We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Rude! but good coffee”
Review of Moons espresso bar

Moons espresso bar
Ranked #1 of 2 Coffee & Tea in Lorne
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe, Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Brunch, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Rude! but good coffee”
Reviewed October 7, 2013

the coffee was really good and the food (we got a B+E on spide bread) was nice but they were all really rude and snobby they also stuffed up other customers orders and weren't very apologetic...
nothing annoys me more than when you pay for service and receiving it!...Honestly Maccas give you better service... at least they smile! and look at you when they talk.
this is coming from someone who has to deal with customers on a daily basis I understand its not an easy job working in a restaurant so if I'm criticizing your service, your pretty bad....
the scene was a bit "hipster" ..a "bit try-hard"

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mollypeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    77
    91
    11
    8
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
49 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Fantastic food!”
Reviewed September 24, 2013

Great place for a relaxed breakfast and coffee. Beautiful scenery of the coast, exceptional coffee and then there is the food... I opted for the spicy tomato salsa, eggs, chorizo goats cheese and dukka on their beautiful sourdough bread, can't recommend enough beautiful produce that has been loving prepared and served. An absolute must if you are visiting Lorne.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Lovefood92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
86 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Nice breakfast and coffee, hipster service”
Reviewed September 19, 2013 via mobile

Great coffee, popular place to be. The menu concept is interesting, loved "The B&E". Poached eggs on pretty tough toasted sourdough tested the cutlery too. Service was perfunctory and it's funny reading other reviews as my friends and I remarked on the sheer lack of smiles over a few meals.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank therearenonames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Overpriced and crappy service from people that need a good wash”
Reviewed September 6, 2013

Unfriendly horrible service, hard to get a smile out of any staff members
Overpriced, average coffee for something that boasts ESPRESSO in it's name.
Pides are quite nice, particularly the vegetarian option.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DRCL128
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Quite disappointing and a smile might nice!”
Reviewed August 28, 2013 via mobile

We were recommended to try here for breakfast. Tuesday morning in winter so should be easy. Cash only with really grumpy service. Food was ok but when requesting a second coffee I was told we don't serve tables and to go to the counter. Obviously I didn't order a second coffee then. Food took well over 30 mins to arrive. No smiles. No hello's. no good mornings. Disappointing.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank CraigArno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Moons espresso bar also viewed

 

Been to Moons espresso bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing