problem with our food, we aspect our customer to returned the food to kitchen asap, rathe then finished their meal and then complain, as you left a note that said....you are a chef and you wrote the recipe for us, we love to learn from you, if you have some free time, your husband try to make a big drama in front of the other customer and bulling our staff to make them upset, also trying to hand over a napkin to the staff and said "tough an up" and after three attempt declined your credit card bill, you & your husband try to runoff, we are very proud of our Gippsland, we love where we live, wish you all the best & congratulations for your pregnancy.
Regards
Out Of India
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    13
    6
    8
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Have a TV dinner instead...”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2014

Worse indian meal ive ever had. Girls were looking beautiful in those indian outfits, nice and polite but they need to understant that they are representing the restaurant. They should be ready to receive feedback! While i was writing a feedback for chef she offered us if we want to talk to manager. I dnt wanted all their customers to know about our bad food experience thats why i was writing my feedback. After talking to chef Rao who was very arrogant, he insulted us and said we are bullying him and his staff. I think he beleived that we weren't allowed to make a complaint about food and threatened to call the Police. Uncooked naan and cold butter chicken was served up to us which is not acceptable, if i had eaten this who knows what could of happened as i am pregnant. Oh, by the way where is your hospitality saying "customer is always right ?" After paying for the uneaten food i gave the paper with my feedback. Bullying is a very strong and aggresive word to use to describe your customers. Both my husband and i felt very unsettled about the whole incident. We as a customer have right to speak and give feedback and he as a owner should be ready to receive feedback as we are the one who is paying but insulting your customers isn't the way to run a business. Hope this feedback is helpful for indian food lovers.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Kris P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
xmas_12, Owner at Out Of India, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
Thank you for your dishonest review, every history have two side & we believe every customer has right to comment on our food & service, but not treat us as their sleaved, we are human too, we cook food for everyone, as you were pregnant, it maybe change your taste, but not our recipe, we have been flowing the same recipe for last 12 years, if there is any problem with our food, we aspect our customer to returned the food to kitchen asap, rathe then finished their meal and then complain, as you left a note that said....you are a chef and you wrote the recipe for us, we love to learn from you, if you have some free time, your husband try to make a big drama in front of the other customer and bulling our staff to make them upset, also trying to hand over a napkin to the staff and said "tough an up" and after three attempt declined your credit card bill, you & your husband try to runoff, we are very proud of our Gippsland, we love where we live, wish you all the best & congratulations for your pregnancy.
Regards
Out Of India
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
latrobe valley victoria
Level Contributor
41 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“excellent value banquet”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2014

i have been to out of india restaurant many times and it never dissapoints. BYO is a bonus making the reasonably priced meals even more affordable.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank mikepaynter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
xmas_12, Owner at Out Of India, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
Thank you your kind support, cant wait to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morwell, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Out Of India”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2014

Out of India is a restaurant that we frequently visit, food is always good and its a great little restaurant to sit in and enjoy a meal, and they also do a fabulous takeaway. Staff always friendly, food always great!!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Gillian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
xmas_12, Owner at Out Of India, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
Thank you so much for your support, we live to have you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traralgon, Australia
1 review
“Dissapointed”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2014

I always get a large rice and large butter chicken to take away. The prices vary from $15.50-$26.80 for the same thing! I find if it costs more we get a smaller container. After many times of coming back thinking it will change. It doesn't I will never go back there again. They need to learn to charge the same amount and give us the same amount.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank B9hf46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
xmas_12, Owner at Out Of India, responded to this review, April 5, 2014
Dear B9hf46, we like to thank you for your honest comment and at the same time, we can't change the price in the computer at the time customer order their meals, our regular size butter chicken for take away cost $14 come with 10pieces chicken & large one cost $22 with 17-18 pieces chicken, if you think anyone charge you more than above price, please provide us the date & the total bill and we will give your money back, we are always try our best to do the right things as no one is perfect, everyday we learning something new & better way to handle the situations like this, please call Roy to discus further if you are not happy with this respond.
Kind Regards
Out Of India
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Out Of India also viewed

 

Been to Out Of India? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing