We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Far from grand”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Grand Pacific Hotel Lorne
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Lorne
Reviewed November 25, 2008

Stayed at the GPH in the first night of our Great Ocean Road journey.

This is a sad and tired hotel although one public lounge area looked as if it had been refurbished. We stayed on a winter warmer package for one night. This offered a $60 reduction on a meal. The meal was very good and the portions were large. The complimentary wine that was served was surprisingly very good.

The continential breakfast consisted of toast and coffee. No juice, cereal or anything else and was served by the same person who had checked us in and served in the bar the previous evening.

Our "upgraded" room was clean when compared with the room our friends stayed in. Ceiling lights were hanging from their fittings and the ceiling fan was covered in dirt.

The best thing about this hotel is the wonderful views which is a shame as it could offer so much more.

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Litetraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GPH268, General Manager at Grand Pacific Hotel Lorne, responded to this reviewResponded June 30, 2017

thank you for your feedback the new management team has made some positive changes and eliminated some of your concerns.

regards

Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (762)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

723 - 729 of 762 reviews

Reviewed November 10, 2008

Stayed here for one night in October 2008. We were 5 women and rented a 3 bedroomed apartment. The accommodation was excellent with all amenities, modern interior and nothing to fault. We had a balcony overlooking the sea. The hotel had been fairly had new owners who were friendly and helpful. We ate an evening meal in the restaurant which was excellent. Parking under the hotel. The gardens were a mass of colour. and the building full of character Great Value for money.

Stayed: October 2008
1  Thank Maggie_482003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2008

We were driving along the Great Ocean Road from the 12 Apostles to Melbourne and came upon this beautiful looking building on the water opposite a pier - it was all lit up. As it was getting dark we decided to spend the night. July is winter in Australia and the coastal areas are not too busy so we were able to book in.

We had a delightful room overlooking the water, a large spa bath and almost quaint old fashioned comfort. We also had a lovely dinner in the restaurant downstairs with a nice bottle of wine, the service was very friendly and we found ourselves chatting with the wait person who was genuinely interested in our travels.

I would not hesitate to recommend this lovely hotel to people who are looking to get away from it all. Such a lovely view from our window and the balcony which wraps around the building.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank wanderer1202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2008

We stayed at the Grand Pacific Hotel and were disappointed in what was delivered.

We took a Winters Warmer night and we had expected a Grand Night in a Grand hotel. Unfortunately we should have read the reviews before we booked as the cost and the service delivered were definetly not reflective of each other. We felt that we had paid far too much for what was delivered.

The hotel is in a great location and the view from the room was magnificent. Unfortunately the cleanliness of the room left a bit to be desired (needed a good vacuum and dust), we had no curtains on the window (curtain tracks were fitted) only blinds that did not keep the light out, the bathroom had towels that were fairly basic and scratchy to use and the ensuite was quite small even though we were in a king room. The room had a DVD player etc. but a cheap and smaller TV. For the king room a big decent TV would have been good.

The room itself was large and had the potential to offer so much more than was delivered.

The resturant was passable but nothing special and as the package included an allowance for dinner you were locked in to eating at the hotel. I get nervous when the wine selected on the wine menu has sold out that day - they only had about 3 - 4 couples staying that night in the hotel. If it had sold out why not tell us when the wine list was provided. I felt it was going to be hit and miss with the wine selection but we got the second choice.
Breakfast was a fairly basic continental breakfast. Again could have been a lot more. No fruit just basic juice / ceral / toast / tea / coffee

All in all we left disappointed knowing that much more could have been delivered by the hotel with not that much effort and deliver a service that is worthy of the price of the package.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank KCGMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GPH268, General Manager at Grand Pacific Hotel Lorne, responded to this reviewResponded June 30, 2017

thank you for your feedback the new management team has made some positive changes and eliminated some of your concerns.

regards

Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2008

The web site made it seem like a lovely place for a luxurious get-away. Don't be fooled. Beautiful old hotel in lovely location - couldn't fault the views. However, there's a real sense that the staff don't care and would rather be 1000 miles away - scarcely a welcome on arrival, no information provided on check-in, shabby worn folder with scant information in the room, that sort of thing. The place felt dead and empty. Small details like a dead pot plant with rubbish in it in the foyer rather sums up the feel of the place. Broken light in bathroom was reported but never fixed. Bathroom fittings falling off the wall. We didn't feel inspired to eat there, but finally ate a breakfast and it was pretty bad - I think made by the same person who was coping the the reception and being the waiter! The advertised breakfast wasn't available on weekdays. This could be a great hotel, but staff seem long past caring. A real shame.

Stayed: May 2008
3  Thank Deb0000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GPH268, General Manager at Grand Pacific Hotel Lorne, responded to this reviewResponded June 30, 2017

thank you for your feedback the new management team has made some positive changes and eliminated some of your concerns.

regards

Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2008

I booked into the Grand Pacific for the 1st night of our long awaited holiday travelling the Great Ocean Road, how disappointing. I found the hotel to be a bit shabby, the website certainly plays up the best points. The room was small, the bathroom was only big enough for 1 person at a time. The worst thing was that there is no lift, we are both nearly 60 and my husband has some disabilities particularly climbing stairs and we were on the second floor. We were lucky one of the staff noticed my husband was not able to carry his luggage up to the room and came to our aide. I am sure there was nothing on the website saying there was no lift, if they do not cater for disabled people it should be stated clearly on the website. It certainly was not a good start to our holiday.

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank CanberraOldie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GPH268, General Manager at Grand Pacific Hotel Lorne, responded to this reviewResponded June 30, 2017

thank you for your feedback the new management team has made some positive changes and eliminated some of your concerns.

regards

Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2008

Stayed there jan 08. Booked 3 nights and paid top wack 250 au dollars per night for the best room.

Problems were that music from the restaurant coming through floor kept me awake and the king bed was 2 beds pushed together with a big ridge down the center and one was a different height from the other and sagged in the middle.

Also when I turned the spa on a plug of hair came out into the spa. Generally not nice at all. The net curtain in the room was also ripped.

Spoke to manager who was sympathetic and offered a room change-above the one I was in. The bed issue was the same so chose to check out and find another place. He then took humour in the fact I was complaining about the noise and said a cancellation charge would be made.

After some high volume negociation this decision was reversed and a refund for the 2 unused nights given.

I then went down to Mantra resort and stayed there.

A nice looking hotel from the outside but not great in my experience as a resident.

Have eaten in the restaurant and that was ok but a bit rushed. Have also eaten there on the outside as a non resident and was served my main couse first then 10 mins later my starter then 5 mins later my side dish.

On the upside it has the best views in Lorne.

Stayed: January 2008
2  Thank londonboyUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GPH268, General Manager at Grand Pacific Hotel Lorne, responded to this reviewResponded June 30, 2017

thank you for your feedback the new management team has made some positive changes and eliminated some of your concerns.

regards

Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lorne hotels
0.7 mi away
The Sandridge
The Sandridge
#4 of 9 in Lorne
174 reviews
1.1 mi away
Lorne Coachman Inn
Lorne Coachman Inn
#8 of 9 in Lorne
201 reviews
0.6 mi away
Lorne Hotel
Lorne Hotel
#5 of 9 in Lorne
242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Lorne Bay View
Lorne Bay View
#9 of 9 in Lorne
151 reviews
0.9 mi away
Mantra Lorne
Mantra Lorne
#3 of 9 in Lorne
3,074 reviews
0.7 mi away
Cumberland Lorne Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Pacific Hotel Lorne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Pacific Hotel Lorne

Address: 268 Mountjoy Pde, Lorne, Victoria 3232, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Lorne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Lorne
Price Range: $106 - $322 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Pacific Hotel Lorne 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, getaroom.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Grand Pacific Hotel Lorne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Pacific Lorne
Grand Pacific Hotel Lorne South Pacific

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing