We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Surprise”
Review of The Lorne Ovenhouse - CLOSED

The Lorne Ovenhouse
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
60 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Nice Surprise”
Reviewed March 3, 2012

Lovely gourmet pizzas, great atmosphere. Good service and great value.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank Kate L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

76 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    24
    9
    5
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton
Level Contributor
50 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Highly recommended”
Reviewed February 3, 2012

This restaurant had a lovely ambience and was very clean with fabulous service. We liked the french waiters and bar staff who went out of their way. A full house so must be very popular.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank TommiesGo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great family meal”
Reviewed January 18, 2012

We visited the Lorne Ovenhouse in Jan and had a fantastic family meal. The service was attentive and very friendly. The pizzas were wonderful with options that catered for both ours and our children's tastes. The starters of dips and halloumi were very yummy. Very good value.

The Ovenhouse has also on other occasions when Lorne is very busy, happily served us coffee in the morning when other cafes will only serve you if you are ordering breakfast.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Larissa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Amazing!!”
Reviewed January 3, 2012

I just had such a great experience at the Ovenhouse. Amazing food and incredible service. The muscles were amazing!!! I highly recommend!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lizclarke21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“WOW - GREAT NEW YEARS EVE DINNER”
Reviewed December 31, 2011

We booked the set menu New Years Eve Dinner and were not disappointed. $80 a head and included sparkling wine, appetisers, entree, main and dessert. On arrival we were provided with numerous glasses of a good Australian sparkling wine (Brown Bros), great appetisers (smoked salmon, olive tapenade, white bait with a sensational spicy aioli, and stuffed mushroom caps - all excellent and as many as you wanted. We sat outside with most of the early arriving guests enjoying the appetisers and sparkling wine - in the cool of the early evening. Went inside to our table for entree (we had the seared scallops - great), I had the veal cutlet for main course and Lyn had a great mushroom risotto. Desert and coffee followed and topped off a memorable night.
The wait staff were very friendly and efficient and managment overall seemed right on top of the night.
I thought this was great value for a New Years Eve dinner in a good restaurant and can't wait to try Ovenhouse out on a normal night.
Well done to all at Ovenhouse.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RodLyn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Lorne Ovenhouse also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing