We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic sea views”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Lorne
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ocean Lodge Motel & Apartments
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Lorne
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Fantastic sea views”
Reviewed June 10, 2014

I spent two winter nights here & would highly recommend. I stayed in the one bedroom Apartment (which beds three people). There was an undercover carport, master bedroom (with sea views), bathroom, and downstairs there was a living space with a kitchenette (sea views) and a balcony with an outdoor setting. It was well equipped with electric blankets, split heating/cooling system, fans, iron/board, two televisions (bedroom & living). The kitchenette was well-equipped, including a large fridge and a dishwasher. The motel is in the edge of town, near the Lorne Pier. It was very quiet and peaceful. I would nightly recommend this place.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    36
    10
    2
    1
See reviews for
15
35
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2014 via mobile

We arrived late to our unit - the manager was still available. Our room was fabulous. While it is an older style motel, it was a good size for the two of us and would be good for more than the one night stay we had. The room had a balcony that had a lovely view of the inlet. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WellNell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2014 via mobile

We were on a quick trip along the Great Ocean Road, showing our UK family around. We booked a few days ahead and found that the Ocean Lodge was a great place to stay in Lorne.
Check in was quick, efficient and welcoming. Very reasonably priced. Our room was a 2 bedroom apartment which was neat and very clean. The main bedroom and living area had great ocean views with a deck off the lower lounge/dining room. The back bedroom had 2 single beds. The small kitchenette was neat and well equipped.
The Grand Pacific Hotel is a short walk away for dinner, and the main street of Lorne less than 5 minutes by car. It is also close to the pier. I liked the location....away from the hustle and bustle.
I would certainly recommend a stay here, and only wish I could have stayed longer.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Raineanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2014 via mobile

We stayed 1 night. The room is very basic and clean. No internet and no air conditioning. There is a restaurant at a nearby hotel, wifi is available there for a cost. You can still pick up the wifi at the hotel. It is on the edge of town with a good view of the ocean.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Planetwide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2013

The greeting by Andrew was very welcoming, and the room was exactly what I had asked for. A view of the ocean with a balcony. I left the balcony door open that night so that I could hear the waves and felt quite secure. The room and motel is basic but very comfortable and I certainly have no complaints. As a matter of fact I was very pleased to be located a bit further away from the Grand Pacific which had been my original choice when the crowd outside the pub started becoming a bit noisy. I was able to just have a small walk up the street and back to the peacefulness of my motel room.

Room Tip: I specifically asked for a room with a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jessebel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2013

Stayed in a 2-bedroom, 2-storey apartment that is sea-facing. The views are wonderful, as mentioned in other reviews. What impresses us is that the apartment is pretty well equipped with everything we need for the 3 nights stay. Kitchen has the usual utensils, cutleries, microwave and dishwasher. Electric blankets for all the beds, plus an air-conditioner in the living area at the ground floor.

There were no other guests in the other apartments during the period of our stay (only 1-2 other families at the motel) and hence it was pretty quiet and serene. We used the BBQ station for 2 nights that has a nice little area for the kids to run around. There is also a tennis court that we didn't use.

Overall, although the room is a little dated, it has everything we need. We will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank teetoose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2013

Stayed only one night but Andrew was welcoming and let us check in early. Room was spacious and clean. Balcony overlooked the water. Furniture basic, beds very comfortable, Easy walk to pier and into town.Quiet , no road noise, just the waves.Will go back again .Was great value for money.

Room Tip: Had room 11 which was at front of complex with great view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank samui2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lorne hotels
0.1 mi away
Grand Pacific Hotel Lorne
0.6 mi away
Lorne Bay View
Lorne Bay View
#9 of 9 in Lorne
149 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Sandridge
The Sandridge
#4 of 9 in Lorne
169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Lorne Hotel
Lorne Hotel
#7 of 9 in Lorne
221 reviews
1.1 mi away
Lorne Coachman Inn
Lorne Coachman Inn
#8 of 9 in Lorne
196 reviews
0.9 mi away
Mantra Lorne
Mantra Lorne
#2 of 9 in Lorne
2,671 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Lodge Motel & Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Lodge Motel & Apartments

Property: Ocean Lodge Motel & Apartments
Address: 6 Armytage Street, Lorne, Victoria 3232, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Lorne
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Lorne
Number of rooms: 18
Also Known As:
Ocean Lodge Motel And Apartments
Ocean Lodge Motel & Apartments Hotel Lorne
Ocean Lodge Motel & Apartments Lorne, South Pacific

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing