We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lorne Coachman Inn
Nearby Hotels
$83
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
$94
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$112
$108
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
$142
$108
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$112
$104
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cumberland Lorne Resort(Lorne)(Great Value!)
$162
$125
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sandpiper Motel(Apollo Bay)(Great Value!)
$126
$117
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Seaview Motel and Apartments(Apollo Bay)(Great Value!)
$91
$88
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
Apollo Bay Waterfront Motor Inn(Apollo Bay)(Great Value!)
$90
$87
Hotwire.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Reviews (206)
Filter reviews
206 results
Traveler rating
46
76
49
21
14
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
46
76
49
21
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe great ocean roadroom was cleansofa bedtwelve apostlessmall thingswithin walking distancethe ground floorshort staywould stay againshort walk to the beachchecking outgreat positionsupermarketkookaburraskitchenetteaccommodationgor
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
135 - 140 of 206 reviews
Reviewed October 17, 2013

Our first visit was a huge surprise with this quiet location, close to the hub of town, beach and the river, waking up to sounds of birds, and the spa bath being the ultimate luxury. Our hosts, Terry and Angela are always welcoming and willing to share their local knowledge with guests. We have been a number of times and it has become our favourite "great escape" from the hustle and bustle of Melbourne and just 2 hours away makes it very accessible.

Room Tip: The spa is essential for a romantic getaway.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Jason W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LorneCoachmaninn, Owner at Lorne Coachman Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2013

Dear Jason W,
Thank you for your review. Angela & myself are pleased you enjoy your stay with us & hope to see you again soon.
Regards
Terry & Angela

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2013

Photos don't show you the bathroom - reason still back in the 1970's - room dark, poor lighting, bed covers only a blanket - TV only reception you get a few cheap Foxtel channels I understand reception is poor however if you can get a few Foxtel channels surely they could get more channels. The rooms are all upstairs next to a caravan park. Having stayed for 20 days in Best Western in city and country Victoria this was the third rate. Others have been modernised with new bathrooms and good lighting etc. Cheap and mean would sum this motel but not in price.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HartSydney_Australia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LorneCoachmaninn, Owner at Lorne Coachman Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2013

Dear HartSydney_Australia,
Thank you for your review.
En-suite photos are on our web sites. We are not as old as you have indicated & en-suites are functional with adequate lighting.
We do not have old fashioned bed spreads & prefer a light weight throw on the end of the bed.
We offer all the free to air DTV stations available in Australia. All you needed to do was change the source using the remote. The full set of instruction were available in your guest compendium or a simple call to reception would have resolved your problem. In addition 8 Foxtel stations are on offer varying from Sport, Movie, News & Lifestyle programs.
Our pricing is consistent with local & seasonal variations & on par with other similar accommodation providers in the region.
Regards
Terry & Angela

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013 via mobile

I'm not generally a fan of the Best Western chain but when we stopped for the evening in Lorne and searched for accommodation, this hotel looked like great value. I certainly wasn't disappointed. Right from the start the service was excellent, the staff couldn't have been more helpful. The room was huge which was a nice change from the small trip over yourself room we stayed at in Melbourne. The room was very clean and had a little kitchenette which was great. For the one night we stayed, this was a perfect choice and location. Thanks for an excellent stay.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Volstyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LorneCoachmaninn, Owner at Lorne Coachman Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2013

Dear Volstyle,
Thank you for your review. Angela & myself are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us & hope to be able to assist again in the future.
Regards
Terry & Angela

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2013

Questo motel è stato il nostro punto di riferimento nei due giorni dedicati alle meraviglie della Great Ocean Road. Purtroppo è stata una grande delusione. Nulla da eccepire sull'accoglienza ma per raggiungere la stanza bisogna fare almeno un piano a piedi caricandosi le valigie (senza l'aiuto di nessuno). Una volta entrati in camera lo stile dell'arredamento da l'idea di qualcosa di vecchio e di non pulito. Il letto matrimoniale aveva le rotelle e quindi era possibile farci un giro turistico della stanza; il condizionatore, d'obbligo per scaldare la stanza d'inverno, era rumorosissimo; per concludere il bagno aveva una finestra perennemente aperta e quindi il freddo era perennemente presente. Immaginate che fantartiche docce abbiamo fatto, soprattutto con la bimba di due anni. Ottima la posizione considerando la vicinanza ad un supermercato e la tranquillità del posto.

This motel has been our reference point during the two days dedicated to the marvel Great Ocean Road. Unfortunately it has been a great delusion. Nothing to say about the reception but to reach the room you have to come up by the stairs with your heavy bags on the shoulders (with the help of anybody!!!!). No lift. At the moment you go into the room the furniture gives the idea about an old and not clean place. The queen-size bed is wheeled and so it's possible have a touristic trip around the room; the air-conditioning, absolutely necessary to warm the room during winter time, is very noisy; moreover the bathroom has a never closable window and than an ever cold condition. Imagine what a fant-artic showers you could have!!!! Expecially with a two years old daughter. However best position, near to a market and very quiet place.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank manutab75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LorneCoachmaninn, Owner at Lorne Coachman Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2013

Dear manutab75,
Thank you for your review. We are disappointed that you did not enjoy your stay.
To answer some of your concerns;
Portage is available from reception.
You are the first person in 10 years that has offered feedback on the castors on the bed. We will review the situation & take appropriate steps.
All windows can be fully closed. The venting in the en-suite window is required by Australian building standards & local health regulations.
The fans on the reverse cycle aircon/heaters can be noisy that is why all beds are fitted with electric blankets to keep you warm at night.
We hope this helps you & suggest that future stays at any accommodation provider assistance is always just an ask away.
Regards
Terry & Angela.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2013

On a spur of the moment, we decided to stay at the Best Western in Lorne on our way along the Great Ocean Road.

I must say the experience was a pleasure. The checking-in and checking-out was a breeze and was accomplished with a friendly gentleman.

Our room was on the second floor, so there were quite a few stairs to walk up. I would recommend requesting a ground or first floor room if you have trouble with stairs. The room itself was spacious and clean and the shower was huge. The room also contained a little kitchenette which was enough for our one night stay. The other good thing about this place was the ample parking.

All up it was a very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cacklebery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LorneCoachmaninn, Owner at Lorne Coachman Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 3, 2013

Dear Cacklebery,
Thank you for your review. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay & hope to see you again one day.
Regards
Terry & Angela

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews