We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lorne Coachman Inn
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Sandpiper Motel(Apollo Bay)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (206)
Filter reviews
206 results
Traveler rating
46
76
49
21
14
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
46
76
49
21
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe great ocean roadroom was cleansofa bedtwelve apostlessmall thingswithin walking distancethe ground floorshort staywould stay againshort walk to the beachchecking outgreat positionsupermarketkookaburraskitchenetteaccommodationgor
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
146 - 151 of 206 reviews
Reviewed January 25, 2013

I called up on the day I was arriving and spoke to Angela. She was very helpful and professional and I booked the room.

On arrival she greeted me and I checked in easily. As I said she's professional but also relaxed and you can have a chat to her and ask any questions if you have any.

The room (and property in general) is very clean and spotless. You can see that they take pride in their property. I had a standard queen room which also has a bar fridge, a microwave, coffee and tea facilities and an ironing board. The bathroom was very clean and the shower was very big!

The supermarket is virtually next door and you can walk into the shops and beach. Only a couple hundred metres away. The property is right across the road from he river.

There was no noise at all from the neighbours, it was a pleasant sleep.

I would make a return here next time I'm in.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank aknavi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LorneCoachmaninn, Owner at Lorne Coachman Inn, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2013

Dear aknavi,
Thank you for your review. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay & hope to be able to look after you again one day.
Regards
Terry & Angela

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2012

We stayed here overnight on our road trip on the Great Ocean Road. It wasn't our first choice. After driving through the town we tried to book a few places but they were fully booked. To be honest we hadn't even seen the hotel and found it on trip advisor!
We are so glad we did! The hotel was clean, the manager was so helpful and friendly. He advised places to eat and a visit to Koala Cove on the road - which was well worth a visit. We saw 5 koalas in the wild! Amazing!
The kookaburra's and birds who visit were quite spectacular.
Many thanks for a great visit! Would def recommend it.

Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
4  Thank rho66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LorneCoachmaninn, Owner at Lorne Coachman Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2013

Dear rho66,
Thank you for your review. We are always pleased to hear that our guests have had a pleasurably stay & experience. The Koalas, kookaburra's & King Parrots are always here & even better are in their natural environment being free to come & go as they wish.
Regards
Terry & Angela.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2012

This is not a 4 star hotel but deserves a 4 rating for what you get for the price you pay. The room was clean and the facilities more than adequate. The staff were very helpful. The location was just a little out of town. Easy walking distance though and close to the supermarket for those evening essentials. Thank you.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Steve S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LorneCoachmaninn, Owner at Lorne Coachman Inn, responded to this reviewResponded December 6, 2012

Dear Steve S,
Thank you for your review. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay & maybe we will see you again one day.
Regards
Terry & Angela Richards
Best Western
Lorne Coachman Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2012

I am loathe to give negative comments on this motel because the owner/manager was so friendly and helpful. But it is an ugly building, squeezed on to a long narrow site with a high bank at the back and the view of a caravan park at the front. Our room (number 1 - an accessible room), was totally satisfactory but it felt very dark and claustrophobic. Lorne and the coast are wonderful, though.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UKPeripatetic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LorneCoachmaninn, Owner at Lorne Coachman Inn, responded to this reviewResponded December 6, 2012

Dear UKPeripatetic,
Thank you for your review. I feel your assesmant of the appearance & location is a little harsh & has little impact on the accommodation we offer. I undersatnd that everyone sees things differently.
Regards
Terry & Angela Richards
Best Western
Lorne Coachman Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2012

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Quickbeds
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
LorneCoachmaninn, Owner at Lorne Coachman Inn, responded to this reviewResponded December 6, 2012

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
View more reviews