We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely location, high cost”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lorne
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Great Ocean Road Backpackers
Ranked #8 of 22 Specialty Lodging in Lorne
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Lovely location, high cost”
Reviewed January 26, 2013

You cannot beat this backpackers for location, in the trees, cockatoos around all the time etc. BUT, towels are not provided, even at a charge, and the shared bathrooms are not that great. We were in a 3 bed attic room and I feel the price was too high, even if the service from the guy was very friendly

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sigrid_b23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    19
    7
    4
    6
See reviews for
1
24
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 17, 2013

loved staying here. Great facilities and service, along with a gorgeous garden and wildlife in abundance. couldn't ask for a better experience. everything was clean and in order, bedrooms spick and span. coming back next year!!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pkssekms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2013

Our experience was nothing short of a Faulty Towers episode. On arrival, we were met by the managers who proceeded to verbally abuse us before we even got out of our car. The car park was full (Pier to Pub weekend) and our request for suggestions on where to park was met with another tirade of abuse. The managers also refused to give us directions to the hostel as apparantly another member of our party had failed to turn up before 8pm - it was unclear why this had caused a problem.
As we were not getting anywhere, we turned the car around to drive back out to the street only to be sworn at by the manager.
Against our better judgment, we returned only to be informed by the other members of our party that we could stay, only on the condition that we apologised. It was not clear what we were apologising for, however we were tired and wanted to go to bed.
Trying to pay for our beds/rooms the next morning was a farce, and you wont be surprise to hear they tried to overcharge us. $50 for a bed in a bunk room seems particularly steep when you also have to put up with being verbally abused by the managers.
Will never go near the place again.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
6 Thank 20Anon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2013

The garden setting of this hostel is beautiful, and the rooms and bathrooms are fine, however the value for money has declined since we last stayed here 3 years ago. Amongst our group we paid $50 for dorm beds and $120-150 for double rooms. For that kind of price I would expect amazing communal facilities in a hostel, but they really weren't up to scratch.

All of our dealings with management were problematic. Just a couple of examples... They closed the office at 8pm and got angry at anyone arriving after 8pm, they tried to overcharge us for the private room, they told my friends to "eff off" when they asked about parking on the grounds, the made numerous other innapropriate comments, and they tried to kill possums on the grounds (and thought it was funny). In all the managment seemed completely incompetent to be working in hospitality.

I used to stay here all the time, but I wouldn't go back again unless the management changed.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rusty841
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2013

I didn't book this place wanting a backpackers accommodation. I wanted the cottages that this business also owns on the same property. I paid $150 for two adults per night which I thought was okay for the cottages BUT the cost was over the top for what we got (or in our case, didn't get) in the backpackers quarters. We were put in a tiny attic which they called a 'loft' with only 2 beds in it. No air conditioner or no ventilation for that matter. Had to share all facilities. Yuk. Had to pay a deposit for our linen and then take the linen off our beds and hand them in when we checked out which was one night early cause we could not stand to sleep in that tiny attic for another night. $150 for that tiny room (if you could call it that) is a rip off so beware of what you get for your money. The female owner was so aggressive and rude when we complained. She clearly took advantage of our booking during peak time so she could make more money out of us. We booked this 4 months in advance. Be prepared for the unexpected if you choose to stay there. Very disappointed and an embarrassing experience.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank myangels4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
berkshire
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2012

We stayed in a double room with a shared bathroom outside. It felt grimy (both bathroom and bedroom) and didn't feel secure. All of which I could be ok with with if reflected in the price but we paid $120!!! We tried to check out just after 9am to get our key deposit back, and there was no-one around. When we finally found someone he said check out was at 10am, i.e only at 10am! We've never seen this before anywhere! We stayed in motels the rest of the trip which were much better, cheaper and friendlier!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank libby1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2012 via mobile

We had the private double room. And for the small amount you pay I wasn't expecting much. But the room was clean, had heating and the view from the window was so so beautiful. The guy at the front desk was very friendly and welcoming. I'd come back here just for a weekend away.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mash_C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lorne hotels
0.1 mi away
Lorne Coachman Inn
Lorne Coachman Inn
#8 of 9 in Lorne
196 reviews
1.1 mi away
Grand Pacific Hotel Lorne
0.5 mi away
The Sandridge
The Sandridge
#4 of 9 in Lorne
169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Mantra Lorne
Mantra Lorne
#2 of 9 in Lorne
2,670 reviews
0.0 mi away
Great Ocean Road Cottages
0.1 mi away
Lorne Foreshore Caravan Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Great Ocean Road Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Great Ocean Road Backpackers

Property: Great Ocean Road Backpackers
Address: 10 Erskine Avenue, Lorne, Victoria 3232, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Lorne
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 22 Specialty Lodging in Lorne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Great Ocean Road Cottages & Backpackers is located in a quiet bush setting, at the beginning of the main street of Lorne with its boutique shops, cafes andrestaurants. Great Ocean Road Cottages & Backpackers offers a range of accommodation to suit travellers looking for quiet, comfortable, affordable accommodation within a 5 minute walk to Lorne's beaches and nearby to many of the stunning bushwalks within the region. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Great Ocean Road Backpackers Yha Hotel Lorne
Great Ocean Road Backpackers Lorne, South Pacific

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing