We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So much potential”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Grand Pacific Hotel Lorne
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Lorne
Reviewed October 15, 2007

This hotel is very different from how it is depicted on its website. Although quite cheap at $150 a night we were still very disappointed. The hotel exterior is very grand, it is in a great location and the bars and restaurant are all very good but the accommodation is very tired and dirty. The bed was uncomfortable, the couch dirty and torn and the bathroom was so small that it could only accommodate one person at a time. The hotel was noisy with the front door banging regularly, echoing throughout the building. The stairs leading to our room were dirty with a large dead blow fly and several dead moths right in the middle of the landing. They remained there for the entirely of our two day stay – no excuse for this. The food at the restaurant was good and the staff very friendly. This hotel has so much potential but it looks as if the owners just don’t have their heart in it. I would recommend this hotel for a drink and a meal but definitely not to stay.

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank JMPerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GPH268, General Manager at Grand Pacific Hotel Lorne, responded to this reviewResponded June 30, 2017

thank you for your feedback the new management team has made some positive changes and eliminated some of your concerns.

regards

Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (760)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

728 - 734 of 760 reviews

Reviewed August 11, 2007

Prior to our stay at the Grand Pacific Hotel we had a hard time finding reviews on it and finally decided to stay there based on descriptions on their own website and on a review on the Lonely Planet Website. We feel that both promised too much.

We might have enjoyed our stay a little more, had we not expected so much, but once we had entered the room, while there was nothing really wrong with it, there was also little to get excited about. The bed was comfortable, in the evening the lighting made the room cosier and we had a great view of the sea and coast from our window, but the list ends here. Instead, we couldn’t stop noticing things throughout the evening which gradually annoyed us. We wouldn’t usually comment on these small things, and are always amused when other people do, but they all seemed to betray too obviously a lack of interest on the hotel’s part in making ones stay a pleasant one, once you had paid up and were stuck in your room (we were asked to pay on arrival rather than on departure…)

What you noticed most about your hotel room was not what it had, but what it lacked and most of all it gave it a feel of a penny-pinching cost-cutting attitude. There was no tissue box in the bath room – even the plainest motels have them – and few towels. There were not enough electricity plugs: when you wanted to use the (not very clean) kettle, you had to unplug either a lamp or the radiator first, both of which we needed in the evening. The broken lock on the bathroom door meant it didn’t close properly and the door kept on opening wide, so we had to keep it closed with the help of the bathroom bin. (When we told the concierge about this during check-out to spare the next guests the annoyance, she was polite, but seemed surprised that we would mention such a thing.) The allegedly refurbished aspect of the room was no longer very visible as, among other things, the windows looked battered, the curtains were dirty, the floor stained and the bathroom looked like it never received much refurbishment to begin with.

The strangest part was that right outside our windows was a top-floor veranda, but we could not discover a way of getting out onto it. We heard other guests trying to rectify that by crawling through their windows and using chairs left standing around on the veranda, but they, and an old used glass standing in the corner outside our window, gave it the deserted atmosphere of an old rarely cleaned attic.

You might find any of these small faults in an inexpensive motel and wouldn’t think much of it, but you would expect much more from a place like this, which tempts you with a nice website, charges a fair amount of money, gives you no cancellation policy and wants to be regarded as the old graceful “Grand Pacific”. The restaurant and bar on the ground floor, which we didn’t have time to use, actually looked quite inviting. But the hotel itself still feels very far from either a Grande Dame or modern marvel.

  • Stayed: May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Essanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GPH268, General Manager at Grand Pacific Hotel Lorne, responded to this reviewResponded June 30, 2017

thank you for your feedback the new management team has made some positive changes and eliminated some of your concerns.

regards

Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2007

During our "road trip", we wanted to stay in a "colonial" style hotel. This was it, and it was the last!

The location is perfect, on the point by the pier, and generally speaking the hotel is fine. The room was airy and comfortable, though the heating was pathetic (it was August after all).

The problems were the lack of hot water and broken blinds in the room. The hotel tried to fix the water and then gave us access to another room so we could shower: I fixed the blind.

The restaurant was cold but the food was excellent.

Another downer was the lack of a lift (we were on the second floor) and no offer of assistance with luggage was forthcoming.

We also left without breakfast because there was nobody there before 9AM and we wanted to be out earlier than this.

This is probably a good hotel that is run down in the winter: I imagine it is better in the summer.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Gareth H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GPH268, General Manager at Grand Pacific Hotel Lorne, responded to this reviewResponded June 30, 2017

thank you for your feedback the new management team has made some positive changes and eliminated some of your concerns.

regards

Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2007

Should have known it wasn't a good idea staying here - the travel guide mentioned "old-fashioned", which usually means unrenovated and dirty.

The hotel exuded a shabby air, and I went up to ask about prices and availability - we were there a few days before Christmas, at a weekend, and I was very surprised to learn that rooms were still available in all categories. This should also have warned me.

I picked the second cheapest room as we were really only looking for somewhere decent to stay for a night to break the drive along the Great Ocean Road.

The room was definitely what they described as "cosy". The hotel staff made no effort to help us with our bags, although the man on reception looked like he could comfortably carry 50 kilos in each hand.

TV was very old and bad reception, bathroom very small and not as clean as it might have been.

By far the worst thing however was the downstairs restaurant. Their idea of garlic bread is just dumping loads of dried oregano and garlic paste on stale, ready-sliced brown bread. They didn't make the effort to even toast the scabby bread.
I ordered spaghetti bolognese, the simplest option which I thought couldn't go too wrong: I've never had such overcooked pasta or such obviously cheap mince.

The really interesting part was that when I looked at the labels on the beers we ordered, they were both 18 months out of date.

It's not as if beer goes off, but 18 months really is pushing it.
To top it all off, we discovered that when the receptionist took my card at check-in, he actually processed the full price for the room. He hadn't informed me of this at the time.
This meant that they refused to charge the price of dinner to the room, which is just pathetic for something that calls itself a hotel.

8  Thank Freya77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GPH268, General Manager at Grand Pacific Hotel Lorne, responded to this reviewResponded June 30, 2017

thank you for your feedback the new management team has made some positive changes and eliminated some of your concerns.

regards

Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank CipoMo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017, traveled with friends
Thank Gupom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chocolateaceiteysal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GPH268, General Manager at Grand Pacific Hotel Lorne, responded to this reviewResponded October 13, 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lorne hotels
0.7 mi away
The Sandridge
The Sandridge
#4 of 9 in Lorne
174 reviews
1.1 mi away
Lorne Coachman Inn
Lorne Coachman Inn
#8 of 9 in Lorne
201 reviews
0.6 mi away
Lorne Hotel
Lorne Hotel
#5 of 9 in Lorne
241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Lorne Bay View
Lorne Bay View
#9 of 9 in Lorne
151 reviews
0.9 mi away
Mantra Lorne
Mantra Lorne
#3 of 9 in Lorne
3,074 reviews
0.7 mi away
Cumberland Lorne Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Pacific Hotel Lorne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Pacific Hotel Lorne

Address: 268 Mountjoy Pde, Lorne, Victoria 3232, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Lorne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Lorne
Price Range: $107 - $336 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Pacific Hotel Lorne 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, getaroom.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Grand Pacific Hotel Lorne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Pacific Lorne
Grand Pacific Hotel Lorne South Pacific

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing