We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cockatoos”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Cumberland Lorne Resort
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Lorne
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
95 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Cockatoos”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2011

Stayed over a weekend and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Disappointed that wifi wasnt included in the price. Great location, plenty of restaurants, fish n chips and bakery very close by. The cockatoos on our balcony provided many photo opportunities.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Louise H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

472 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    163
    209
    69
    20
    11
See reviews for
160
188
6
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2011

My partner and I stayed here on the 16th of October and we couldn't have asked for better accommodation. The man on reception was fantastic, knowing my name before we said a word. The room was clean, warm, and the facilities are fantastic. The Cumberland is close to everything that you need, and parking on site gives real piece of mind. Would recommend to all!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TarynPD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2011

We always stay at the Cumberland, it is clean, well furnished and has great self catering as well as being close to restaurants etc. The balcony has a great view to relax with a glass of wine in any weather! Also handy if you have kids as these a pool and eating in is enjoyable as you can sit on the balcony and enjoy the best views! Can be a bit noisy but not so much so that I would stop coming.

  • Stayed October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sadlerij
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
59 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2011

The Cumberland Lorne Resort was built in 1989, a big complex, big enough for Reception to provide a map. It is directly opposite the main beach. We booked a one-bedroom apartment. I chose not to ask for a "disabled" room. I asked for minimal walking and reception met our needs: a room opposite a lift which went directly to the basement garage disabled parking area and equally directly to the bar/ bistro. Reception explained that the shower in the large ensuite was over a large spa bath with a wall handhold to get in and asked if this was OK. Lorne is, of course, a beach resort so the apartment decor is functional rather than glamorous but very comfortable. Apartment was very spacious with a well equipped kitchen with upmarket refrigerator, dishwasher and glass ceramic cooktop..Cleanliness could not faulted. and everything in the apartment worked! Loads of seating if you wish to entertain, including a 4 person dining setting and a sofa bed in the living area . There was a small balcony with a setting for two . Bedroom a little disappointing with no chair, reading light or artwork on walls.
The service was excellent and prompt at every point .

Room Tip: Room was long rather than wide and facing south to the ocean was not very light in the afternoon but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RoseFrances
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
40 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2011

The resort itself has well maintained gardens, BBQ area, tennis and squash courts, a gym and a swimming pool. It's right in the center of the township with the shops and beach a stones throw away.
We stayed in a one bedroom garden view apartment, which had an obstructed ocean view, but the garden view was nice.
The apartment had lots of room, TV's in the lounge and bedroom. Fantastic bathroom with a big double spa and laundry facilities. Great balcony, perfect for sitting out on with a glass of something on a balmy evening....unfortunately in Victoria in July.....it was waaaaay too cold.
Lots of space in the kitchen which is equipped with everything you need. The only thing missing was a convection oven, but there is a convection microwave.
Small criticism......too much light comes into the bedroom at night. The blinds just don't stop the light from the outside walkway shining in.
Otherwise, this is a great resort with friendly staff and good facilities.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank molliieemoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2011

Great place, magic location. Highly recommended, even with kids. Great ocean views, very close to cafe/restaurants and beach. Good pool facilities and very well keep over all. Still impressed, even on our second visit...we'll be back!!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bluebayapartments
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
127 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2011

We stayed here for one night during a road trip along the Great Ocean Rd. We had three adults, so booked a one bed apartment and paid extra to use the sofa bed.

Despite arriving after the reception had closed (we got there about 9pm), check in was easy. However once we got to the room, we found the sofa hadn't been made up so had to do it ourselves. Bedding was somewhat difficult to locate until we discovered it was in the cupboard in the bedroom.

The apartment was spacious, with a big kitchen and living area, great bathroom with spa and laundry. You could easily stay here for a week! The room itself looked out over the garden area, no views of the beach sadly.

The resort is up the hill from the main beach and cafe strip - so a short walk/great exercise to grab a coffee and watch the waves roll in. The is also a pub close by and walk along the track to Lorne Pier.

Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MissRissMelb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lorne hotels
0.7 mi away
Grand Pacific Hotel Lorne
0.1 mi away
The Sandridge
The Sandridge
#4 of 9 in Lorne
3.5 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
0.5 mi away
Lorne Coachman Inn
Lorne Coachman Inn
#8 of 9 in Lorne
3.5 of 5 bubbles 194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Lorne Hotel
Lorne Hotel
#6 of 9 in Lorne
3.5 of 5 bubbles 211 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lorne Bay View
Lorne Bay View
#9 of 9 in Lorne
3.0 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mantra Lorne
Mantra Lorne
#2 of 9 in Lorne
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cumberland Lorne Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cumberland Lorne Resort

Property: Cumberland Lorne Resort
Address: 150 Mountjoy Pde, Lorne, Victoria 3232, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Lorne
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Lorne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Cumberland Lorne Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 99
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Priceline, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Cumberland Lorne Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cumberland Lorne Hotel Lorne
Cumberland Resort Lorne
Cumberland Hotel Lorne
Cumberland Lorne Resort South Pacific

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing