We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fantastic”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Pacific Hotel Lorne
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Lorne
Bury St. Edmunds, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
231 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“fantastic”
Reviewed March 23, 2014

Lovely place to stay. Clean , very comfortable bed, great sea views, good menu, good breakfast. Parking facilities. The wine on the table in your room is not free, nearly got caught. Shame mini bar is so pricey, not sure if any one benefits from expensive room bills on top.

Room Tip: Get a top floor for best views from room and adjoining veranda, also get sea view end, best to hear...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

726 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    236
    287
    103
    62
    38
See reviews for
132
400
29
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (205)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tasmania
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2014

We have had 3 nights staying here. The rooms are clean and tidy but nothing fancy. The staff are very friendly and extremely helpful. The meals are delicious with a big selection. The grand pacific makes you feel as though you've gone back in time sitting on the deck looking at the ocean and sipping on a wine - truly heaven

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kymberley59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2014

I was fortunate enough to stay at this hotel recently and I mean fortunate. What a setting and on The Great Ocean Road as well. The views from the rooms are breathtaking and the hotel perfectly positioned for a stroll down to the town of Lorne and all it has to offer or along the pier to watch the antics of the local seal - not the fisherman's friend! The staff at the hotel were mostly multi-national but this I feel added to the atmosphere of friendliness. If you wanted to know anything local the person to ask was Ryan behind the bar - if he didn't know it wasn't worth knowing. I ate in the hotel a number of times and every meal was excellent and beautifully presented. Compliments all round to all staff - a truly professional and welcoming team. Health and wealth allowing I will return.

Room Tip: The higher the better for the views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rayvalphillips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lochinvar, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2014

We had purchased a 2 night package & were so pleased when we arrived. Situated on the point with the most beautiful views from our room, & also from the enormous balcony where u can sit in peace & enjoy the cockatoos that joined us with the view & a drink. Room was spacious with king sized bed. Quality towels, extra pillows & blankets all supplied in room. Beach is across the road, with Lorne only a short walk away along the tree lined beach boardwalk. We ate at both the hotel restaurant - meals were very filling, & down the street at the numerous cafes & restaurants.
We will love to come back one day!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cathy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2014

The four of us had a meal here. We were allocated a window table at short notice.

Kids meals cost $13 and include a colouring pack and ice cream. The kids pizza was largely uninspiring. It was mostly uneaten. The kids fish and chips was good but small.

I had the param. Usually I can finish a parma despite the way it was cooked. But there was something about this that I didn't enjoy...maybe too soggie. I left it half uneaten. The chips were good. The salad dressing too sweet.

My partner had a seafood tasting plate which was enjoyed.

The service was prompt, but not necessarily good. Prompt in the way that they would like us to hurry up and move on so the next people could have the table.

In all a bit disappointing. Gave it three stars because two of the meals were good. Wont be back.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MinkeAndSelby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GPH268, General Manager at Grand Pacific Hotel Lorne, responded to this review, June 30, 2017
Hello Mikeand Selby,

thank you for your feedback the new management team has made some positive changes and eliminated some of your concerns.

regards

Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mt Martha, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2014 via mobile

With a purchased deal Voucher, we booked three nights in a two bedroom apartment at The Grand Pacific Hotel. The unit was quiet, spacious, basic and had a wonderful sea view. We enjoyed a leisurely buffet breakfast each morning which was more than adequate. We ate in the Bistro one evening and the meal was delicious. Drinks were enjoyed under the outside umbrellas late afternoons and the trio of dips was yummy with plenty of accompaniments. The staff were all happy, chatty and very attentive. The walk into town along the water was a picturesque stroll. We spent our time just resting, reading, exploring the area and enjoying our relaxing view. We will certainly return to the Grand for another wonderful break. Thank you all!

Room Tip: Apartments are managed by the hotel and thus individually styled. Unit 30 needs an upgrade but view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2014

We stayed three nights in a two bed apartment. The apartment was large, clean and basic, also boasting a laundry but the view out across the pier and the bay was stunning. I could even see the sea from the toilet! The buffet breakfast was adequate but not exciting, the restaurant meals were large serves but I would have preferred quality over quantity. The staff were very friendly and helpful. I would definitely recommend the apartments for the wonderful view.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lorne
0.6 mi away
Lorne Hotel
Lorne Hotel
#5 of 9 in Lorne
230 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Sandridge
The Sandridge
#4 of 9 in Lorne
170 reviews
1.1 mi away
Lorne Coachman Inn
Lorne Coachman Inn
#8 of 9 in Lorne
197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Lorne Bay View
Lorne Bay View
#9 of 9 in Lorne
149 reviews
22.2 mi away
Sandpiper Motel
Sandpiper Motel
#2 of 12 in Apollo Bay
615 reviews
0.9 mi away
Mantra Lorne
Mantra Lorne
#2 of 9 in Lorne
2,753 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Pacific Hotel Lorne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Pacific Hotel Lorne

Property: Grand Pacific Hotel Lorne
Address: 268 Mountjoy Pde, Lorne, Victoria 3232, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Lorne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Lorne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Pacific Hotel Lorne 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Agoda so you can book your Grand Pacific Hotel Lorne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Pacific Lorne
Grand Pacific Hotel Lorne South Pacific

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing