We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Divinely overlooking to sea from the Penthouse apartment”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Cumberland Lorne Resort
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Lorne
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Divinely overlooking to sea from the Penthouse apartment”
Reviewed March 21, 2014

Right in the middle of town, next to all the venues of Lorne, Tennis Courts all other facilities and a bottle of wine .... what more could one want. We had a really good, albeit short time at this stop along the Great Ocean Road.

Room Tip: Definitely choose the sea view over the garden view rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eddie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

483 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    166
    215
    70
    21
    11
See reviews for
164
191
6
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne Australia
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2014

We had stayed here before a few years back, and after staying elsewhere at Lorne, we decided this is the place for us. Room was ready when we arrived, check in was quick and parking allocated under the hotel is fantastic. We booked a garden view room and there were 3 of us, so the room catered the third person with a fold out sofa bed. We were pleasantly surprised that they had everything from towels, pillows to sheets for the third person as we have had to call reception for these things at other places and is one of our frustrations given they know there are 3 of you. So we were impressed from the get go. Lounge & kitchen is spacious, everything you need to sit comfortably, watch tv, read and cook if you want to. We also had a glimpse of the ocean when we sat on the balcony so that was a bonus. The only problem though is that the bedroom walls are paper thin and face the paths to the other rooms and echo, so when people are walking and talking at all hours of the morning or night, it's so loud that it's like they are standing next to you. Bit annoying when you are on holidays, want a sleep in and are trying to relax. Maybe reception should advise guests to be conscious of this. Not everyone gets up early! Room gets serviced every day, and restocked with coffee, detergent etc. so it's one less thing to worry about. Great locations stone throw from the beach. Will be back.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Panick66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2014

The buildings are modern and stand out along the road but aside from that it was a great one night experience. We had the jacuzzi and ocean view - great parking and kitchen facility. But next time, we'd go somewhere smaller and something more quaint.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ruby S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sale, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed March 10, 2014

We had a little 4 day 3 night trip here last year. Staff were great when we checked in and out, or if we had any questions. We had an ocean view room and it did not disappoint. We had some friendly wildlife visit us on the balcony. When we travel back later after bubs is a little older we will defiantly be back.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pauline R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2014 via mobile

Booked the 2br penthouse for the evening. Fast check in : they were expecting us. Great views from the balcony. Very clean. I would definitely return. Friendly staff. Late checkout was not a problem. Very good location also and right next to the Lorne Hotel.

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
Thank SNEDS65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geelong, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2014

On a recent stay in Lorne, we chose an ocean view room at the Cumberland for 3 nights. The view was great but the room was very tired and needs some work. This hotel is fantastic for location to the town but expensive for what it offers...... We would stay elsewhere in the future on our return visits.

Room Tip: Ocean view away from corridor areas and invasive lighting.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GSA6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2014

Stayed here last night in the 3 bed penthouse with my family, was promised a BBQ on the deck and called to confirm, was told there would be so spent over $100 on BBQ meat, on checkin again told BBQ was there. No BBQ on deck locked away with faulty valve, great!!!! Told we could use on site BBQ, don't make me laugh they were on site hot plates , to top it off on checkout the staff were the rudest I've come across, also terrible wifi, will not reccomend to anybody

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TomTumb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lorne hotels
0.7 mi away
Grand Pacific Hotel Lorne
0.1 mi away
The Sandridge
The Sandridge
#4 of 9 in Lorne
169 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lorne Hotel
Lorne Hotel
#7 of 9 in Lorne
223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Lorne Coachman Inn
Lorne Coachman Inn
#8 of 9 in Lorne
197 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lorne Bay View
Lorne Bay View
#9 of 9 in Lorne
149 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mantra Lorne
Mantra Lorne
#2 of 9 in Lorne
2,680 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cumberland Lorne Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cumberland Lorne Resort

Property: Cumberland Lorne Resort
Address: 150 Mountjoy Pde, Lorne, Victoria 3232, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Lorne
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Lorne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Cumberland Lorne Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 99
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cumberland Lorne Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cumberland Lorne Hotel Lorne
Cumberland Resort Lorne
Cumberland Hotel Lorne
Cumberland Lorne Resort South Pacific

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing