We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the highlights of our visit to Oz....”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Cumberland Lorne Resort
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Lorne
Reviewed April 27, 2009

Before leaving the US, we booked a room here for the Great Ocean Road stopover for one evening. We enjoyed this place so much that we ended up staying an extra night. It was the most relaxing part of our entire trip.
Booked the Penthouse and had no idea what to do with all the room. It was HUGE (and just the two of us), but felt great to have so much space after the smaller hotel rooms we had stayed in. A family (or two, even) would be very comfortable here. There are two large levels. The view is beautiful. It is worth it to wake up early and catch the sunrise.
There is a grocery nearby, and we picked up salami, stuffed peppers, olives, cheese, and wine and enjoyed it on the very large and private rooftop deck. Imagine our surprise when wild cockatoos suddenly surrounded us.... We broke off some of our bread to feed them, and eventually they were even landing right on our arm! This made for some fun photos and memories. The kitchen was well stocked with pans, etc. It was nice to cook our own breakfast after all the dining out. This is not a kitchenette, but a decent sized full kitchen. There were also a washer and dryer. Handy to do our vacation laundry and have fresh things mid trip. A soak in the jacuzzi while looking at the ocean was most relaxing; sleeping with the doors open made for a very good sleep.
We enjoyed walking around the small town and browsing all of the neat shops. A few miles away at Aireys Inlet there are horseback rides on the beach for rent. So much too do nearby, and so charming. If we ever go back we will plan a much longer stay here.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 01ofvisadventures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (518)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

485 - 491 of 519 reviews

Reviewed January 28, 2009

Booked on the Cumberland website - hoping to be looked after by going direct - the rates where $5 more on wotif etc.. so it seemed to be a better deal.
Boy was I wrong.
There was no breakfast included in the $315 rate per night and there was only $50 difference between ocean view and garden view - so we figured being at the Otways that there would be a great view of national park - no, we had to have had the worst room in the whole complex.
We checked in at 2.30pm and complained by 2.32pm stating that it was no garden room - we had the pool roof right in front of us - couldn't see any garden - just a roof and you could almost touch it - well someone must have as it was littered with rubbish.
Was told to bad - computers allocate the rooms the night before so there was nothing that could be done. I commented about booking a garden view room and was told that is what I had and it is their way of describing the room - I mentioned that it is not an accurate description.
A flat in the city generally has more room and doesn't feel as enclosed as the balcony with the "view".
The bedroom is situated at the front where the lifts are located and where every teenager seems to stand and yell at their friends. Very noisy, very very noisy.
weird set-up - bedroom first then bathroom and then kitchen and lounge room. Decent size for a couple but the set up is wrong and the balcony is tiny and don't believe the "garden room" description - I wish I knew as I would have paid the $50 extra for an actual view. The rates don't seem to make sense as when paying that much anyway what is $50??

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank nocluetraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CumberlandLorne, Front Office Manager at Cumberland Lorne Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 3, 2009

Cumberland Lorne Resort makes every effort to accomodate all guest requests - unfortunately this is not always possible - particularly during peak periods. In the incident reported , due to our full occupancy we were unable to accomodate the guest's request to change rooms. Compensatory arrangements were offered on departure, however, and accepted by the guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2008

I'm in two minds about this place! The apartments are for sale as well as for rent as rooms. I ceretainly wouldn't buy one as I don't think the build quality is good enough but they are fine to stay in for a short time.

If you do stay here then ensure you get an ocean view because the location is great. The restaurant is average.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Covenant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2008

The Cumberland is a great place with loads of a facilities, the only annoying thing was that the entire place was booked out for weeks several months in advance due to some stupid conference so we could only stay there one night.

Pros?
- Loads of facilities, more than we could make use of in one night. Free squash courts (never seen any accomodation have this before), DVD Player in your room of which you can rent 2 DVDs for free from the front desk at any one time, tennis courts, pool, sauna, a games room with a table tennis table, pool table and arcade games.
- Good ocean view
- Comfortable
- Friendly and helpful staff at the front desk.
- Aqua restaurant was easily accessible andhad good food.

Cons?
- Our bedroom was adjacent to the stairs which could get noisy, and there was a bedroom window which people could look through if they tried to.
- The Aqua staff were rude.

Overall, the Cumberland was great and I would come back there if I were to go to Lorne again.

  • Stayed: November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jerax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2008

We drove straight past this place at first as we didn't recognise it - it has been painted and given a facelift compared to the pictures on their website. Great improvement and location was excellent - on the main road opposite Lorne Beach. Our one bedroom apartment was massive - too big for only 2 people. We had a spa bath and complete kitchen, lounge and dining area. Our room was a bit hard to find, but nice. Car park was fine. A bit expensive, but our stay was pleasant.

  • Stayed: March 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lilmissjen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2008

We spent a night here and thoroughly enjoyed the stay. It was out of season and admittedly quieter than when most people arrive but we really had no complaints either about the service or the quality of the rooms or facilities.

We had a lovely enourmous seview appartment which was clean fully equipped. Spa facilities were good and the location was great.

Not necessarily as fantastic as it looks on the website and perhaps not for a luxury / exotic honeymoon but otherwise faultless.

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vickso1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2007

Let me tell you now, if you want even basic good food or if you own a mid size or larger car, you won't want to stay at Cumberland Lorne Resort.

The restaurant, called "Aqua", is semi-independent of the resort and boasts about its fine menu and exclusive decor. In reality, the only part of the restaurant that is actually good quality is the logo and branding. The important bits, like food and service, are terrible. The staff are slow and careless. The cutlery was often dirty. The food had a tendency to feature the chef's hair. And overall, the food was very unimpressive, boring and overpriced.

The car park is a terrible design floor of the property. The size of the car park makes it virtually impossible to drive and park a large sedan or 4WD. Even in a mid size sedan, it take 3 attempts to get the car into the space. We had this problem as did every one else. We once observed someone in a Holden Commodore need to back and fill SEVEN times to get the car parked. It was not his fault.

The accommodation itself, in our case a Penthouse, was quite comfortable. The living room, kitchen and bathrooms are spacious and nicely appointed. However, the offering of Pay TV channels was poor and free to air reception was sometimes unavailable and often garbled.
The "kids" bedroom was dangerous. Electrical plugs were left partly out of wall socket exposing live contacts and a weird sloped ceiling means one must duck to walk through the room. I forgot one morning, resulting in a painful headache for some time afterwards.

This is comfy accommodation if you cook yourself, have a small car and come with a hard hat if you use the kid's room. Sadly, it is one of the best places in the small town. But if you are debating over whether to stop at Lorne or not, this place is one more reason not to.

Stayed: September 2006
Thank LordPalmerston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lorne hotels
0.7 mi away
Grand Pacific Hotel Lorne
0.1 mi away
The Sandridge
The Sandridge
#4 of 9 in Lorne
174 reviews
0.5 mi away
Lorne Coachman Inn
Lorne Coachman Inn
#8 of 9 in Lorne
204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Lorne Hotel
Lorne Hotel
#7 of 9 in Lorne
254 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lorne Bay View
Lorne Bay View
#9 of 9 in Lorne
151 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mantra Lorne
Mantra Lorne
#3 of 9 in Lorne
3,283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cumberland Lorne Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cumberland Lorne Resort

Address: 150 Mountjoy Pde, Lorne, Victoria 3232, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Lorne
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Lorne
Price Range: $158 - $361 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Cumberland Lorne Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 99
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cumberland Lorne Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cumberland Lorne Hotel Lorne
Cumberland Resort Lorne
Cumberland Hotel Lorne
Cumberland Lorne Resort South Pacific

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing