We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spacious and comfortable”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Cumberland Lorne Resort
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Lorne
Reviewed June 1, 2014

Escaping the hustle and bustle of Melbourne, Lorne's relaxed, welcoming vibe was made even more satisfying by staying at The Cumberland Lorne resort. Whilst we didn't have time to enjoy all the facilities, what grabbed us was the spacious, well fitted apartment, ample parking and easy proximity to the beach, bars, restaurants and locals walks.

The rooms were clean and well appointed and we had a fantastic sea view from our 2nd floor position. We were close to the lift and Casino entrance, so there was a bit of noise as people came and went but that was nothing compared to the dawn chorus from the Cockatoos!

Highly recommended for a holiday stay or if passing through, but don't expect the Sports channels and be prepared to shop for your essentials on the way into Lorne as you pass the supermarket as you enter town and there's little else nearby apart from a bottle shop in the hotel opposite.

Avoid the restaurant directly below the resort unless you find rudeness acceptable from the staff....

Room Tip: Don't stay in the Casino block if you have a choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank FairGoTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CLResort, Resort Management at Cumberland Lorne Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2014

Dear FairGoTravel,
Thank you for your feedback. Lorne is indeed a great place to escape the hustle and bustle of Melbourne , especially as we are only a short two hour drive from the city. We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed our facilities and found our apartments to be well fitted. We offer a selection of five dedicated sports channels in our apartments including all Fox Sports, Fox Footy, ESPN and TVN - I'm sorry if these were not programmed correctly in your apartment.
Regarding your comment about being located close to the entrance of the Casino . Just to clarify, we do not have a Casino on-site , our accommodation buildings are all named after shipwrecks in the area - one of which was named "Casino". We might have had a few guests coming and going in this area during your stay.
I have also forwarded your feedback about the restaurant below the report to the restaurant manager who has replied that he will investigate your comment in full. Thank you again for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Cumberland Lorne Resort in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (508)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

317 - 323 of 508 reviews

Reviewed May 13, 2014

Stayed for a week in April and the weather was pretty cold. I didnt matter as there was an indoor pool that is heated, a gym, sauna and squash courts. When it wasnt raining we could still use the tennis courts. It was definately jumper and jacket weather but it didnt destroy the holiday at all. Lorne has so much to offer but is very expensive. If you can cook for yourself, I highly advise it.

Room Tip: If you are physically disabled I recomend a room at ground level. There are lifts though but it wou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JackieMack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2014

just returned from the cumberland. have stayed there many times now. we parked the car and didnt use it again for our 2night stay. everything is in walking distance. ocean views are well worth spending the money on. room are spacious and clean although carpets are stained. lounge chairs need a bit of cushioning. you tend to sink down into them. service is great. very friendly. dont expect much from the free wifi. we struggled to get phone reception and internet the whole time. it seems lorne cant cope with the influx of people in peak times as far as internet connection and phone reception goes.we used the pool, tennis courts and gym. all good

Room Tip: ocean views a must
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kate p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2014

I phoned and booked a week here for my Mum and my aunt, both into their 80s. I also stayed a night when I drove to Lorne to bring them both home. When I booked I stressed that a nice view was the most important aspect and was told that the apartment I booked for them would have this. The lady I spoke to also suggested an apartment that was set up for the disabled and so had no steps, a roomy shower etc. This is exactly what we got. The view was perfect and the bathroom was easy for them both to use. They has a wonderful stay and will probably want to stay there again. Shops were in walking distance for the elderly (although the supermarket may be a little far for most). I was really impressed and would recommend the Cumberland for anyone but it certainly has a few apartments well set up for the elderly.
The cockatoos visited all times during the day and provided fabulous entertainment. The view was perfect and my Mum and aunt spent many hours sitting on their balcony enjoying the people watching.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sueintuscany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2014

Located in the middle of Lorne, close to all facilities and the beach this resort is great for a long or short term break.
The resort consists of four blocks all with ocean or part ocean views. The apartment style rooms were spacious and consisted of a bedroom, living/dining room, kitchen with microwave, fridge, 4 burner cooktop, dishwasher, utensils, cookware etc., a separate bathroom with adjoins laundry with washing machine and dryer. The room was well maintained and clean. Whilst the decor is not luxurious, it is pleasant and functional. Rooms also have a balcony with table and chairs.
The exterior decor is now starting to look a bit tired and dated; why they choose to paint what were quite obviously serviceable terra cotta floor tiles is beyond me, as the paint is now chipping, marked and dirty.
The grounds were obviously well maintained and tidy. The tennis court surface needed a bit of work ( OHS issues here!)
There is also an indoor pool that appeared to be popular with children.
Had a problem with key which was reissued, however it generally took two goes for the new one to work - possibly a door reader malfunction.
Would stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a level three room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RJS_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2014

I've stayed at the Cumberland off and on for over 15 years, I've seen the changes it's undergone and visited with family, with friends and for conferences.
With family and friends, it's a wonderful central location across from the main beach at Lorne. Restaurants on the grounds are good but there are many more local, quirky places to try at budget level to fine dining. So take the time to explore.
I've only ever had 2 bedrooms - which can sleep up to 5 people. QS bed in one room and 3 singles in another. Spa bath in bathroom with toilet (not a separate toilet). Washing machine and dryer available as well in the room.
Kitchen is complete but only has a microwave convection oven.
Lounge doesn't really have enough seating for all the people it accommodates.
The views from the room depends on where you are allocated. No matter where you go though, the cockatoos are bound to arrive on your balcony to greet you and some will even let you tickle their tummy. Just don't feed them as they are a nuisance to locals.
Conferencing has been good with rooms an excellent size - catering from say 10 to 250. Group catering this time was good - not great, but I believe they are new so will give them the benefit of the doubt. Certainly plenty of food and the cakes at lunch were devine.
Plenty of parking available underground. Staff extremely helpful and always able to help if you have any queries. Indoor pool, gym and squash courts - used them all and they seem to be used by patrons regularly.
Not sure how much it costs to stay per night - particularly in high season, but imagine it's at the premium end. But you certainly get what you pay for and would recommend to anyone looking for a central, comfortable apartment to stay in.

Room Tip: Ask if a room overlooking the ocean costs more - certainly worth it as the view is delightful
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank UrbanDrifter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2014

Travelling the Great Ocean Road from Melbourne to Adelaide, we planned to stay in Lorne and pick a location upon arrival. Funnily enough we were at the bakery having a bite of lunch when we looked at the apartments a hundred metres away on the beach front, we wondered if these might be accomodation so went for a walk and quickly found the location. The general feel of the resort was very relaxing from the clean gardens to the beautiful beach front view, and amazing spa. We had a beach front room, paid what we considered a fair amount for one night. The staff were really helpful and offered us an opportunity to view the rooms before making a booking. They even offered an alternative room when we checked one room and there was a tree in front of the balcony. The rooms are very clean, staff were very enthusiastic and friendly, and the parking is convenient underground.

If we were to pick a negative it is the birds. We had dinner on our balcony after coming home from the AMAZING beach, but the white cockatoos (?) flew right to our balcony, within metres, and sat and watched us, my wife hates birds so we went inside as they scare her a bit. This is not the resorts fault and they clearly are discouraging people from feeding the birds as the sign outside states.

Overall an excellent experience. PS - the spa view room is great! and main street has all you would need from a coastal country town

Room Tip: We stayed in the Grange complex level 2 - recommended
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kevin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lorne hotels
0.7 mi away
Grand Pacific Hotel Lorne
0.1 mi away
The Sandridge
The Sandridge
#4 of 9 in Lorne
174 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lorne Hotel
Lorne Hotel
#5 of 9 in Lorne
242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Lorne Coachman Inn
Lorne Coachman Inn
#8 of 9 in Lorne
201 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lorne Bay View
Lorne Bay View
#9 of 9 in Lorne
151 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mantra Lorne
Mantra Lorne
#3 of 9 in Lorne
3,074 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cumberland Lorne Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cumberland Lorne Resort

Address: 150 Mountjoy Pde, Lorne, Victoria 3232, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Lorne
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Lorne
Price Range: $129 - $285 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Cumberland Lorne Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 99
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cumberland Lorne Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cumberland Lorne Hotel Lorne
Cumberland Resort Lorne
Cumberland Hotel Lorne
Cumberland Lorne Resort South Pacific

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing