We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tried and true, a little old but still good”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Cumberland Lorne Resort
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Lorne
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Tried and true, a little old but still good”
Reviewed September 29, 2012

We had a weekend escape down at the Cumberland in mid September. Having stayed here many times over the years it is good to see the old girl still has charms, though a bit faded. Too many scuff marks not cleaned, too many broken tiles not replaced.

Overall it is still a great place to get away. We had a one bedroom on the third floor with magnificent ocean views i the Casino block. Two minutes to the beach, all the restaurants on the strip plus the pub, the location is perfect. Don't be misled by their website, the restaurant and bar is CLOSED for reno with no date in sight; when we queried staff they were very dismissive as if to say "deal with it"

Room Tip: Get an ocean view if you can afford the premium price
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank USPL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CumberlandManagement, Public Relations Manager at Cumberland Lorne Resort, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Thank you for sharing the experience from your recent stay at Cumberland Lorne Resort. We agree Cumberland most definitely has her charms and as a holiday destination is well-loved by many! Our Maintenance Team have a constant schedule for us to keep her looking her best, however we have also just treated her to a bit of a facelift with painting and the replacement of carpet within apartments at the Resort. Of course, our guests provide the best feedback on the condition of the Resort, and we are always grateful for specific feedback on areas you see which need attention so that we may be sure Cumberland is always looking her best!

Thank you also for the feedback on our staff with regards to your query on the restaurant located within Cumberland’s plaza. As a direct response to this feedback, we’re reviewing the communication offered by staff on this matter and aim for this to address the issue you have highlighted. The restaurant is currently undergoing refurbishment by the new owner, who aims to re-launch the venue in time for the Melbourne Cup weekend in November. The owner is a highly regarded and long-term restaurateur from provincial Victoria and we are excited by the prospect of working closely with him on what promises to be a fantastic new venue for Cumberland Lorne and the Great Ocean Road more broadly. As you say, we’re in a fabulous position, right in the heart of Lorne’s main street and we are very enthusiastic about the restaurants and cafes available in town, which our staff are happy to recommend. We apologise if this wasn’t your experience and as previously mentioned we will aim to address this in response to your feedback.

We trust that we will again welcome you back to Cumberland Lorne Resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

489 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    168
    219
    70
    21
    11
See reviews for
166
195
6
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2012 via mobile

Stayed on the second floor in a one bedroom apartment with ocean views. Room was clean and spacious and well equipped. The spa bath was lovely and had an interesting layout which meant that you could enjoy the ocean views whilst still remaining private. Washing machine and kitchen a plus. There is also a pool and gym but we didn't use those. Definitely recommend getting a room with an ocean view. Underground carpark a plus but the outside of the apartment could do with a freshen up. We were lucky to get a discounted rate but will definitely be back.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vivacious_Lady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CumberlandManagement, Public Relations Manager at Cumberland Lorne Resort, responded to this review, September 12, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us at Cumberland Lorne Resort. We are always pleased to hear that a guest enjoyed their stay and that you were pleased with the apartment and Resort facilities on offer at Cumberland. We're lucky to live in a beautiful part of the Great Ocean Road, thank you for joining us! We look forward to welcoming you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2012

We had the opportunity to get away from Melbourne for a couple of days and the Cumberland Lorne Resort was a great choice. Apartments are spacious and accommodated a family of 5 well. We paid a little extra to get the Ocean View and we would recommend this option. The kids loved the pool/spa area and we also enjoyed using the spa in our room.
Downstairs was an easy stroll to cafes, restaurants and the beach. Although it is Winter there was still a lot of activity on the beach and we strolled along the rock pools to the pier.
Reception staff were very friendly, I would recommend this resort and the kids are already asking when we can return.

Room Tip: We paid a little extra to secure an Ocean View, we would recommend this option if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jo J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CumberlandManagement, Public Relations Manager at Cumberland Lorne Resort, responded to this review, September 12, 2012
Thank you for your comments and feedback from your stay at Cumberland Lorne Resort. We love to hear families have enjoyed their stay with us at the Resort as we also think our apartments and facilities are perfect for kids and parents to enjoy! We agree Lorne is great this time of year and we're pleased the Resort location provided a convenient base for exploring what the town has to offer. Thanks for staying with us, and from staff and management at Cumberland, we look forward to seeing you here again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2012

We stayed at Cumberland Lorne resort in December when I was 6 months pregnant. We had a great stay.
The location was superb - right across the road from the beach and in the heart of the main shops. It was a nice walk along the foreshore to the seafood restaurants at the pier.

The views from the room were fantastic as our room faced on to the ocean. The staff were also very friendly and knowledgeable.

The apartment was very spacious with a separate bedroom, bathroom with spa bath & big lounge/meals/kitchen area and balcony. The only downside was that the decor and finishings could do with an update. It felt like we were staying in an apartment rather than a hotel. We really enjoyed being able to have breakfast on the balcony and cook our own meals.

The heated pool was also great and despite being quite small was never too busy.

Overall it was a great place to stay!

Room Tip: Ocean view rooms are worth the extra cost
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mir222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawthorn, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2012

I have stayed at Cumberland Resort several times now, and still refuse to so much as consider staying elsewhere. The Location is absolutely exquisite, the room we stay in - and request every time, Room 308 - is immaculately presented and boasts breathtaking views from the third level balcony out across the beach and ocean. The room we stay in also has a corner spa with a window overlooking the lounge that extends to the balcony, another quality that will exceed the expectations of even the most fastidious traveller.

The desk staff are always very kind and friendly and welcome us using our first names.

There was one instance where we unfortunately locked ourselves out of the apartment at 1:30am. We called the hotline and we had someone out to let us in within 10 minutes, with a smile too!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dean M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camberwell, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
330 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2012

An amazing view, right on the fore-shore of Lorne's main beach. Sits atop the main road's restaurants, cafes and shops. Also right across the road from the pub!

The resort itself is tranquil and relaxing, with a spa, pool, sauna, gym and tennis courts. The rooms are spacious, and the spa-bath in our very own bathroom (overlooking the lounge room) was a great finishing touch.

Definitely the place to stay if you're heading to Lorne.

Room Tip: We stayed in B308, but essentially as long as you book a room that is on the third (top) floor, and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nick T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2012

This resort is great for families. Apartments are very spacious, with good kitchen and laundry facilities. There is an indoor pool area which includes a large pool, toddler pool and spa. A great way to entertain kids on a rainy or overcast day. The resort is very centrally located with easy access to shops and the beach.

The apartments aren't the newest looking, but are practical. A great view if you have a room looking out to the ocean. Our room was nice and clean when we arrived, but cleaning while we were there was limited. Largely consisted of replacing soaps and detergents.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 597LisaJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lorne hotels
0.7 mi away
Grand Pacific Hotel Lorne
0.1 mi away
Lorne Hotel
Lorne Hotel
#5 of 9 in Lorne
230 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Sandridge
The Sandridge
#4 of 9 in Lorne
170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Lorne Coachman Inn
Lorne Coachman Inn
#8 of 9 in Lorne
197 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lorne Bay View
Lorne Bay View
#9 of 9 in Lorne
149 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mantra Lorne
Mantra Lorne
#2 of 9 in Lorne
2,739 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cumberland Lorne Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cumberland Lorne Resort

Property: Cumberland Lorne Resort
Address: 150 Mountjoy Pde, Lorne, Victoria 3232, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Lorne
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Lorne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Cumberland Lorne Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 99
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Agoda, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Cumberland Lorne Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cumberland Lorne Hotel Lorne
Cumberland Resort Lorne
Cumberland Hotel Lorne
Cumberland Lorne Resort South Pacific

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing