We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location”
Review of Mantra Lorne

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Mantra Lorne
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Lorne
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
256 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“Perfect location”
Reviewed June 23, 2013

We had an ocean view resort room and had great views of the ocean albeit across the tennis courts in-between our 2nd floor room and the ocean. We spent two nights there and location is just awesome. Very quiet (although we were there in Winter so not sure how busy and noisy it'll be in Summer months. We walked to the restaurants and pub each night (5 mins easy walk). Breakfast at the bakery across the road for brekkie was nice too. Service was cheerful and helpful. Having the heated pool/sauna was fantastic and all the other amenities which we didn't use but saw looked fantastic. The room itself was well presented and clean. Bed was very comfy indeed and the balcony/breakfast nook was well designed. Only gripe would be that the fan in the bathroom didn't suck up enough moisture leaving the mirrors all fogged up.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aussie2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mantra_Lorne, Manager at Mantra Lorne, responded to this review, July 7, 2013
Thank you for your recent review on Trip Advisor. Im thrilled you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back to the resort. Kind regards, Clayton Thompson EAM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,558 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    612
    948
    570
    260
    168
See reviews for
675
1,373
56
156
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (332)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2013

I was on holiday in Melbourne over easter 2013, and for a nice break by the sea, we booked a two bedroom unit at Mantra Lorne. Have a look at the website, and you will see photos of the resort. They are all along similar lines- airy, modern apartments looking out over the sea or tranquil views over trees and lawns. What could go wrong? Plenty.

The apartment we had gave us the choice of a view of the industrial bins at the back of the function centre, with the attendant noise of bottle being disposed of at all hours, or directly into the living room of an apartment in the next block. To avoid a view of the people in the next apartment we had to keep the blinds drawn- so much for light and airy!

Whoever designed this resort was trying to get the maximum return on the space available without any consideration of the amenity for the people paying good money to stay there.

My point is that what really upsets people is when there is a vast gulf between the expectation generated by the website and the reality when they arrive at the resort. Please do look at the photos I have uploaded and compare them to the advertising from Mantra- you wouldn't believe it was the same place.

I have stayed in plenty of pretty ordinary places around the world but you accept that when it is the best accommodation available locally and the people taking the booking are honest about what you are going to get. If they had said when we made the booking, "This is the only unit we have available, and be aware that it's nothing like our advertised product.", we might not have been so annoyed.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Traveltragic_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mantra_Lorne, Manager at Mantra Lorne, responded to this review, June 16, 2013
Good morning, Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor. Im terribly sorry that we failed to meet your expectations and I will ensure the staff are aware of the importance of effective communication when taking bookings for certain room types. Please contact me directly when you are next planning a visit to Lorne as I would personally like to handle your booking. Kind regards, Clayton Thompson EAM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Lorne hotels

Melbourne,Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2013

Mantra Lorne, (Erskine house) is a great location with excellent facilities right in the heart of Lorne, one of the best beach locations in Victoria. The accommodation offers both self contained apartments and hotel style rooms. The indoor heated pool and extensive grounds make it great for families or couples. The winter bed and breakfast package is very good value. A great spot winter or summer. A good selection of shops and cafes opposite the resort.

Room Tip: Heritage rooms are perfect for couples, rooms facing the car park are slightly noisier. Beware if in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joanrog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alistair M, General Manager at Mantra Lorne, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Dear Joanrog

Thank you for taking the time to post a review regarding your recent stay. We are very proud of our facilities and also believe that we have the best beachfront property in Victoria. The team & I are very happy you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back to the resort.

kind regards

Alistair
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2013

My family of 5 spent one night in the 2 bedroom apartment in late May.We had earlier spent 3 nights at the Mantra on Russell in Melbourne CBD and were very satisfied by the standard of accommodation provided there.The Mantra Lorne was described as the best hotel in Lorne by the Mantra staff and we were not disappointed. The apartment though smaller than the one on Russell street was beautiful,very comfortable and well equipped.As it was the low season the resort was very quiet and we paid only 259 dollars for the unit which was a bargain.Of the 5 hotels we stayed in during our trip the Mantra Lorne was our favorite and we would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kbhuat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alistair M, General Manager at Mantra Lorne, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Dear kbhuat

I am pleased that you enjoyed your recent stay here at Mantra Lorne and appreciate your time writing the review. The apartments are very comfortable for the longer stay and glad Mantra Lorne was the highlight of your holiday.

We hope to see you at the resort again some time soon!

kind regards

Alistair
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
356 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2013

We have since learned that staying in the house proper is far better that the adjacent apartments. Not much was good about this well-known establishment. A freezing room on arrival, two single beds pushed together as a king size, electrical fittings which were dodgy, hot water supplied by a wall heating system which went cold after a few minutes because of malfunctions, noisy heating, room entry swipes which were programmed for one day and not two. We expected more but frankly, the place needs heaps of loving care. Perhaps we were placed in the time-share areas, but if that's the case, the owners need compulsory advice on modernising. No friendly service at all, nobody cared, nobody seemed interested at all. The saving grace was the Endota Spa experience which is wasted at Mantra.

Room Tip: Ask to be placed in the main building....stay well away from the time-share areas
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank geraldq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alistair M, General Manager at Mantra Lorne, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay here at Mantra Lorne. Obviously I am disappointed that there were a number of issues you experienced and sincerely apologise for this shortfall. The maintenance issues you mentioned have been addressed and have shared your comments regarding your arrival experience and service issues with team. We would like the opportunity to invite you back to have an experience synonomous with our normal service standards so please contact me directly if I can assist with your booking.

many thanks

Alistair
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
Reviewed May 13, 2013

This resort is ideally placed between the beach and boutique shops on the main road of Lorne. We spent two nights in the heritage building in a good size bedroom and a lovely spacious bathroom. The hotel interior has been beautifully maintained and the walls of the hotel foyer has wonderful old photos telling stories of tourists and holiday makers in the early 1900's. The resort as it stands today is heaps bigger and different to the original building and the manicured gardens and lawn area is excellent for children to play. Breakfasts were fantastic, as was our dinner. But the best part was the friendly service we received from staff who made us feel welcomed.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alistair M, General Manager at Mantra Lorne, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Dear Mary P

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your feedback on your recent stay. We are so pleased you enjoyed the resort facilities and service and have shared your comments with the team. We look forward to welcoming you back to the resort!

Many thanks

Alistair
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
124 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2013

We just spent a fantastic weekend at Mantra Lorne. The grounds of this property are simply beautiful. Plenty of activities for singles, couples and families. We had a room in the heritage building and loved it. The room was spacious, great bathroom and a lovely balcony with water view. The breakfast was great, lots to choose from. Front desk staff were all lovely. Heath checked us in, he was efficient, informative and very professional. Great stay and excited to go back!

Room Tip: I suggest elderly guests to ask for a room with a low bathtub. The bathtub in our room was very high...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LouAndEm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mantra_Lorne, Manager at Mantra Lorne, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Thank you for your recent review on Trip Advisor. I have passed on your comments to Heath and the rest of the team. We look forward to welcoming you back to the property. Sincerely, Clayton Thompson EAM.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lorne hotels
0.9 mi away
Grand Pacific Hotel Lorne
0.3 mi away
The Sandridge
The Sandridge
#4 of 9 in Lorne
167 reviews
0.4 mi away
Lorne Hotel
Lorne Hotel
#6 of 9 in Lorne
215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Lorne Coachman Inn
Lorne Coachman Inn
#8 of 9 in Lorne
196 reviews
0.4 mi away
Lorne Bay View
Lorne Bay View
#9 of 9 in Lorne
149 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cumberland Lorne Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mantra Lorne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra Lorne

Property: Mantra Lorne
Address: Mountjoy Parade, Lorne, Victoria 3232, Australia (Formerly Mantra Erskine Beach Resort)
Location: Australia > Victoria > Lorne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Lorne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mantra Lorne 4.5*
Number of rooms: 277
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The only beachfront property in Lorne, Mantra Lorne is tastefully built around the oldest permanently operating guesthouse in Victoria. Located on 12 acres of lush landscaped gardens, Mantra Lorne offers a range of facilities including a family friendly Brasserie and Bar, Endota Day Spa, 18 hole putt putt course and heated indoor mineral pool. Local attractions surrounding and within easy reach of the resort include Erskine Falls, the Twelve Apostles, Split Point Lighthouse and the Angahook State Forest. Positioned at the gateway of the iconic Great Ocean Road, Mantra Lorne is less than an hours drive from Avalon Airport and under two hours drive from Melbourne. There is a range of accommodation options including resort rooms, one and two bedroom apartments as well as Heritage Hotel rooms. The one and two bedroom apartments are fully self contained and feature kitchen and share laundry facilities, reverse cycle air conditioning, private balcony and VCR or DVD players. One bedroom apartments can be conjoined with resort rooms to create a twin key two bedroom family environment. Resort rooms and hotel rooms feature a range of outlooks including filtered ocean views or garden views and some offer spa baths. Apartments are serviced every third day of stay (i.E. 4Th and 8th day) unless stipulated otherwise at the time booking. *Note - As bedding configurations vary please request your requirements at time of booking, but please note this request cannot be guaranteed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd, Booking.com, Expedia, HotelQuickly, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Mantra Lorne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mantra Erskine Beach Hotel Lorne
Mantra Erskine Beach Lorne
Lorne Erskine Resort
Mantra Lorne South Pacific

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing