We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable cabin below shear cliff faces”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lorne
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cumberland River Holiday Park
Ranked #20 of 22 Specialty Lodging in Lorne
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
148 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Comfortable cabin below shear cliff faces”
Reviewed May 4, 2014

Comfortable cabin with 4 bunk beds and a separate master bedroom. Well arranged compact kitchen/family/lounge. View of cliffs out front windows and door. Only one powerpoint in whole cabin. Buy BBQ fuel at font store. Take walk up cumberland river - be prepared to ford the creek with little assistance a few times.

Room Tip: the larger the cabin number the further into the park - better views, quieter and closer to the trac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank melbournian1950s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    18
    13
    11
    11
See reviews for
38
15
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2014 via mobile

A great caravan park tucked away on the Great Ocean Road. We booked a powered site and were given a spot with a hedge for privacy. Otherwise not much privacy for campers.
There's a creek and rock face which makes this caravan park really special. Camping sites along the creek are unpowered.
The place allows for open fires which is great of a night when it gets a bit cold.
Plenty of walking tracks, and there's a beach opposite. 10 mins drive to Lorne and 35 mins to Apollo Bay for local shops, cafés and restaurants.
Limited toilets and showers. Requires 20c coin for a 5 minute hot shower. Amenities also include a wheelchair access toilet and shower.
The laundry facilities open from 8:30am.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank wombat_angel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2014 via mobile

Stayed over a very busy weekend but had a great camp spot overlooking the river and rock wall.
Not many showers or toilets but never had to wait long. Need a 20 cent piece to get hot water for 5 mins.
Easy walk to the beach. Lovely spot away from the crowds at Lorne.
Bush walks can be accessed by the rear of the park. Walk to a river swimming hole and Cumberland Falls.
It was too hot to use the open fires but would be great in the cooler weather.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank ms_hannahmay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2014

Located approx 7km out of Lorne, the holiday park is a good place to stay on the Great Ocean Road. Stunning location; in a gorge, easy access to the beach (not really a safe swimming beach though) and lots of forest walks behind the park. Koalas in the trees behind the cabins.
We stayed in cabins. I had booked two cabins for two families travelling together and requested at time of booking they be next to each other. Unfortunately they weren't next to each other.
The cabins are very basic, and the photos on the website make them look better than they are. They are clean and neat, but a little dated and sparse. There is only bedding for the Queen bed, if you have kids using the bunks, then you bring your own bedding.
Read all the pricing guidelines closely as they charge you the cabin fee plus per person on top of that. It is a little misleading. When I expressed my surprise at time of checking in I was firmly told "all of that would have been explained when you booked". It was somewhat rude.
The website also give the impression of wide open spaces in the holiday park. This is not the case, lots of caravans, campers and tents are tightly squeezed in. We stayed just before Christmas, so it was peak time I guess.
Another draw back is the open fires. There are oil drums which have been cut in half, for the purpose of having a fire that are dotted about the park. Many people were burning fires in the evening. Our cabin quickly filled with smoke from a neighbours fire. Further along, other people were burning rubbish and cardboard which gave a dreadful stench. Do not come to this park if you want clean ocean and bush air - you will get a lung full of acrid smoke in the evenings.
However, overnight, the park was peaceful and quiet.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Louise P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lorne
2.7 mi away
Grand Pacific Hotel Lorne
3.1 mi away
Lorne Coachman Inn
Lorne Coachman Inn
#8 of 9 in Lorne
3.5 of 5 bubbles 196 reviews
5.4 mi away
BIG4 Wye River Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Lorne Foreshore Caravan Park
2.6 mi away
Cumberland Lorne Resort
17.5 mi away
Anglesea Beachfront Family Caravan Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cumberland River Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cumberland River Holiday Park

Property: Cumberland River Holiday Park
Address: 2680 Great Ocean Rd, Lorne, Victoria 3232, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Lorne
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 22 Specialty Lodging in Lorne
Also Known As:
Cumberland River Holiday Park Lorne, South Pacific

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing