We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Grand Pacific Hotel Lorne
Nearby Hotels
$131
$127
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
$120
$105
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Pierview Apartments(Lorne)(Great Value!)
$220
$214
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Beachfront
$68
$65
Trip.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lornebeach Apartments(Lorne)(Great Value!)
$199
$186
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Cumberland Lorne Resort(Lorne)(Great Value!)
$161
$145
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$96
$91
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$93
$90
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
Reviews (814)
Filter reviews
814 results
Traveler rating
261
321
121
71
40
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
261
321
121
71
40
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe great ocean roadking roomluxury escapeslovely old hotelshared balconygrand old ladyocean viewdevonshire teafirst floorwalk into townspa roomtwo night stayhotel restaurantapartment was cleansmall roomold world charmstayed one night
Filter
Updating list...
541 - 546 of 814 reviews
Reviewed January 25, 2014 via mobile

Stayed for two nights, bed was comfy, spacious room, good shower, awesome view out to the sea. Window couldn't open properly without using a block of wood to keep it up. Resturant has good service.. Maybe a little over priced for the quality of food and what you get.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Katie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2014

We arrived here after a long journey to be greeted by reception asking how we were enjoying their "humble little country". As if! The hotel looked OK but the room allocated to us was not much more than a box room. The en suite was good but had taken so much of the space that in the room there was no room for a chair or a bed side table. When undressing, clothes had to be put on the floor- there was nowhere else. For some reason the towels were on the bed. I want towels in the bathroom and not in the bedroom. There was a kettle but no adjacent socket so one had to put it on the floor or in the bathroom. The room needed redecoration- all the corners and edges were chipped and there were two big stains on the ceiling.

We didn't eat here preferring to explore the town. Breakfast in the hotel costs a staggering $17 each. We ate well in the town for less than that for two.

I hated this place and didn't enjoy it anymore in the morning when the only people staffing reception were three young children. Not very professional and we would certainly not recommend this place based on our limited experience.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank reviewermanSomerset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GPH268, General Manager at Grand Pacific Hotel Lorne, responded to this reviewResponded June 30, 2017

Hello reviewermanSomerset,

thank you for your feedback the new management team has made some positive changes and eliminated some of your concerns.

regards

Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2014

After arriving on their doorstep when our previous accommodation was cancelled, the Grand Pacific welcomed us with open arms. It was at the start of the heatwave and they got our family of 4 into a beautiful 2 br townhouse overlooking the beach and the jetty. While they got the room ready we had happy hour at the bar with live music and Ryan at the bar made our 6 yr old daughter feel very special (he even made her a non-alcoholic strawberry dacquari!) They gave her a gift bag with crayons, pictures and bracelet to entertain her while we waited. The apartments are reasonably new with fully equipped kitchen, laundry, tv etc. It was a real home away from home and we were very comfortable. Beds were comfy, water was warm and a nice shower. It is just away from the busy part of the main street so it was nice and quiet but still close enough to walk into town.The only small negatives i have were that there was no air conditioning. Since we stayed there during a heat wave where the temperatures were around 34 - 36 it would wave been welcomed. Any other time and this wouldn't have been an issue as the sea breeze would have been enough. Secondly there was no chopping board in the kitchen and the knives could do with a sharpen. As i said they really are minor and we would definitely book this apartment again. Thank you Grand Pacific for a lovely getaway.

Room Tip: We stayed in apartment 1 and downstairs was beautiful and cool. Our view was of the jetty and the beach. Entrance was on the level of the car park so we didn't have to drag suitcases up too many steps which was good.
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GrantKelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2014

Right on a point overlooking the pier, the grand old Lorne Hotel is in a fantastic location, with the deep blue Southern Ocean sneaking into the corner of every view.
Our room was compact but clean and comfortable and we had access to the first-floor balcony. There are chairs and tables here but it is a very windy area and we were happy to head back inside after a short visit! But the views were great.
Dining was pleasant with good local seafood, but don't expect too many choices if you're a vegetarian - standard for a pub meal.
A short walk on the pier is recommended (again - very windy!) and a nice path leads into town which is about a 20min walk.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HannaRose12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2014

The Grand Pacific represents good value and offers something different to the motel alternatives on offer. However, in reality it probably needs a full refurbishment when it could then be a real Ocean Road Icon.

When booking I would also suggest requesting a room with an external window. Ours didn't which was a real disappointment.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andrew J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews