We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not as Advertised”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Mantra Lorne

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mantra Lorne
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Lorne
Melbourne
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Not as Advertised”
Reviewed January 30, 2010

For the price this was certainly not as advertised or what one would expect from a hotel classing itself as a resort. Looking for a weekend getaway with my partner the Mantra was the only one with availabities for the weekend we wanted. Booking online and requesting a Resort Room then upgrading to supposedely a more superior room I thought (after staying in many hotels, resorts etc in Australia and around the world) that the rooms would be a little more up to the 4 stays this hotels claims and the $220 we paid to stay the one night. Unfortunatley what we found as a bed, advertised as a King or two singles to actually be two single pushed together with a zipper holding them together (SEE PHOTO) which created a hugh lump in the middle of the bed, so there was no romance that night, the bed was that hard anyhow that even if there was someone would have been injured. The 'Resort' is just a group of Apartment blocks on the site of an old guest house that was built in the early 1900's, which is still there but has been extended on, the rooms in that building are the Heritage Rooms. The Apartments are more like a YMCA or Dorm with exposed cinder blocks and tiled foyers and steps. There are elevators though. The grounds are nicely maintained and all the ammenities such as tennis courts, putting greens, pool etc are aimed at families, not couples looking for a hideaway, and it works for families i will give it that. But it shouldn't pass itself off as a resort. We didn't stay long enough to comment on the staff but the reception was busy and still they where pleasant and friendly. In reponse to another reviewer, do not expect an Ocean View as there is none (SEE PHOTO), except maybe for a few apartments that face the west t looking towards Lorne Beach. There is a laneway running between the Resort and Beach and lined with huge old Pine Trees and Melaucas that inhibit the view. For what we paid and from my previous experiences this was overpriced for what it delivered. I will not stay here again but Lorne itself was a lovely place, Bistro C at the western end of Lorne Beach was a great place to eat and when something is that good you don't care about the price. So if your looking for romantic place to stay with the love of your life...this ain't it.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ashley_47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MLorne, General Manager at Mantra Lorne, responded to this review, November 9, 2016
Hi,

Thank you for the review.

Cheers
The Team at Mantra Lorne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,338 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    543
    863
    528
    243
    161
See reviews for
629
1,240
51
140
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (322)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Hertfordshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2010

We stayed in one of the Heritage Rooms for one night while touring round Australia. It was pretty expensive at £130 per night but everywhere else in Lorne was booked up.

There was no lift access to our room so we had to haul our suitcases up stairs. The room itself was adequate if outdated: it could have done with redecoration.

At about 2am, my partner got up to use the bathroom and the smoke alarm in the bedroom went off. We eventually managed to get it to go off and it proceeded to go off on another two occasions during the night. We hardly slept at all.

We politely brought this to the attention of the reception staff the following morning and were told that we should have alerted them at the time and they would have sent someone up to fix it. They seemed to think that guests would welcome engineers trampling into their room at 2am. They were not apologetic and made us feel that it was our fault that their equipment was defective.

The final straw came the following day when we noticed that they had charged us again for the room, despite our having paid fully upon reservation. They did eventually refund us but by that time, the exchange rate had moved against us meaning we were out of pocket. We have requested a refund of this amount but are still waiting.

This was by far the worst hotel we stayed in during our three week stay in Australia. It is shockingly over-priced for what it is and their customer service is appalling. Avoid.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank soorploom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MLorne, General Manager at Mantra Lorne, responded to this review, November 9, 2016
Hi,

Thank you for the review.

Cheers
The Team at Mantra Lorne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Lorne hotels

Victoria
1 review
Reviewed January 21, 2010

After 8 days in Queensland we returned to Victoria and completed our pre Christmas break with 2 days at Mantra Erskine Beach Resort at Lorne.
Although Noosa was lovely, Mantra at Lorne was perfect! The location with the view to the water and the sound of ocean waves to lull one to sleep is superb. Our apartment was wonderfully comfortable and spotlessly clean.
Total relaxation started the moment we walked in and the time in the spa followed by a swim in the pool added to the feeling. I even persuaded my husband to have some fun in the Gym.
Management obliged us with a late checkout which gave us more time to venture out for
fresh berry picking and bush walking.
Next time we are seriously considering not even leaving the state for a break, especially as we have such a lovely resort only a couple of hours from Melbourne, it beats catching aeroplanes.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Petellie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2010

Our apartment faced the camping sites which was fine as there are a lot of trees and birds to see. We got a 2 bedroom apartment which was sunny, clean and had everything we needed except a larger pot in the cupboard. The sheets and bed linens are of a cheap quality and should be better for a 4 star. The spa bath in the room is nice. The pool and spa were inundated with children and subsequently heavily chlorinated so we didn't venture in. The pool area itself is unattractive. The steam room is a bonus. The reception over school holidays need a guest relations area as we had to wait in a queue of approx 20 people just to get tennis racuqets..so 15 minutes gone of the tennis. 3 of the machines in the fitness centre were out of order. The tennis courts are fantastic as is the beach right outside the resort. Very convenient with a few managerial hiccoughs.
Be careful not to get the park view rooms! I would have been depressed if I had paid for that.

Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Manksy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
47 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2010

I was with my adult daughter at the Mantra Erskine Beach Resort for two nights. The check-in process was a bit difficult, twice our keycards did not work but from then on, everything was very nice. We had a corner suite with no balcony - but doors that opened on both sides of the unit giving us a great view on the ocean and the grounds. The hotel is very close to the beach, a few steps only, and across the street, there are plenty of places to eat and a good supermarket. The unit has a small kitchen, equipped well enough to make simple meals. We had a few mishaps while we were there, and were helped out by various members of their staff, very good energy.
Housekeeping is only every third day however, but I believe you can go to the front desk and you will given clean towels.

  • Stayed January 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kisha1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
2 reviews
Reviewed January 10, 2010

I stayed at the Mantra resort just after Christmas. What an awesome location! Close to all the shops and restaurants in Lorne. The room itself was great. So peaceful that the first I heard in the morning was the surf breaking on the beach. The facilities were top-notch. We made use of the steam rooms, pool and tennis courts. Despite getting beaten by my girlfriend at tennis (twice) it was a very relaxing and enjoyable stay. Staff were friendly and helpful. It was my first visit to that region of the world, so really enjoyed getting out to see all the natural attractions Lorne and the surrounding areas have to offer. Would highly recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Millerd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 10, 2010

We stayed at this resort in November of '09 and were extremely disappointed. Having booked this trip in May I contacted the Erskine Mantra no less than six times between May and November to confirm that we were getting an ocean view room, as well as other ammenities on our list. Without hesitation, I was assured each time that we were booked for an ocean view room. One week prior to our departure from the US, I contacted them again to confirm and was told that while we did have an ocean view room, their ocean view had a "tree line." With one week to go, I had no time to look into this tree line but felt confident that it wouldn't hinder our view too terribly much based on my previous conversations with them. Unfortuantely, upon our arrival we quickly learned that their idea of an ocean view was seeing slivers of ocean through a massive tree located right outside our room. Needless to say, we were extremely disappointed and felt taken for an awful lot of money. Do not under any cicumstances book and pay for an ocean view at the Erskine Mantra - it does not exist ANYWHERE on their property - see attached picture of the view from our room. The worst part was that they weren't upfront about it during the numerous conversations we had with them. I agree with many of the previous reviews indicating that this resort is overpriced and not worth the prices they charge. I would also avoid the restaurant as everything we ate there was burned and overcooked. I would recommend looking into the Cumberland Resort instead.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dwoodorlfl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MLorne, General Manager at Mantra Lorne, responded to this review, November 9, 2016
Hi,

Thank you for the review.

Cheers
The Team at Mantra Lorne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lorne hotels
0.9 mi away
Grand Pacific Hotel Lorne
0.2 mi away
Lorne Coachman Inn
Lorne Coachman Inn
#8 of 9 in Lorne
193 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Sandridge
The Sandridge
#4 of 9 in Lorne
162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Lorne Hotel
Lorne Hotel
#6 of 9 in Lorne
210 reviews
0.4 mi away
Lorne Bay View
Lorne Bay View
#9 of 9 in Lorne
147 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cumberland Lorne Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mantra Lorne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra Lorne

Property: Mantra Lorne
Address: Mountjoy Parade, Lorne, Victoria 3232, Australia (Formerly Mantra Erskine Beach Resort)
Location: Australia > Victoria > Lorne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Lorne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mantra Lorne 4.5*
Number of rooms: 277
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The only beachfront property in Lorne, Mantra Lorne is tastefully built around the oldest permanently operating guesthouse in Victoria. Located on 12 acres of lush landscaped gardens, Mantra Lorne offers a range of facilities including a family friendly Brasserie and Bar, Endota Day Spa, 18 hole putt putt course and heated indoor pool. Local attractions surrounding and within easy reach of the resort include Erskine Falls, the Twelve Apostles, Split Point Lighthouse and the Angahook State Forest. Positioned at the gateway of the iconic Great Ocean Road, Mantra Lorne is less than an hours drive from Avalon Airport and under two hours drive from Melbourne. There is a range of accommodation options including resort rooms, one and two bedroom apartments as well as Heritage Hotel rooms. The one and two bedroom apartments are fully self contained and feature kitchen and share laundry facilities, reverse cycle air conditioning, private balcony and VCR or DVD players. One bedroom apartments can be conjoined with resort rooms to create a twin key two bedroom family environment. Resort rooms and hotel rooms feature a range of outlooks including filtered ocean views or garden views and some offer spa baths. Apartments are serviced every third day of stay (i.E. 4Th and 8th day) unless stipulated otherwise at the time booking. *Note - As bedding configurations vary please request your requirements at time of booking, but please note this request cannot be guaranteed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, HotelQuickly, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Mantra Lorne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mantra Erskine Beach Hotel Lorne
Mantra Erskine Beach Lorne
Lorne Erskine Resort
Mantra Lorne South Pacific

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing