We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Food”

The Salty Dog Fish & Chippery
Ranked #20 of 40 Restaurants in Lorne
Price range: $1 - $19
Cuisines: Seafood, Fast Food, Australian, Healthy
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Cash Only, Free Wifi, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2012

We stopped here for lunch on the way back to Melbourne. Awesome lamb souvlaki, and my husband said his "The Lot" burger was the best burger he's ever had. Not the cheapest lunch, but still awesome!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank edna267
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    79
    65
    30
    12
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Best Fish and Chips”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2012

My husband and I come to Lorne at least once a year and have to stop here. It's our fav fish and chips in Victoria!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank F K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrnambool, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Skip the fish and chips”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2012

Although there are some good reviews of the Salty Dog on this site, our expereince was very dissapointing. My grilled Blue Grenadier was rubbery and tough and at over $8 for a small thin fillet I felt ripped off. My husbands fried flake was a little better. Chip serving was generous but nothig to write home about. Greek salad looked pretty but was tastless. I'm sorry to say we won't be back.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Yummy!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2012

Yummy fish and chips - perfect for sitting on the shore at Lorne in the fresh sea air. The lady who served us was nice enough to tell us that we wouldn't need to buy as large a packet of chips as we'd requested. She was right!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank neatnik66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Our mid week stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2012

Great food, great service and burgers. Other food great as well. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend the Whale burger

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Ed P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Salty Dog Fish & Chippery also viewed

 

Been to The Salty Dog Fish & Chippery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing