We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“rude and well over priced”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Lorne Erskine Falls Cottages
Ranked #21 of 22 Specialty Lodging in Lorne
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“rude and well over priced”
Reviewed December 4, 2012

well not to much to say on the matter,don't really want to waste anymore time on this place but Mark the manager I hope your reading these negative reviews as you are a rude disrespectful control freak that needs to be put back in his spot you should not be in the hospitality game at all, your approach to holiday makers was disgusting and very rude to say the least.... karma's a gunna get ya Mark and I truly hope it smacks you square in the face and as for as the facility's the wild life (free) and the pool with a good view would be it, the rest was in very poor shape, poor lighting uncomfortable furniture ... will be advising to all I know not to bother with your overpriced pit ... never again !

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank qwe1asd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    7
    6
    13
    31
See reviews for
21
19
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Geelong, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2012

I booked a night away with a few work friends and was quite disappointed with the service we received. I found the experience like being a school kid on camp, watched to make sure you're not getting up to mischief or putting a foot wrong. We are in our mid to late 20s and responsible people. When down at the pool we met some young schoolies kids who joined in for a swim and a few drinks,and later we all cooked a BBQ together. Later Matrk, the owner, told as that we should not be socialising with the schoolies and tried to make accusations that we knew them prior to our stay! When speaking to Mark prior to our stay he wanted to ensure we weren't schoolies kids which we advised that we weren't so if he was that concerned about having schoolies on his property, why would he allow 5 young boys? Also, if he is that concerned about people socialising or meeting at the pool, he shouldn't have a pool or he shoud give each cabin there own private pool (yeah right). Surely that would elliviate that problem if it is "such a concern". Quite disappointed! We paid $580 for one night (off-peak) in the end (as he demanded another $100 on arrival) and for that the only positive was the wildlife. The house was old, for 5 people we only had a 2br appartment. Its unfortunate the service was terrible as the place is quite tranquil. I won't be back.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Kim R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Lorne hotels

melbourne
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2012

my friends and i thought we were going to have a fantastic fun relaxing week away from home but in actual fact we got the complete opposite, we arrived at our destination to be greeted by a disrespectful pig (Mark). when we walked into our cottage it wasn't what we expected at all to sum it up for you it was a run down dump, none of the electronics were updated, the spa didn't work a couple of the light globes were blown and there was dead ants on our sheets. When we went to complain about this all we got was a mouthful of disgrace. i would not recommend staying at Erskine Falls Cottages to anyone. overall it was a complete waste of time i would have more comfort and relaxation sleeping on a park bench.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Tom504
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geelong, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2012

Myself, my partner and his workmates went down for a weekend getaway. The place itself was quite beautiful amongst mother nature and the wildlife. The facilities and pool area ok though what we paid outweighed what you got - overnight 4 people $100 each!! Quite expensive!! Loved that the wildlife were so friendly and you got to interact with them, that was indeed the highlight of the trip.
The negative was the rude abuse we received from the owner when we had another friend come join us for the day (not stay overnight). He insisted that we needed to pay extra for having a fifth person. He abused us for having the Air Con on whilst the windows and doors were open. The fact that we had just got back to the cottage, turned it on and was about to close windows before he interupted us meant nothing to him! He accused us of being "disrespectful, disgraceful and rude on his private property" yet he was the one yelling at us, his guests. I would not recommend staying at this place! I'm sure there is better accomodation, at more reasonable prices with polite owners / managers in Lorne worth staying at!!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank DiDi1984_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geelong, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2012

Stayed down with 3 friends-owner Mark made this the worst holiday experience possibly with his poor people skills and lack of respect for privacy.

We had a friend come over and visit for a couple of hours, within 5 seconds of his arrival owner barged in and started verbally abusing everyone for having a guest visit and not letting him know. Owner used the words 'disgraceful and disgusted' at us. Owner was not once friendly or polite in his approach.

Owner then continued to verbal abuse us and say how disgusted he were that we had drinks with a bunch of schoolies (4 males all 18) down at the BBQ's (3 of us are in 20's), which really was none of his business. 2 of the boys walked past our cabin and owner assumed they were coming into ours, and screamed at them in front of us, which was quiet embaressing.

I'll be making sure to let everyone I know to avoid Mark and his anxiety driven rage of schoolies paranoia. If Mark had taken the approach of his friendly gardener Rod, and tried a reasonable and friendly approach, we would have been understanding of his worries and assured him we will respect his rules.

Never again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Greg J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2012

We travel a lot and have stayed in 5 star hotels and caravan parks.

My husband and I stayed at this property approx 20 years ago when it was only 10 years old. It was beautiful, well maintained with pleasant owners. We were almost nostalgic about returning now with our two children. Our children enjoyed the views from our cottage (as did we) and they loved the birds. From an adult perspective, here are some of my observations - over priced and photos on the website could arguably be called misrepresentative. The kitchen is very dated, crumbs in the drawers, dirty stove - did not bother cooking. The TV was great but sitting on the sofa was very unpleasant, especially the one facing the forest as it was very hard (board under it) and clearly over 20+ years old. We struggled with the lighting too - as others have. Very very dim and we could not read at night. When we asked management if they had another light, the gentleman rolled his eyes at my husband and stormed off.

Kids room was fine and looked clean. Main bedroom was pretty awful. very old shabby bedspread with a completely mis matched old velour blanket. Not even a picture on the wall.

We were given 3 towels for the 4 of us for a five night stay - that is ridiculous. I also found the various notes about the rules and regulations were over the top and not very friendly.

The place has enormous potential and is in a beautiful setting - such a shame it has been left like this. Will cost more to fix it if it is left to run down. Maybe the owners do not have the funds to improve the property? That would be fine though it should be represented as it is on websites and if paying customers make recommendations - at least listen to them and smile. This is what the rest of us in the workforce have to do.

I would not recommend this facility though as I mentioned our kids loved it - the birds, mini golf, tennis court

Some basic improvements would be;
doona on main bed with a picture
repaint in a light colour throughout
change light fittings to downlights
new couches
small bottle of UHT milk in the fridge - caravan parks provide this and this place costs more.

a decent clean and most of all - friendly hosts.
If some basic renovations were done, the property would be worth a lot more and they'd get repeat guests.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Helen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
st helier
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 31, 2012

My family loved it here - my kid had endless fun feeding all the gorgeous king parrots & lorikeets , not to mention the possum he was able to handfeed st night ! The views were stunning & the atmosphere wonderfully laid back. We stayed on extra days !

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank naomi s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lorne hotels
2.2 mi away
Lorne Coachman Inn
Lorne Coachman Inn
#8 of 9 in Lorne
3.5 of 5 bubbles 196 reviews
2.5 mi away
Lorne Hotel
Lorne Hotel
#6 of 9 in Lorne
3.5 of 5 bubbles 211 reviews
3.1 mi away
Grand Pacific Hotel Lorne
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Lemonade Creek Cottages
2.0 mi away
Lorne Bush House Cottages
2.1 mi away
Great Ocean Road Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lorne Erskine Falls Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lorne Erskine Falls Cottages

Property: Lorne Erskine Falls Cottages
Address: 5 Cora Lynn Ct | (corner Erskine Falls Road and Cora Lynn Court Lorne), Lorne, Victoria 3232, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Lorne
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 22 Specialty Lodging in Lorne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Lorne Erskine Falls Cottages 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Hotwire so you can book your Lorne Erskine Falls Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lorne Erskine Falls Cottages South Pacific

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing