We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful, but restrictive and overpriced!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Phoenix Apartments Lorne
Ranked #18 of 22 Specialty Lodging in Lorne
Reviewed August 6, 2012

Phoenix Apartments in Lorne is as described on the internet; decorated in Mediterranean minimalist themes, which is fine. It also doesn't claim to be super updated, as there are some repairs needed to tiles and some freshening up.

The biggest draw for my boyfriend and I was that it is pet friendly, however since the now owners took over they have restricted the rooms they allow pets in from 6 to only 2, AND they have jacked the prices up! It is now completely unrealistic for young couples to afford to come stay at Phoenix in peak times, not to mention the 2 night stay minimum in off peak season also means that those who work Monday - Friday are unable to stay there on weekends.

The man that used to care for the property, Ian, was amazingly friendly and always there to answer his phone, or help out if something went wrong. The new owners are difficult to reach, and rarely at the on-site office.

I still think it's a beautiful place to stay, but won't be staying there anytime soon.

Room Tip: If you can splurge, take apartment 5 or 6, the view is lovely, however these aren't pet friendly...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PetFriendly3232
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (33)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

25 - 31 of 33 reviews

Reviewed February 25, 2012

We just returned from a stay in Phoenix Apartments. As the title says, the best things about this place are the location right in the centre of Lorne and that we could bring our dog.

Otherwise it was an fairly empty space with uncomfortable furniture, paper thin walls, loud plumbing and no air conditioning (at a beach apartment!). It was 35 degrees for the couple nights we stayed and the place was pretty unbearable when we left.

My wife and I slept on a fold down bed in the living room that by morning was like sleeping on the floor, and we like a firm mattress. I'm not sure what the main bed is like as we let our daughter sleep there so we wouldn't disturb her watching TV in the evening.

For the same rate I have stayed at Lornebeach Apartments and that was much better value for money.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Magarnicle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2011

Phoenix apartment location is great-smack bang in the middle of Lorne. We stayed on Australia Day weekend, managed to get a booking at late notice thanks to cancellation. Anyone after a hotel, all inclusive style set up should look elsewhere, but if youre happy to feel like local staying in your own apartment, this place is good. A fresh loaf of locally baked bread and good quality australian soaps etc were a nice touch. Our living room was absolutely huge with balcony and superb views. Floorboards, tiles etc were actually in need of refreshing/repair and there were water stains on the curtains but the views and space made up for it. Pets are allowed but it would be useful if water dishes for the purpose could be provided.
Kostas Greek restaurant and Ba Ba La are two favourire restaurants nearby.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TerriandTim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2011

I come to Lorne each year for a conference and always stay at Phoenix Apartments (the default option, The Mantra, not really cutting the mustard). My partner often joins me and we also have stayed just for holidays. The sparsely furnished, Mediterranean style rooms suit us unlike one other reviewer (who clearly should seek out more cluttered accommodation, possibly with elevators). The beds and furnishings are comfortable. The location is perfect, the view from the top floor superb – even in the rain the whole glass front wall slides away to completely open the room. Two things that should be addressed 1. Get with the times and get a proper digital 32” flat screen TV – they are so cheap now. 2. Fix the shower screen/leaking problems in #5. I am a tough marker - Otherwise 5 stars.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pipsbowtie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2010

My husband and I went for a weekend away and this was just perfect. The Phoenix Apartments are right in town, walk out the front and there is the main road - heaps of restaurants and shops at your door. Beach across the road.
The lounge furniture is quite basic but that adds to the charm. It is minimalist but if you need anything, it has it. The beds are really comfortable and bathroom clean. Kitchen is stocked with saucepans and plates etc and bread and jam was ready for us the first morning in the fridge. What a fabulous surprise.
Highly recommend and glad I use trip advisor to check others comments when I was booking as they were right, it was a find.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MsMinsky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2010

Phoenix apartments are located centrally in Lorne and have easy access to the main strip. This was great. The apartment was extremely spacious and the kitchen was fully functional, with a fast heating electric stove and a large oven. The view of the ocean from the second floor is also really nice, although partially obscured by the Mantra, but that wasn't an issue. The bed had clean sheets and the pantry was stocked with the essentials and the bread and eggs on the first day was a nice touch.

On the negative aspects the furniture is super minimal. We are talking concrete walls, one very uncomfortable couch, daybed, futon and meals table. The size of the living area is really large, so these things disappeared. Everything was beige, white or brown with absolutely nothing on the walls. It was really depressing after a while. The TV was a tiny analogue thing. The size you would of had in your bedroom as an early teenager in the early nineties maybe? And every piece of furniture was the most uncomfortable I have come across. There was no cooling in-built, so we had to keep the door to the patio open most of the time to get a breeze (although it was a little scary doing this when the resident cocatoo's would perch on the railing screaching at us). There was only stair access to the second level, which was tiring and generally harder due to being 7 months pregnant.

There was no information from Ian about how to work anything and we had to try and figure things out for ourselves, ie a random hissing noise would mean the wall heaters would spontaneously turn themselves on, we didn't know we could ask for more towels until Ian saw us on day 3 of a 4 night sstay and asked if we wanted extra towels as he only provided 2 to start off with for a 4 night stay.

The bed was super uncomfortable and we ended up only being able to fall asleep on one of the 4 nights (due to exhaustion).

Overall this was underwhelming. Would not stay here again.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank manbag111204
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2010

We drove into Lorne without a hotel reservation and decided on the Phoenix Apartments based upon their charming outside appearance and what a find! This place is laid back, simple and stylish, clean, and with a spectacular view of the ocean. The "apartment" ran us 130 for the night and that included the most spacious living room and bedroom, a bathroom with tub, and a full service kitchen and stocked pantry. The host is super nice and laid back and supplied us with cereal, milk, a loaf of bread, various jams etc. Plus, free internet. The location is great, along the main route with great cafes and stores. Really, what could you ask for?

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank notkeren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lorne hotels
0.3 mi away
Lorne Coachman Inn
Lorne Coachman Inn
#8 of 9 in Lorne
204 reviews
0.9 mi away
Grand Pacific Hotel Lorne
0.2 mi away
The Sandridge
The Sandridge
#4 of 9 in Lorne
178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Mantra Lorne
Mantra Lorne
#3 of 9 in Lorne
3,419 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cumberland Lorne Resort
0.3 mi away
Lorne World
Lorne World
#1 of 22 in Lorne
92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Phoenix Apartments Lorne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Phoenix Apartments Lorne

Address: 60 Mountjoy Pde, Lorne, Victoria 3232, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Lorne
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 22 Specialty Lodging in Lorne
Price Range: $96 - $200 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Phoenix Apartments Lorne 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Phoenix Apartments Lorne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Phoenix Apartments Lorne South Pacific

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing