We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent accommodation in a great location!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Around About Lorne

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lorne
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Around About Lorne
Ranked #2 of 8 Lorne B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
112 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Excellent accommodation in a great location!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2012

Stayed here for the weekend with my wife on a break away from Melbourne. The self-contained rooms are great, well furnished and very comfortable. The location is just a 5min stroll to the shops, restaurants and bars of Lorne but far enough outside of town to be quiet and peaceful. Sue and her husband are excellent hosts, recommending things to do and places to eat at. We have stayed in numerous places throughout Victoria and this is up there with the best of them. The wildlife was also incredible, parrots, birds and a koala all on our doorstep.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank adamj_bl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    7
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
27
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Tain, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2012

This is simply the best b and b in Oz. Fabulous house and lovely family. Felt very welcome. On a four week holiday this was our favourite. The family were so helpful and pointed us in the right direction to see our first kangaroos and koalas... Very exciting. Great start to the Great Ocean Road.

Room Tip: Stay more than one night and enjoy it .
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Elizabeth F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2011

Very nice , well presented place to spend the weekend. Warm welcome. Good location & close to everything! Would love to stay again.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 0ff_again
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2011

Sue was a lovely host and very helpful and unobtrusive at all times. The room had everything we needed for a short stay, and we absolutely loved the immaculate bathroom with a big deep spa and yummy Natio products. We even used the BBQ on the balcony for dinner! I loved that there was a container full of sunflower seeds in the kitchen that we could use to lure the beautiful birds to our balcony. The space is very well fitted out and small details thought of. The only downside of this place is that the two private rooms are directly opposite one another, so awkward encounters with the other couple in the hallway are likely. The lovely lounge room with the log fire is also shared between both sets of guests, so it's not completely private as a couples' getaway. When having dinner in the shared lounge our window looked directly into the host's living space too, so there was a lot of curtain closing going on to maintain our privacy. Despite that, for location, service, value for money and quality, this place is absolutely wonderful. We will stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pseudee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2011

My husband and I have stayed in various accomodation in Lorne over the years of going back and forth. Around About Lorne is where we will be staying from now on! Sue & Darren were amazing hosts. They were helpful and full of information of what to do and see. Every little detail had been thought of. This place is just lovely and value for money! Our Studio was so comfortable and clean, not to mention quiet. A lovely spa bathroom as well as a cosy sitting room just down the stairs for guests. The siiting room/lounge area is a great place to enjoy a glass of wine in front of the fireplace or curl up on a sofa and read a good book. We were welcomed and made to feel comfortable to bring our dog, Elvin. Elvin loved his stay too! Highly recommend!!!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Elvin_Adelaide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2010

The studio rooms are spacious and bright and immaculately clean. There is a bbq and outdoor seating for each studio (and a microwave, but no hob). The hosts are extremely friendly and helpful. The room had some great bonuses like an ipod dock and a DVD player. I'd definitely stay again.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Grandtourer2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
france and uk
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2009

Of all the people and all the places you could ever hope to experience this place has it all.
Australia on a spoon, good people, great hosts, great location away from the crowds, nature and bush at the window.
They write songs about places like this, 'give me a home...'

We loved our stay here and live our lives hoping to one day return, which we will because this places rocks. 5 star quality, so good we stayed for months.

Sal and Marcus

  • Stayed October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marcusandsally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lorne hotels
0.9 mi away
Grand Pacific Hotel Lorne
0.7 mi away
Lorne Coachman Inn
Lorne Coachman Inn
#8 of 9 in Lorne
3.5 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Sandridge
The Sandridge
#4 of 9 in Lorne
3.5 of 5 bubbles 157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Lorne Bay View
Lorne Bay View
#9 of 9 in Lorne
3.0 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
0.3 mi away
Lorne Hotel
Lorne Hotel
#6 of 9 in Lorne
3.0 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
0.6 mi away
Mantra Lorne
Mantra Lorne
#2 of 9 in Lorne
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Around About Lorne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Around About Lorne

Property: Around About Lorne
Address: 86 Otway St, Lorne, Victoria 3232, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Lorne
Amenities:
Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Lorne
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Two new privately ensuited studios, including luxury double bath spas, queen size beds, linens, towels, kitchenette. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Around About Lorne South Pacific

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing