We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice basic hotel with the best view you could imagine” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ocean Lodge Motel & Apartments

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Lorne
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ocean Lodge Motel & Apartments
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Lorne
Santo Domingo
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Nice basic hotel with the best view you could imagine”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2012

Stayed at a 2 rooms property, sleeps 5, ok beds, kitchen, and very basic furniture and tv.
But the amazing thing is the view, has a a very nice patio where you have access to a public bbq (wich we used and works perfectly). If you expect luxury it's not your place, but if a great view makes a diference to you, you just found your place....

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Carlos L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    36
    10
    2
    1
See reviews for
15
35
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level Contributor
24 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2012

We chose this place because it didn't have a three night minimum (we were there two nights) and, well, was available. We were there around the Christmas holidays, when I think prices go up, and so for the price we paid it felt pretty average. Service is fine, but limited. Rooms are fine, but a bit worn and tatty. The small kitchenette area with a fridge and some plates / cups etc was useful though. the location is a bit far from town, but on the plus side that means its quiet at night.The balconies overlooking the water are definitely the highlight. I would probably look around before booking this place again, but I wouldn't avoid it if it was the only option.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CA_Travelers2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2012

loved the view of the ocean, even from the carpark. easy access to town and pier restaurants.

Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank ZippyBubblenose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2012

I found this property using Trip Advisor and it lived up to the reviews I read about it. Our room was neat, clean and comfortable. It is a basic motel but with good amenities, including a microwave, toster, cutlery & crockery and lovely views of the ocean. We were greeted by a very friendly woman who showed us to our room and the rates were reasonable for the area. We found it was quite expensive to eat out at the hotels and restaurants and even the take away fairly dear but that also seems typical of the 'Great Ocean Road' experience. We had our own breakfast supplies and shared our balcony the next morning with 14 very friendly sulphur crested cockies it was lovely.

Room Tip: Ask for a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheGlassHouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgetown, Texas
Level Contributor
582 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for one night on our drive of the Great Ocean Road. The view from here is great. The location is just past the main part of town but that was not a problem for us. Yes the hotel is a little outdated but it is very clean and pleasant. Our only complaint is that the twin bed in the room was VERY soft and not good for the back. It was nice to have a ceiling fan and sleep with the door open and fresh air.

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank dil345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, UK
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2012

We stayed here for one night in a double motel room back at the beginning of February. As backpackers, this was a bit of luxury for us and at the top end of our budget, but I felt it was definitely worth it! The view from the room was stunning - most hotels that advertise an "ocean view" mean you can just see the ocean if you peer around the corner or past various obstacles, but here it means you have an amazing view right out over the Great Ocean Road, which you can really enjoy sitting out on the balcony. We especially enjoyed the local wildlife in the form of galahs and sulphur crested cockatoos, who came and joined us for breakfast on the balcony and could be seen (and heard!) flying around overhead. The room itself was spacious, clean and very comfy - there was even a proper kitchenette, which we weren't really expecting but was a great bonus as we were able to make ourselves a proper breakfast. My only slight gripe was that for a price that was at the top of our budget, it was a shame that there was no breakfast or wifi included, but this seems to be common of most motels in Victoria. Lorne itself was a lovely town and I'd definitely recommend the walk at Erskine Falls and also driving a little further up to Teddy's Lookout, which provides a great view and a nice spot for a picnic lunch. On the evening we arrived it was later than we'd planned so we just went for dinner at the Grand Pacific Hotel which is just down by the pier and had super friendly staff and very tasty food. Overall, I'd definitely recommend Ocean Lodge and we would love to stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fryster65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
83 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2012

Friendly welcome. Though the rooms are a little dated they were clean and had everything you could need. Across the road from the beach and a pleasant 10 min walk to the town which has a good range of facilities.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MoroccoMad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lorne hotels
0.1 mi away
Grand Pacific Hotel Lorne
1.1 mi away
Lorne Coachman Inn
Lorne Coachman Inn
#8 of 9 in Lorne
3.5 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Sandridge
The Sandridge
#4 of 9 in Lorne
3.5 of 5 bubbles 157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Lorne Bay View
Lorne Bay View
#9 of 9 in Lorne
3.0 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
0.6 mi away
Lorne Hotel
Lorne Hotel
#6 of 9 in Lorne
3.0 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
0.9 mi away
Mantra Lorne
Mantra Lorne
#2 of 9 in Lorne
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Lodge Motel & Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Lodge Motel & Apartments

Property: Ocean Lodge Motel & Apartments
Address: 6 Armytage Street, Lorne, Victoria 3232 , Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Lorne
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Lorne
Number of rooms: 18
Also Known As:
Ocean Lodge Motel And Apartments
Ocean Lodge Motel & Apartments Hotel Lorne
Ocean Lodge Motel & Apartments Lorne, South Pacific

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing