We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed”
Review of Lorne Coachman Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Lorne Coachman Inn
Ranked #8 of 9 Hotels in Lorne
Reviewed October 8, 2013

Photos don't show you the bathroom - reason still back in the 1970's - room dark, poor lighting, bed covers only a blanket - TV only reception you get a few cheap Foxtel channels I understand reception is poor however if you can get a few Foxtel channels surely they could get more channels. The rooms are all upstairs next to a caravan park. Having stayed for 20 days in Best Western in city and country Victoria this was the third rate. Others have been modernised with new bathrooms and good lighting etc. Cheap and mean would sum this motel but not in price.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HartSydney_Australia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LorneCoachmaninn, Owner at Lorne Coachman Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2013

Dear HartSydney_Australia,
Thank you for your review.
En-suite photos are on our web sites. We are not as old as you have indicated & en-suites are functional with adequate lighting.
We do not have old fashioned bed spreads & prefer a light weight throw on the end of the bed.
We offer all the free to air DTV stations available in Australia. All you needed to do was change the source using the remote. The full set of instruction were available in your guest compendium or a simple call to reception would have resolved your problem. In addition 8 Foxtel stations are on offer varying from Sport, Movie, News & Lifestyle programs.
Our pricing is consistent with local & seasonal variations & on par with other similar accommodation providers in the region.
Regards
Terry & Angela

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (201)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

132 - 138 of 201 reviews

Reviewed September 4, 2013 via mobile

I'm not generally a fan of the Best Western chain but when we stopped for the evening in Lorne and searched for accommodation, this hotel looked like great value. I certainly wasn't disappointed. Right from the start the service was excellent, the staff couldn't have been more helpful. The room was huge which was a nice change from the small trip over yourself room we stayed at in Melbourne. The room was very clean and had a little kitchenette which was great. For the one night we stayed, this was a perfect choice and location. Thanks for an excellent stay.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Volstyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LorneCoachmaninn, Owner at Lorne Coachman Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2013

Dear Volstyle,
Thank you for your review. Angela & myself are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us & hope to be able to assist again in the future.
Regards
Terry & Angela

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2013

Questo motel è stato il nostro punto di riferimento nei due giorni dedicati alle meraviglie della Great Ocean Road. Purtroppo è stata una grande delusione. Nulla da eccepire sull'accoglienza ma per raggiungere la stanza bisogna fare almeno un piano a piedi caricandosi le valigie (senza l'aiuto di nessuno). Una volta entrati in camera lo stile dell'arredamento da l'idea di qualcosa di vecchio e di non pulito. Il letto matrimoniale aveva le rotelle e quindi era possibile farci un giro turistico della stanza; il condizionatore, d'obbligo per scaldare la stanza d'inverno, era rumorosissimo; per concludere il bagno aveva una finestra perennemente aperta e quindi il freddo era perennemente presente. Immaginate che fantartiche docce abbiamo fatto, soprattutto con la bimba di due anni. Ottima la posizione considerando la vicinanza ad un supermercato e la tranquillità del posto.

This motel has been our reference point during the two days dedicated to the marvel Great Ocean Road. Unfortunately it has been a great delusion. Nothing to say about the reception but to reach the room you have to come up by the stairs with your heavy bags on the shoulders (with the help of anybody!!!!). No lift. At the moment you go into the room the furniture gives the idea about an old and not clean place. The queen-size bed is wheeled and so it's possible have a touristic trip around the room; the air-conditioning, absolutely necessary to warm the room during winter time, is very noisy; moreover the bathroom has a never closable window and than an ever cold condition. Imagine what a fant-artic showers you could have!!!! Expecially with a two years old daughter. However best position, near to a market and very quiet place.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank manutab75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LorneCoachmaninn, Owner at Lorne Coachman Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2013

Dear manutab75,
Thank you for your review. We are disappointed that you did not enjoy your stay.
To answer some of your concerns;
Portage is available from reception.
You are the first person in 10 years that has offered feedback on the castors on the bed. We will review the situation & take appropriate steps.
All windows can be fully closed. The venting in the en-suite window is required by Australian building standards & local health regulations.
The fans on the reverse cycle aircon/heaters can be noisy that is why all beds are fitted with electric blankets to keep you warm at night.
We hope this helps you & suggest that future stays at any accommodation provider assistance is always just an ask away.
Regards
Terry & Angela.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2013

On a spur of the moment, we decided to stay at the Best Western in Lorne on our way along the Great Ocean Road.

I must say the experience was a pleasure. The checking-in and checking-out was a breeze and was accomplished with a friendly gentleman.

Our room was on the second floor, so there were quite a few stairs to walk up. I would recommend requesting a ground or first floor room if you have trouble with stairs. The room itself was spacious and clean and the shower was huge. The room also contained a little kitchenette which was enough for our one night stay. The other good thing about this place was the ample parking.

All up it was a very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cacklebery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LorneCoachmaninn, Owner at Lorne Coachman Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 3, 2013

Dear Cacklebery,
Thank you for your review. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay & hope to see you again one day.
Regards
Terry & Angela

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2013

My partner and I stayed here for two nights (Saturday-Monday) as I was running the Great Ocean Road Marathon on the Sunday.

When we checked in Angela was extremely friendly, giving us a map of Lorne with amazing food suggestions, I think we got 20 different restaurants pointed out on the map! Ate at two of them and I can see why they were recommended :) (One restaurant, and I won't name which one, was very adamantly discouraged which kind of intrigued me, but we stayed away haha)

Room was EXTREMELY clean and well taken care of, obviously Angela and Terry have tremendous pride in their hotel. Comfortable bed! Was a very cold night, but with the heater and electric blanket we were fine!

Ran the marathon, and came home exhausted, but noticed again how clean the room was! We just assumed that dishes aren't washed (as previous experience is so) so we left them and were extremely embarrassed and surprised that not only the kitchenette dishes were washed, but the tupperware we brought was too!

Little things leave the best impressions! (We made sure to wash the dishes before checking out though!)

The spa bath was absolutely incredible after the marathon. I think I soaked for two and a half hours on the Sunday night before passing out, and then for another hour and a half on the Monday before checking out.

Very happy with our stay and a huge thank you to Angela and Terry.

If you are looking for a simple, clean, convenient accommodation in Lorne then this is the place to go.

Room Tip: Room with the Spa Bath!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LorneCoachmaninn, Owner at Lorne Coachman Inn, responded to this reviewResponded May 20, 2013

Dear Dan P,
Thank you for taking the time to write review. We are pleased you enjoyed our place & maybe we will see you again one day.
Regards
Terry & Angela

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2013

Only stayed one night as that was all we needed. We will stay there again for longer at some stage in the future.

The motel is at the Melbourne end of town, 100 metres from a supermarket and another 100 metres to the start of the Lorne shopping strip which extends for the best part of a further kilometre. We were looking for a quiet, well located, medium range motel and found that the Lorne Coachman Inn met our needs well. There are a number of high profile (and high cost) establishments in Lorne but we were looking for peace and quiet.

We found the room perfectly adequate and the bed comfortable. The location is quiet, being just far enough away from the centre of town to avoid any street noise.

A good, cooked, breakfast of eggs bacon, juice and coffee etc approximated $A20 each.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YM-Mundrabilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LorneCoachmaninn, Owner at Lorne Coachman Inn, responded to this reviewResponded May 20, 2013

Dear YM-Mundrabilla,
Thank you for your review & comments. We look forward to seeing you again one day.
Regards
Terry & Angela

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2013 via mobile

15 minute walk into town.
Found it very untidy.
Can see were they tried to modernise the rooms but it still has the cheap motel look to it but they yet they still charge high prices , but to often there is mould and dampness in all the corners.
I felt dirty leaving.

The staff were a bit daft also to be honest.

1 Star unfortunately.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LorneCoachmaninn, Owner at Lorne Coachman Inn, responded to this reviewResponded March 30, 2013

Dear HeyMcFIYouBojo,
Thank you for your review. Unfortunately, we have not met your expectations.
My first reaction is to consider that you have reviewed the wrong property. That is something I cannot ascertain.
The centre of town is 400 metres from our door step. If that takes you 15 minutes then so be it! The Supermarket is 50 metres & the first Restaurant & set of shop are 100 metres away.
In regard to our rooms. We are an AAA rated 3.5 star property & rated highly in that appraisal. The tariffs are structured on seasonal & regional basis that is competitive for our type of accommodation.
All our rooms are well ventilated & have no mould in them particularly as you travelled in the height of summer.
Your summarisation of us & our staff is an insult & totally refute your opion.

Terry & Angela Richards
Best Western

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lorne hotels
1.1 mi away
Grand Pacific Hotel Lorne
0.5 mi away
The Sandridge
The Sandridge
#4 of 9 in Lorne
174 reviews
0.6 mi away
Lorne Hotel
Lorne Hotel
#5 of 9 in Lorne
240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Lorne Bay View
Lorne Bay View
#9 of 9 in Lorne
151 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mantra Lorne
Mantra Lorne
#3 of 9 in Lorne
3,073 reviews
0.5 mi away
Cumberland Lorne Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lorne Coachman Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lorne Coachman Inn

Address: 1 Deans Marsh Rd | Cnr Great Ocean Rd & Deans Marsh Rd, Lorne, Victoria 3232, Australia (Formerly Best Western)
Location: Australia > Victoria > Lorne
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 9 Hotels in Lorne
Price Range: $93 - $222 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lorne Coachman Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lorne Coachman Inn. AAA certified & rated means you know what standard to expect. Stay at this centrally located Lorne motel, close to the beautiful forests of the Great Otway National Park and the dramatic scenery of the Great Ocean Road. The Lorne Coachman Inn offers 3.5 star accommodation in Lorne, Victoria. All rooms have kitchenettes, air conditioning, Foxtel cable TV and wireless broadband Internet access FREE to guests. There are also four spa rooms. Other facilities at this Lorne motel include a relaxing BBQ area and complimentary off-street car parking. Try our delicious, home-cooked breakfasts during your stay. The Lorne Coachman Inn is close to a variety of local attractions and activities, such as beaches, surfing, fishing, native forest bushwalks and waterfalls. Or, if you are not into the outdoors, indulge in some retail therapy and enjoy the town's many restaurants and cafes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Lorne Coachman Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Lorne
Lorne Best Western
Lorne Coachman Inn South Pacific

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing