We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptionally comfortable beds for a motel!”
Review of Morwell Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Morwell Motel
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Morwell
Certificate of Excellence
Drouin, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Exceptionally comfortable beds for a motel!”
Reviewed July 5, 2013

Shared the room with my two sisters I got the single bed and it was very comfortable. Room was nice and warm when we arrived which you need in Gippsland. Plenty of space in the room. Great idea to have toaster, microwave and large fridge making it possible to buy food Aldi and have a more affordable holiday.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cindy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morwell_Motel, Owner at Morwell Motel, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Thanks for your review. People often comment on our beds and we now sell them as a result! With ALDI next door, our full size fridge was not an accident. We're really happy you both enjoyed your stay and hope we see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

419 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    331
    69
    13
    5
    1
See reviews for
55
96
30
170
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2013

We enjoyed our brief stopover in Morwell while visiting relatives. Anthony was very welcoming and offered us an upgrade to an Executive room for an extra $20. While not overly large the room was newly renovated with lovely furnishings, spotless and with the most comfortable bed imaginable. All fittings were first class and the coffee machine was a bonus. Our only complaint would be that if one was staying for longer than a night there is no wardrobe to hang clothing just a couple of hooks on the wall. The other thing is there is no basin in the renovated bathroom so one must shave/ clean teeth etc in the sink in the kitchenette area, not really ideal. Having said that we will stay there again next time we need to be in Morwell as it is definitely the best in town.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BJC1710
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morwell_Motel, Owner at Morwell Motel, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
It was a pleasure to offer you the upgrade; if we are able to, we do! We absolutely understand your comment regarding the sink. We have spent nearly $1million on the refurbishment and had to spend it wisely. With a full bathroom renovation being a very expensive part of the build, we hope to add the sink at stage 2. Some rooms have wardrobes and some have the 3 hangers as the needs of guests vary. Please let us know you'd like more room next time you visit. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 4, 2013

Great motel and much better than you would expect. The rooms were very clean, very comfortable and nicely and modernly decorated. The nicest touch was a pod espresso machine in the room so you could get a "nice" cup of coffee first up in the morning. If you are staying in Morwell this would have to top the list for places to stay.

Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Graham M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
Reviewed July 4, 2013

A great overnight stay and an excellent day in very comfortable conference surroundings.
Running a training workshop for 10 local business persons can always be a challenge when you have to travel several hours, set up, run the show, pull down and move on. The Morwell Motel crew made the whole event a breeze with a very comfortable professional yet friendly style. This was a first time yet you might think we've had a business relationship for many years. The work area facilities were excellent and efficient plus roomy lounge chairs for quieter conversations.
Tea-break and coffee provided was first class. No noisy distractions just good service.

Room facilities were top notch. A great bed, TV like at home (big, flat screen), superb coffee facilities and classy cutlery.

I've already booked a return visit.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Philip M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed June 28, 2013

The rooms were so clean and comfortable. Spacious design with everything you need in a room.
The service was warm and inviting. Extremly friendly and approachable.
Nespresso machine came in handy.
Very enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dylan_maynard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bega
2 reviews
Reviewed June 25, 2013

Beautifully decorated room, friendly service, and to top it off, a Nespresso Coffee machine and milk frother. I was very pleased, and had an extra cup. Though it was freezing outside, the room was toasty warm. We were very comfortable.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
Reviewed June 21, 2013

Service was impeccable, staff were very friendly. Room was heated before I arrived, it was very clean and the furnishings were very new. Super comfy King sized beds. There was a good range of appliances (Nespresso machine, milk frother, hair dryer, iron, kettle, fridge with freezer etc). Good pressure on the shower. The list of takeout provided for different cuisines was very thoughtful. Convenient location just beside Aldi. Almost forgot about the free wifi (: I do not usually travel alone but Morwell Motel has made my stay very pleasant. Will definitely come back again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank crystal k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grant_Mad, Owner at Morwell Motel, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Thank you for your kind words. We appreciate our guests letting others know how much we love running this boutique motel. Thank you Crystal, we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Morwell
0.6 mi away
Comfort Inn Cedar Lodge
Comfort Inn Cedar Lodge
#3 of 4 in Morwell
4.0 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
8.3 mi away
Best Western Governor Gipps Motor Inn
0.6 mi away
Coal Valley Motor Inn
Coal Valley Motor Inn
#2 of 4 in Morwell
5.0 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
503 On Princes Drive Motel & Serviced Apartments
7.0 mi away
Connells Motel
Connells Motel
#1 of 8 in Traralgon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 97 reviews
4.1 mi away
Century Inn
Century Inn
#2 of 8 in Traralgon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Morwell Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Morwell Motel

Property: Morwell Motel
Address: 259 Princes Dr, Morwell, Victoria 3840, Australia (Formerly Comfort Inn)
Location: Australia > Victoria > Gippsland > Morwell
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Morwell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Morwell Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
After spending half a million dollars in late 2012 Morwell Motel has re-opened with every one of our rooms fitted out with beautiful planked floors, hand built furniture in amazing timber/leather combinations with granite desks, coffee and bedside tables and a new PENTHOUSE 'King Koil' mattress by AH BEARD Australia that is topped with quality linen.What others may call “extras”, Morwell Motel calls “inclusions”. In every room, the Motel includes a Nespresso coffee machine and milk frother, with a choice of many flavour pods in reception, free in-room Wi-Fi, split system air-conditioning, full size fridge, microwave, iPod/iPhone dock & charger, 42” flat-screen HD TV, Russel Hobbs toaster and kettle with crockery, cutlery and glassware. Our free gym and fitness room includes an electronic treadmill, multi-station gym set and exercise bike. There is free off-street parking and a complimentary guest laundry. For those after a little extra luxury, our 6 modern Executive King rooms are ground floor and were gutted in the reno - everything in them is new. Including plastered walls, a full kitchentte, volcanic stone tiled shower with hand-held shower wand. The motel is next door to ALDI supermarket and a few minutes walk to several restaurants, pubs and clubs that our guests may charge back to their room. Being a small 22 room boutique motel we pride ourselves on providing a warm, friendly and welcoming service for our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Booking.com, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Morwell Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing