We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Feel so relaxed after a weekend at Allenvale”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Allenvale

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Allenvale
Ranked #13 of 22 Specialty Lodging in Lorne
Melbourne
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Feel so relaxed after a weekend at Allenvale”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2010

My husband and I stayed at Allenvale Cottages in Kero Cottage. We discovered them, like another reviewer mentioned, whilst walking in the area previously. The cottage was beautful - in fact the website does not do Kerosine Cottage justice. The cottage has the most amazing windows - my husband and I have never stayed in a place with such a panoramic view of the outside - and it is so beautiful waking up to a window full of autumn colours outside. The cottage is close to many lovely walks - the Canyon and Phantom Falls are amazing. Lorne is very quiet at this time of the year - most of the food choices available are very ordiniary and rather downmarket for dinner - I recommend using the kitchen in the cottages instead and eating in if you want decent food. There is an oven and stove top and well stocked kitchen. (Lorne Pub is good but full of the usual pub offerings and if you are bored with that, well, there is not much else Lorne offers in winter - not much else open)

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paris-kitty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    8
    4
    1
    2
See reviews for
15
10
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Aus
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2010

Our friends have been going to these cottages for 3 years now to celebrate xmas in July - what a lovely place! Our first thought on walking is it that it's just like going home to grandma's for the holidays. The cottages are quaint but with modern conveniences - the fireplace is a hit! The forest is outside all windows, I think we see kangaroos every visit and great trekking is just a few meters away. You'll never sleep so well here.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank solstice1911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2010

You wouldnt believe you are only 10mins from Lorne in this lovely spot. Nestled in the forest, you feel like you are in a secret and special place, blessed by birds and wildlife. Numerous bush walks start from your door, with beautiful forest, waterfalls, and beach all accessible via a range of short to long, and easy to more challenging trails. Wildlife is plentiful; I've got close to kangaroos, koalas, echidnas and bower birds that inhabit the area.
Very friendly and helpful hosts, and the atmosphere is family friendly but still very peaceful.
One of my very favourite places in Vic for a relax, refresh, and recharge!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank slowwalkingwoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bigtedallenvale, Manager at Allenvale, responded to this review, February 5, 2010
Many thanks for taking the time to review us. 'Allenvale' is hard to explain........its an experience, not just a destination!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2009

I have been to these cottages twice now, having stumble accross them while hiking in the area. They are fantastic set nearby loads of trails and close to the beach.

The only place I would stay at in Lorne!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Petrosy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lorne hotels
1.5 mi away
Grand Pacific Hotel Lorne
1.1 mi away
The Sandridge
The Sandridge
#4 of 9 in Lorne
3.5 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
1.1 mi away
Cumberland Lorne Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Lemonade Creek Cottages
1.1 mi away
Lorne World
Lorne World
#1 of 22 in Lorne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 80 reviews
1.3 mi away
Mantra Lorne
Mantra Lorne
#2 of 9 in Lorne
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Allenvale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Allenvale

Property: Allenvale
Address: 150 Allenvale Road | P.O Box 224, Lorne, Victoria 3232, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Lorne
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 22 Specialty Lodging in Lorne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Allenvale 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Allenvale; 'the Great Ocean Roads best kept secret'! Hidden away in a gorgeous valley surrounded by the Great Otway National Park minutes drive from the shops, beach and restaurants of Lorne. Allenvale is the ideal base for your Great Ocean Road explorations. 4 individual and unique self contained cottages each with private balconies, well equipped kitchens and cosy beds with all linen and towels. Wood fires, BBQs and bushwalking and wildlife at you door! Ideal for couples, families and groups. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Allenvale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Allenvale Lorne, South Pacific

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing