We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing”
Review of Lorne Coachman Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Lorne Coachman Inn
Ranked #8 of 9 Hotels in Lorne
Reviewed June 6, 2012

I booked this property going on TA reviews. Was very disappointed. As a previous reviewer said, it was stuck in the 70's. It was extremely cold night, and the heating is just a small air conditioner in the kitchen area. It chugged along noisily but did not provide the adequate heating. The bathroom was freezing. Very surprised to find that the tariff had been taken out on my credit card on the day I booked. I thought credit card details are kept in case someone doesnt arrive and hasnt cancelled. Wasnt happy!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eirinoula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LorneCoachmaninn, Owner at Lorne Coachman Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 9, 2012

Dear Eirinoula,
Thank you for completing the survey regarding your recent stay at our property.
On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologise for not exceeding your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you gave us to ensure we offer a better experience for guests in the future.
In regard to payment. The first night of all reservations are paid at the time of reserving the room. This is conveyed to you at the time of reservation & included in all written correspondence.
If I can provide any assistance, please don't hesitate to contact me directly at +61 3 5289 2244.
Sincerely,
Terry & Angela Richards
BEST WESTERN Lorne Coachman Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (204)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

160 - 166 of 204 reviews

Reviewed May 24, 2012

Stayed last night based on reviews and was not disappointed. Angela was very warm and friendly with good advice where to eat. Terry was spot on with his driving advice around the roads in the area.

The room is your basic typical low cost room. However, they have gone to the trouble of painting a feature wall, used soft browns and not your typical pink a blue bed covers. Also small things like extra pillows, blankets came in handy.

As a recommendation, next time the TV could be larger and (I know its costly), split air con as the current one is a bit noisy.

Would I stay again. Absolutely.

Larry

Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
Thank Larry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LorneCoachmaninn, Owner at Lorne Coachman Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 2, 2012

Dear laza999,

Thank you for your kind comments. We are pleased we could be of assistance.

Regards

Terry & Angela Richards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2012

Needed a short break just to relax, booked the Coachman Inn at Lorne, found on the Internet, on the spur of the moment. What a great start, comfortable drive, beautiful scenery, ocean air. Introduction to our room was a delight, clean, no smells, everything fresh, fully equipped for our comfort. Our hosts Angela & Terry were genuinely warm and friendly, they went out of their way to help us and respected our privacy and peace. Perfect location, minutes walk to all shops,restaurants and beach. What a fantastic3 day break, exactly what we needed. Looking for accommodation in Lorne, been disappointed before, then contact Angela or Terry and discuss your requirements.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chrisfreda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LorneCoachmaninn, Owner at Lorne Coachman Inn, responded to this reviewResponded April 27, 2012

Dear chrisfreda,
Thank you for your review. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay & hope to see you again in the near future.
Regards
Terry & Anela

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2012

The welcome we received was so warm and friendly. Immediately on first name terms with Terry & Angela. Nothing was too much trouble for them. Lovely spa bath in our room. Great base for driving along to the Twelve Apostles. Great Ocean Road is certainly spectacular.

Would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to our friends.

Room Tip: Get one with a Spa Bath
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GrecianHighworthUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LorneCoachmaninn, Owner at Lorne Coachman Inn, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2012

Dear GrecianHighworthUK,

Thank you for your review & your kind words. We appreciate them very much & pleased that you enjoyed your stay.
Regards

Terry & Angela Richards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2012

Relaxing quiet location. Friendly team that understand the need for discreation, privacey & quiet. Get back to nature & good old fashioned hospitality. Highly recommend for couples or anyone wanting to get away

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Shoe_gal_au
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LorneCoachmaninn, Owner at Lorne Coachman Inn, responded to this reviewResponded April 20, 2012

Dear Shoe_gal_au,
Thank you for your review. We are here to make your stay enjoyable. If you are on The Great Ocean Road in the future we would like to see you again.
Regards
Terry & Angela Richards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2012

We have just spent a few very enjoyable days at the Lorne Coachman Inn. While not a 5 star hotel, it provides very comfortable beds, immaculately clean and well equipped units. An added bonus it that you can help the owners hand feed the kookaburras that turn up for a meal daily. Overall a good experience with a great home cooked breakfast.
We will definitely return

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank delia255097
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LorneCoachmaninn, Owner at Lorne Coachman Inn, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2012

Dear delia255097,

Thank you for your review. Looking forward to you staying here again if you are in the area.

Regards
Terry & Angela Richards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2012

Our stay was very relaxing and room was very modern enjoyed the feeding of the kookaburra's in the mornings and was walking distance to the main centre of town, Terry & Angela were the perfect host, and would definately return.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PhilHunniford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LorneCoachmaninn, Owner at Lorne Coachman Inn, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2012

Dear PhilHunniford,

Thank you for your review. We are always pleased that guests enjoy their experiance with us & in Lorne.
Regards
Terry & ANgela Richards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lorne hotels
1.1 mi away
Grand Pacific Hotel Lorne
0.5 mi away
The Sandridge
The Sandridge
#4 of 9 in Lorne
174 reviews
0.6 mi away
Lorne Hotel
Lorne Hotel
#7 of 9 in Lorne
254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Lorne Bay View
Lorne Bay View
#9 of 9 in Lorne
151 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mantra Lorne
Mantra Lorne
#3 of 9 in Lorne
3,273 reviews
0.5 mi away
Cumberland Lorne Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lorne Coachman Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lorne Coachman Inn

Address: 1 Deans Marsh Rd | Cnr Great Ocean Rd & Deans Marsh Rd, Lorne, Victoria 3232, Australia (Formerly Best Western)
Location: Australia > Victoria > Lorne
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 9 Hotels in Lorne
Price Range: $98 - $214 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lorne Coachman Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lorne Coachman Inn. AAA certified & rated means you know what standard to expect. Stay at this centrally located Lorne motel, close to the beautiful forests of the Great Otway National Park and the dramatic scenery of the Great Ocean Road. The Lorne Coachman Inn offers 3.5 star accommodation in Lorne, Victoria. All rooms have kitchenettes, air conditioning, Foxtel cable TV and wireless broadband Internet access FREE to guests. There are also four spa rooms. Other facilities at this Lorne motel include a relaxing BBQ area and complimentary off-street car parking. Try our delicious, home-cooked breakfasts during your stay. The Lorne Coachman Inn is close to a variety of local attractions and activities, such as beaches, surfing, fishing, native forest bushwalks and waterfalls. Or, if you are not into the outdoors, indulge in some retail therapy and enjoy the town's many restaurants and cafes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Lorne Coachman Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Lorne
Lorne Best Western
Lorne Coachman Inn South Pacific

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing