We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Grand Pacific Hotel Lorne
Nearby Hotels
$72
$70
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cumberland Lorne Resort(Lorne)(Great Value!)
$162
$125
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$142
$108
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Sandpiper Motel(Apollo Bay)(Great Value!)
$126
$117
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Seaview Motel and Apartments(Apollo Bay)(Great Value!)
$91
$88
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
Apollo Bay Waterfront Motor Inn(Apollo Bay)(Great Value!)
$90
$87
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
Reviews (807)
Filter reviews
807 results
Traveler rating
259
318
119
71
40
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
259
318
119
71
40
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe great ocean roadking roomluxury escapeslovely old hotelshared balconygrand old ladyocean viewdevonshire teafirst floorwalk into townspa roomtwo night stayhotel restaurantapartment was cleansmall roomold world charmstayed one night
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
507 - 512 of 807 reviews
Reviewed June 3, 2014

we had a great time staying at the grand pacific at lorne while on our great ocean road trip.

the building looks like something which has been standing for the last 200 years and has great service from the chatty barman, front office and even when i left my jacket there at dinner it was kept and they posted it back to COD.

the accomodation is like those great old style pubs being quite basic but has been kept clean and tidy. walk out onto the balcony for a relaxing drink at the end of the night is beautiful

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sydney_lindsay_80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2014

The hotel is in a wonderful location, just out of town so not in the sprawl of the main shopping area and of course the views speak for themselves. The restaurant is well located with views out over the ocean if you pick the right table, food is adequate to very good, depending on the dish selected. Staff are wonderful, very helpful, friendly and can't do enough for you. The only down side we would have with this hotel, and it is perhaps because we are older and not good sleepers is that, being an older building, there is no soundproofing, so the slightest noise tends to reverberate through the room. Younger guests would probably have no problem. The beds are beautiful, so comfortable, and the bathrooms well renovated. There is a lovely walk just opposite the hotel, you can either turn left and walk around towards the town, beside the water, or turn right and stroll along the wharf. Check out the packages, incredible value, we stayed for 3 nights, including breakfast, which is very generous and perfectly cooked and presented, also had vouchers for the bistro towards lunch or dinner.

Room Tip: Ask for a king room, preferably the top floor - if you stay on the bottom floor, you will hear guests upstairs as they walk over the old wooden floors!
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 79Roz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2014

Drove from Melbourne to lorne and stayed at this historic hotel. It still has all of its character and the rooms while small have been renovated nicely and they are very clean. Bathroom was large and their is a beautiful restaurant down stairs with a lovely bar.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PerthPeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2014

As with most people who have stayed here, the views are stunning.
This was our first place we stayed whilst driving the Great Ocean Road.
It was well worth it.
Room was fine, food was good & plenty of it & the staff were incredibly helpful.

Room Tip: Hotel room with a view.
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2014

Having driven through the main street of Lorne, I was pleasantly surprised to come around the corner to find the historic Grand Pacific Hotel standing prominantly on the point. As quick stop to check in at the main building and then we were directed around the corner to the undercover car park with a designated spot for our apartment.

Up the stairs to the main apartment buildings - I didn't see an elevator, so if you have trouble with stairs, call the hotel before booking - and we were in Apartment 13.

It is a 3 bedroom apartment with Asian-themed decor - quite well decorated. The master bedroom has a king bed, while the 2nd room has a double bed and the 3rd room has 2 single beds. Aside from the ensuite, there is a 2nd full bathroom. Being an apartment, there is also a kitchen, dining table, lounge room and laundry.

But, the best feature in my opinion is the large balcony - it looks out towards the jetty and has a BBQ, table, lounge chairs and regular visits from local cockatoos. I loved watching the sun rise over the water. Well worth the price.

A couple of issues - there was no phone in the room. We had to walk back to reception when we couldn't find the iron in our room. We were told to use a mobile phone if there were any issues... that's fine if you have one.

We also found the WiFi to be challenging. It cost $5 plus GST for 2 hours and the connection was painfully slow. I gave up after 45 minutes of trying to check emails. But when I started to unwind, I stopped worrying about that!

We only used the main hotel building for the restaurant. They offer a buffet breakfast for $17 per person. It consisted of fruit juices, toast, bacon, scrambled eggs, tomatoes, hash browns, cereals, mini muffins and fruit salad. It was good quality, but not a wide variety.

We also had dinner at the restaurant on two of our three nights at the Grand Pacific. It was a lovely range of meal options and the quality was excellent.

You could walk back to the main shopping strip in Lorne - we didn't - and you could certainly go across the road to the jetty and rock pools. Not bad at all.

All up, even with my few issues, I would not hesitate to stay here again. The apartments are a fantastic option for family groups or for anyone wanting the option of cooking their own meals.

Room Tip: Whilst Apartment 13 was fantastic, I would certainly recommend that anyone who has difficulties with stairs should call the hotel before making a reservation. Even the apartments that were on the same level as the carpark could not access the main hotel building (and restaurant) without using stairs.
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank InfrequentFlyer22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews