We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Expect the worst!” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lorne Foreshore Caravan Park

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Lorne Foreshore Caravan Park
Ranked #17 of 22 Specialty Lodging in Lorne
Bunbury, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Expect the worst!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2014

Our much anticipated drive of the Great Ocean Road in April 2014 was blighted by our experience of this so called caravan park. After touring through SA, Queensland and NSW this was by far the worst park we have stayed in. For such a beautiful town as Lorne to have this as there only caravan/camping park is a huge dissapointment. The parks location is excellent as it is walking distance to the main street and beautiful beach. This is were the positives end. The staff at reception certainly could use some training in customer service. We chose the "top" area as it was a rainy day and the lower area was very wet. The powered sites were unkempt with long grass and litter. We were given a key each for the ladies and mens ablutions. The key to the ladies would not open the door to the showers and the office was by then closed. The ablutions were dirty and did not appear to have been cleaned at all. We both decided to shower in our caravan rather than use the facilities. For the price charged, give this park a big miss and find somewhere close that is managed by people who care for their customers. Lorne Council, if not already aware, should be having a read of these reviews and acting accordingly.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dorothy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PManagement, Manager at Lorne Foreshore Caravan Park, responded to this review, June 12, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write such a detailed review.
We were pleased to hear that you found the park's location excellent with the main street and Lorne's beautiful beach within close walking distance.
We were very sorry to hear that our amenties did not meet your expectations on this occassion and that you had difficulty with the key you were issued. We deeply regret any inconvenience caused and I will be following this up with our cleaning and maintenance staff.
Thanks again for your valuable feedback, we wish you all the best for your future travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    23
    29
    18
    28
See reviews for
39
41
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
288 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here in our campervan and it was a lovely spot. Absolutely idyllic near the river. Really clean site close to great ocean road, shops nearby and restaurants. Staff were lovely. Really enjoyed our night here.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank TippElle13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PManagement, Manager at Lorne Foreshore Caravan Park, responded to this review, May 11, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share you thoughts on your recent stay with us.
We were glad to hear that you enjoyed our beautiful location and found our staff friendly.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2014

We stayed here in our camper trailer for 2 nights. We stayed by the river and were very pleased with our site. The location of the campgrounds is great, very close to the beach and main street. Overall, we enjoyed our stay.
The amenities were not great and not well maintained. Our experience with the reception staff, was less than average.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Scarm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PManagement, Manager at Lorne Foreshore Caravan Park, responded to this review, May 11, 2014
Thank you for your review on your recent stay with us.
We were pleased to hear that you found our location great and that you were happy with your campsite. We were sorry to hear that the amenities were not well maintained and that your experience with the reception staff was less than adequate. Thank you for bringing this to our attention, we will make sure we follow up your concerns with our cleaning and front office staff.
Thank you again for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
47 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2014 via mobile

Stayed for a night as part of a two week holiday where we have enjoyed a mix of hotels, motels, b&b's, cabins in campgrounds and pub accommodation. To date this has been the worst. Surly reception, supposedly upmarket riverside cabin stank of curry, one sheet on one kids bed and two on the other - but had to make them up ourselves... V slack for $140 a night - we have paid far less and had much better stays elsewhere! Great spot by the river with the cockatoos but that's about the only good thing. Ran out of hot water after only 2 (not long) showers. Best advice would be to keep driving as you're bound to find somewhere better!

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
Thank cocopops1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PManagement, Manager at Lorne Foreshore Caravan Park, responded to this review, May 11, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review.
We were pleased to hear that you enjoyed our riverside location but were unhappy to hear that you found the experience with our reception staff less than adequate and our cabin unsatisfactory. Thank you for bringing this to our attention, I will follow up your concerns with our front office, cleaning and maintenance staff. Once again, thank you for your feedback, all the best for your future travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Lorne hotels

Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2014

After reading past reviews on this park I wasn't expecting too much from what seemed to be a run down, poorly maintained caravan park. However, after recently spending 4 days over the Easter weekend at the "Kia-Ora" site, it is safe to say this place has done a 180 in terms of its cleanliness and maintenance. The price was quite high but this can only be expected over the Easter weekend in a popular town such as Lorne and I am happy to pay when staying at a good quality caravan park. The toilet block seemed to be brand new and was always spotless and was only accessible with a site key. Sites were well maintained and a great size and noise levels were kept down to a minimum after 10pm. Walking past the cabins on the river, we noticed these looked to be brand new and very modern. Credit must go to site management who look to have made a lot of improvements. Will definitely be back here as the location was perfect and my fellow campers and I had a great easter break. Well done!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Adam G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PManagement, Manager at Lorne Foreshore Caravan Park, responded to this review, May 11, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your views on your stay with us over the Easter period.
We were so pleased to hear that you found our campsites well maintained and that our amentities were to a high standard. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
48 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2014

We booked a powered site on the Top Bank section of this cp. little did we know til it was too late, that for the 5 weekdays our allotted site was directly opposite to 2 bus loads of tenting teenage students, who left the amenities in a shocking state and made it so it was very uncomfortable to use because there was always girls using the bathroom as a makeup, hair styling studio.
The disable amenity in this camping area does not have a shower so those needing this amenity must drive to the nearest one which I found very unsatisfactory.
After 5 days of noisy kids we then had 2 large groups of surfing adults move in opposite. Music till after midnight and most of the day.
This park is in a very pretty spot, but the uncared for state of this area and public access does not make for a relaxing
We did find the office staff friendly, but would have liked to have been told that there was to be 2 large groups near us.

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
Thank 16bev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PManagement, Manager at Lorne Foreshore Caravan Park, responded to this review, May 11, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are pleased to hear that you had a good experience with our front office staff and that you enjoyed the parks beautiful location. We were sorry to hear that your stay was impacted by the noise of our school and group bookings. If you are to stay with us again, please make the reception staff aware of this and we will endeavour to place you away from group bookings for a more relaxing stay. Once again, thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portarlington
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2014

The good - The location is great and Lorne is a magnificent town on the Great Ocean Road. A must do place for any traveller. The camp ground is next to the town supermarket which is handy.

The Bad - Stayed on a public holiday long weekend and a campsite cost $70 AUD per night. Yes that's right $70 AUD. The camp ground is very close to the main road so traffic noise certainly harshes the mellow.

The ugly - You would think to rent a piece of land to pitch a tent or park your own caravan at such a high price you would be greeted with excellent facilities. Sadly no. Only two BBQ's for the whole camp site and only one of those worked. This was to service a very full camp ground. The one that did work only did so in a certain spot on the hot plate about 4 inches in diameter. The hotplate struggled to get a sizzle up on bacon. If a BBQ cannot sizzle bacon there is something not right. I asked the girl at the camp office how often they were checked for working order and was told once a week. Sorry....What was that?....Once a week???. Who is doing the thinking around whether or not traveller's can prepare meals. In addition for the premium price there is no camp kitchen with a fridge / microwave / somewhere to sit and share a meal etc. The toilets and shower block were disgustingly filthy by the end of the weekend. Not sure if they were cleaned but if they were you couldn't tell...... Did I mention this all cost $70 AUD.

Starting to see a trend in Australian tourism. Happy to take premium money but not prepared to provide any service or value. Time to pick up your game Oz. Your lack of service is short sighted. Your are ripping everybody off and the word will get around.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tiffany G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PManagement, Manager at Lorne Foreshore Caravan Park, responded to this review, May 11, 2014
Thank you for your feedback on your stay with us.
We were very pleased to hear that you enjoyed our location. We totally agree Lorne is a magnificent town and we are glad you found the parks proximity to the supermarket handy during your stay. We were disappointed to hear that one of the BBQ's was out of order and that the amenities weren't cleaned to a high standard. I will follow up your concerns with our cleaning and maintenance staff. Thank you again for your review- happy travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lorne
1.0 mi away
Grand Pacific Hotel Lorne
0.1 mi away
Lorne Coachman Inn
Lorne Coachman Inn
#8 of 9 in Lorne
3.5 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
0.5 mi away
Lorne Bay View
Lorne Bay View
#9 of 9 in Lorne
3.0 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Sandridge
The Sandridge
#4 of 9 in Lorne
3.5 of 5 bubbles 157 reviews
23.2 mi away
Torquay Foreshore Caravan Park
8.4 mi away
BIG4 Wye River Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lorne Foreshore Caravan Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lorne Foreshore Caravan Park

Property: Lorne Foreshore Caravan Park
Address: 2 Great Ocean Road, Lorne, Victoria 3232, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Lorne
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 22 Specialty Lodging in Lorne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Lorne Foreshore Caravan Park 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lorne Foreshore Caravan Park has five fantastic camp grounds on the Great Ocean Road in Lorne with beachfront and riverside locations. Our brand new river view cabins offer self contained boutique accommodation. We also offer affordable camping and onsite cabin accommodation, all in picturesque natural leafy settings and located only a short stroll to Lorne's pristine beach, local shops, restaurants and cafes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, HostelWorld, Agoda and Despegar.com so you can book your Lorne Foreshore Caravan Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lorne Foreshore Caravan Park South Pacific

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing