We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Adequate for Passing through.”
Review of Lorne Coachman Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Lorne Coachman Inn
Ranked #8 of 9 Hotels in Lorne
Reviewed January 30, 2014

We booked on the day of arrival on the long weekend as my partner found out he wasnt required to work that weekend on the day. We stayed only for one night arriving late and leaving early. The hotel was adequate for our night. The room seemed clean and tidy. it had a tiny kitchenette with a sink, toaster, kettle and a microwave as well as a small bar fridge. A bit disapointed there was no hot chocolate in the tea and coffee mix. The beds was also uncomfortable and felt it on our hiking through out the day.

Only grumble was that I wasnt able to get my frequent flyer points as it was a "discounted rate" but I stayed the next night at another best western on a discounted rate and the owners was happy to put it through as have other properties before.

This Motel is next to a caravan park and was a little noisy due to the long weekend. The price was a little expensive as stayed on the return on Sunday at a 4.5 star property for $20 more, and the difference was noticable. Worth to stay at this property if get a good rate, but if I was to pay the same rate we did (last minute) there are many otehr better options aroudn the $200 mark.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank queenanttraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LorneCoachmaninn, Owner at Lorne Coachman Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 23, 2014

Dear queenanttraveller,
Thank you for taking the time to review us. Yes, long weekends & peak periods are expensive especially as a single night stay. We offer discounted rates for multi night stays. However, our pricing is comparative & generally less expensive to similar Motels in our town & region.
Regards
Terry & Angela

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (201)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

125 - 131 of 201 reviews

Reviewed January 20, 2014 via mobile

The rooms are very clean! The room also had a small kitchenette, kettle, cutlery etc... The owners are very helpful and ver nice! They make it like home away from home! The location is within walking distance to everything, and easy to find. If you are staying, ask about restaurants as the owner, Terry, is very knowledgeable. Easily the best value in town.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Planetwide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LorneCoachmaninn, Owner at Lorne Coachman Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2014

Dear Planetwide,
We are very pleased that we were able to make you feel like you were home. Thank you for the review.
Kind Regards
Terry & Angela

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2013

Immaculately maintained, and in a quiet, convenient location, you'll always find a welcoming smile from Angela & Terry at the Coachman. It's minutes from the supermarket, beach, cafés & restaurants, has a great little kitchenette (fridge & microwave only), and the rooms are beautifully & carefully cleaned daily.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
Thank Riccardo49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LorneCoachmaninn, Owner at Lorne Coachman Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2014

Dear Riccardo49,
Thank you for contributing your thoughts on our establishment. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Regards
Terry & Angeal

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2013

The Most enjoyable motel I've been to in a long time!
From arrival I was very impressed with The coachman
The staff were wonderful and so friendly.
They were able to recommend local spots of interest and the birds around the place were lovely especially the kookaburra; He was gorgeous!
The room it's self was very clean and modern with great facilities! The kitchen-net was very hand
I would defiantly recommend the place I was so happy with everything!
Thank you for a great time!

Room Tip: Second floor, room number 2
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mollypeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LorneCoachmaninn, Owner at Lorne Coachman Inn, responded to this reviewResponded December 16, 2013

Dear Mollypeach,
Thankyou for your review. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us & hope to see you agian one day.
Regards
Terry & Angela

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2013

Angela and Terry are absolutely magnificent hosts, more than happy to recommend excellent restaurants and sights to see! Rooms were immaculate, very well priced and an all over wonderful stay. Thank you for making our last minute get away extra special!!

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Meegs9393
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LorneCoachmaninn, Owner at Lorne Coachman Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2013

Dear MegsandCory,
Thank you for your review. Angela & myself are very pleased we were able to make your stay enjoyable & look forward to welcoming you again one day.
Regards
Terry & Angela.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2013

Dated rooms at an extravagant price for what is offered. I would not recommend this motel as I would not go back myself. It is however close to restaurants and the beach. Still not enough to entice me back.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travelbug18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LorneCoachmaninn, Manager at Lorne Coachman Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2013

Dear Travelbug18,
Thank you for your review. Unfortunately we haven't meet your expectations. Our pricing structure is comparative to other similar rated motels in the area. Availability, regional & seasonal peaks also influence tariffs. These should be considered when assessing your requirements.
Regards
Terry & Angela.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2013

Our first visit was a huge surprise with this quiet location, close to the hub of town, beach and the river, waking up to sounds of birds, and the spa bath being the ultimate luxury. Our hosts, Terry and Angela are always welcoming and willing to share their local knowledge with guests. We have been a number of times and it has become our favourite "great escape" from the hustle and bustle of Melbourne and just 2 hours away makes it very accessible.

Room Tip: The spa is essential for a romantic getaway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Jason W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LorneCoachmaninn, Owner at Lorne Coachman Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2013

Dear Jason W,
Thank you for your review. Angela & myself are pleased you enjoy your stay with us & hope to see you again soon.
Regards
Terry & Angela

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lorne hotels
1.1 mi away
Grand Pacific Hotel Lorne
0.5 mi away
The Sandridge
The Sandridge
#4 of 9 in Lorne
174 reviews
0.6 mi away
Lorne Hotel
Lorne Hotel
#5 of 9 in Lorne
240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Lorne Bay View
Lorne Bay View
#9 of 9 in Lorne
151 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mantra Lorne
Mantra Lorne
#3 of 9 in Lorne
3,074 reviews
0.5 mi away
Cumberland Lorne Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lorne Coachman Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lorne Coachman Inn

Address: 1 Deans Marsh Rd | Cnr Great Ocean Rd & Deans Marsh Rd, Lorne, Victoria 3232, Australia (Formerly Best Western)
Location: Australia > Victoria > Lorne
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 9 Hotels in Lorne
Price Range: $93 - $222 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lorne Coachman Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lorne Coachman Inn. AAA certified & rated means you know what standard to expect. Stay at this centrally located Lorne motel, close to the beautiful forests of the Great Otway National Park and the dramatic scenery of the Great Ocean Road. The Lorne Coachman Inn offers 3.5 star accommodation in Lorne, Victoria. All rooms have kitchenettes, air conditioning, Foxtel cable TV and wireless broadband Internet access FREE to guests. There are also four spa rooms. Other facilities at this Lorne motel include a relaxing BBQ area and complimentary off-street car parking. Try our delicious, home-cooked breakfasts during your stay. The Lorne Coachman Inn is close to a variety of local attractions and activities, such as beaches, surfing, fishing, native forest bushwalks and waterfalls. Or, if you are not into the outdoors, indulge in some retail therapy and enjoy the town's many restaurants and cafes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Orbitz, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Lorne Coachman Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Lorne
Lorne Best Western
Lorne Coachman Inn South Pacific

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing