We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relax & take it all in........”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lorne
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Lorneview Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 8 Lorne B&B and Inns
Reviewed March 19, 2012

My Wife & I needed a stay away for one night, so headed to Lorne for some "Beach Therapy". Was surprised it now only took 2hr15min (to B&B) from Outer Eastern suburbs with the new Geelong By-pass! We love Lorne to visit, but find it gets a bit busy at times, so this time we chose to stay at this fantastic B&B in Eastern View only 15mins drive (before) Lorne on the Great Ocean Road. We chose the "Top" room with views of the sea. The room was very spacious, clean & light, with cathedral ceilings & blacony with chairs & table looking out to sea views. Place was very quiet with the exception of soothing sound of waves crashing to shore which when time for bed, sent us to sleep very peacefully (on very comfy bed). At night-time, we were fortunate to have clear skies which shows fantasic views of stars & also see lights of Lorne town.

Our host Nola, was very friendly & heplful, and made a very tasty continental breakfast consisting of Cereals (Junkie - Crunchy nut cornflakes for me & Healthy - Mueseli for wife), fruit, fruit yoghurt, toast, croissants, freshly squeezed OJ, Tea & the highliht of brekkie "Homemade Blueberry Muffins". Ate so much, didn't eat again until 2.30pm!

The breakfast was served on the front deck of owners home with the best panoramic views of the sea......we sat on deck for over an hour taking in the great view & also the fantastic array of local birdlife. The property has plenty of natural bush & plants attracting many birds. Over breakfast we saw many New Holland Honey Eaters feeding off Banksia tree only meters from front deck, Yellow Tailed Black Cockatoos, Rosellas & King Parrots, Blue Wren, Pacific Gulls flying along beach.

Checkout was a relaxed 11am, so gave us time to enjoy the restful morning. The beach is short 1-2min walk from property. Very secluded, moderate surf, no seaweed or rocks, and very "swimmable" with only a few people around.

Recommendations for Lorne:
Dinner: Grand Pacific Hotel - Great quality food (med-pricey) & beautiful old building.
Arts: QDOS - magic arts place in bushland only mins from town
Views: Teddys Lookout. Erskine Falls (Both must-see)

Loved our stay & well rested thankyou Nola & Kevin :-)

Room Tip: Top room has views, bottom room has Coonara...your choice. Breakfast is served on owners front deck...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Clint-Dana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (45)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

38 - 44 of 45 reviews

Reviewed January 15, 2012

We had two nights exploring the Bellarine peninsula and the Great Ocean Road in the height of summer and most accommodation options were full, expensive or required 2 nights minimum booking. As were looking at splitting the journey with one night around Lorne and another further up the coast, suitable accomodation was hard to find.

Based on the high rating of Lorneview on Trip Advisor, we decided to try it out and luckily for us there was a room available. Best decision we ever made!

Lorneview is not located in Lorne itself but in Eastern View, a small township located just after Airey's Inlet and 14km before Lorne. It is located just before the Great Ocean Road memorial arch and across the road from a beautiful beach. Located on a hillside, the twinkling lights of Lorne can be seen in the distance at night.

Arriving after 3pm, we were welcomed by Nola and Kevin, and check-in was a breeze. There are only two units in Lorneview, and we had booked Room 2 on the first floor which had a deck with a view of the ocean. The en-suite rooms and a games/reading room are located separately away from the main house, so you have privacy if that is important to you. There is also parking space available within the house area and the house has a beautiful garden with flowering plants and birds flying freely.

The room was amazing, and very tastefully appointed with a kitchenette, television, air-cond (which we didn't need, with the cooling sea-breeze), queen-size bed, even an ironing board and hairdryer. The kitchenette had tea and coffee-making facilities, with even cookies provided. We felt it difficult to leave the room once we had checked in, so comfortable and homely was it.

In the morning, waking to the sound of the crashing waves and birdsong, was heavenly. This was surpassed only by the breakfast on the front deck overlooking the ocean. Muffins, croissants, fruit and muesli with tea, provided by both Nola and Kevin, this has got to be the best breakfast on the entire surf coast. As we ate, we were visited by a friendly cockatoo and other birds flying overhead.

Thank you Nola and Kevin for sharing with us your little slice of heaven, wish we had stayed longer!

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jadamros
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2011

We only had a single night but we loved it here. We had the upstairs room which was very spacious, beautifully presented and spotlessly clean. The decor was also great and the room had a light, airy feel about it. But the real highlight was breakfast on the balcony overlooking the beach - it was fantastic. Fresh squeezed orange juice, fresh fruit platter, home cooked muffins, croisants, toast, coffee - just wonderful. Nola was also incredibly friendly and the fact that the rooms are separate from the main building also gives an added touch of privacy. Would recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rjc_56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2011

I stayed here with my partner whilst we travelled along the Great Ocean Road. The room was separate room from the main house which I like. It was spotless, not a spec of dust insight with a lovely clean bathroom.
The proprietor / B&B Hostess Nola was lovely. She introduced herself at the start, gave us some handy tips and left us to our own devices. From our window you could just about see the Ocean, unfortunately it was quite overcast.
In the morning we had an AMAZING breakfast. The best B&B breakfast I have ever had. I am not one for a greasy cooked breakfast but the breakfast Nola served was amazing. Cereal, croissants, toast, home baked muffins, an array of fruit on a platter with tea, coffee and orange juice.
I definitely recommend this B&B - just don't eat at the seafood restaurant in Lorne. Overpriced and arrogant staff!!

Room Tip: Book now!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank monkeychunks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2011

We stayed here for two nights on our travel along the Great Ocean Road. Comfortable well equipped room with kitchenette and a table both inside and on the outside balcony which meant we could cater for ourselves. We stayed in the upstairs room but there is a lower one which was not occupied whilst we were there. Nola welcomed us with a smile and directed us to the appropriate places to eat and see, not too much choice in the near vicinity Lorne is further away, we ate at the bistro in aireys inlet which was basic but not too expensive. Our full day there we took the opportunity to explore Lorne and Kennetts river and although this meant retracing back to Lorneview it was well worth it for the exceptional breakfast. The weather was not too good whilst we were there so we were unable to eat on the balcony outside but we still had the ocean views and see the parrots and cockatoos having their breakfast.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank YorksHelen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2010

Lorneview is a very comfortable B & B. We had the upstairs room which is large with a small kitchenette area and it also has a settee. It's just across the Great Ocean Road from a lovely beach. The hostess is very considerate, quietly there. Breakfast is on an upstairs balcony overlooking the sea. Unlike a lot of B & B's in the area, Lorneview took us for 1 night only, most wanted min. of 2 nights. Wished we had stayed longer.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank linnets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2014
Google Translation

  • Stayed: December 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Renate_Schweiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lorne hotels
6.3 mi away
Grand Pacific Hotel Lorne
5.9 mi away
Lorne Coachman Inn
Lorne Coachman Inn
#8 of 9 in Lorne
204 reviews
6.2 mi away
The Sandridge
The Sandridge
#4 of 9 in Lorne
175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
Lorne Hotel
Lorne Hotel
#7 of 9 in Lorne
254 reviews
6.4 mi away
Lorne Bay View
Lorne Bay View
#9 of 9 in Lorne
153 reviews
6 mi away
Mantra Lorne
Mantra Lorne
#3 of 9 in Lorne
3,290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lorneview Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lorneview Bed & Breakfast

Address: 677 Great Ocean Road, Lorne, Victoria 3231, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Lorne
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Lorne
Price Range: $112 - $144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Also Known As:
Lorneview Bed & Breakfast Lorne, South Pacific

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing