We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay”
Review of Chatby Lane Lorne

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Chatby Lane Lorne
Ranked #1 of 22 Specialty Lodging in Lorne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 19, 2014

Great boutique establishment. Not too big or impersonal. Tucked away in quiet, tree lined area of Lorne. On a hill, overlooking the beach and inlet. Spacious, clean rooms / bathrooms with all the usual facilities one needs for a comfortable stay. Quality bedding & range of pillows. Recommended for couples, as kids would detract from the serenity of the place. Friendly & helpful hosts. Provided a quality bottle of wine on our arrival to kick off our stay. Walking distance to beach and all Lorne attractions such as cafes & restaurants. Only 90 minutes from Melbourne, so definitely worth a trip for a few days.

Room Tip: Some rooms face water, others the gardens. Please let the hosts know your preference.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (210)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

98 - 104 of 210 reviews

Reviewed May 27, 2014

Beautiful spotlessly clean rooms, quiet and with a lovely outlook onto trees. The owners do all they can to help you and are delightful. It is a short drive to the shops or you can walk down the tree lined hills and along the foreshore. Best accommodation in our trip

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wendy p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2014

What a nice place this is! Huge rooms and well equipped. It is located about one kilometre out of town, up the hill a bit amongst the trees. We stayed just one night. Breakfast was included and was excellent with good muesli and great coffee. Bed was exceptionately comfortable. Our host, Doug, was friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HelenG724
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2014

We found this accommodation courtesy of the Lorne tourist information office whilst touring the Great Ocean Road. It was without doubt the best accommodation we had during our month in Victoria. Our ground floor room had 2 windows looking out partially over the ocean and a small balcony, a vey smart bathroom and more than adequate kitchen area. The bed and linens along with the towels were top notch as was the thoughtfully presented breakfast delivered to our room at a time to suit us. We thoroughly recommend this property.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WirralGlobetrotters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2014

This apartment was lovely,very quiet and well appointed
Huge bathroom with a double spa bath
Karen was very welcoming and knowledgeable
Spotlessly clean and warm
The balcony was nice with a small sea view
A little out of town but walkable

Room Tip: The upstairs apartment is ideal for a longer stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jadmerv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2014

Karen was warm and welcoming and offered us an upgrade to a larger room with a balcony that was available - I'm so pleased we took her up on the offer and at such a good rate - it was wonderful to sit there and watch the cockatoos and see the sea.

The room was huge and newly furnished and very clean and the bed was really comfortable.

A selection of magazines was available to read, there was plenty of parking space and breakfast was brought to your room.

It was a quiet place - we didn't hear anyone in other rooms and no children are allowed to stay which was nice.

The only downside was that guests are allowed to smoke outside so I had to leave the balcony when other guests lit up as the smoke drifted across.

I loved Lorne and really wished that I had been able to stay for more than one night there in such a wonderful apartment.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank voyager50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2014

I stayed in the spa apartment for a few nights, and overall I was happy with it. The apartment was huge and spotlessly clean. There was a large balcony with some ocean views, though mostly just of other houses. It was well appointed, especially the full kitchen. The bed was very comfortable. I also found the staff (owners?) to be very friendly and helpful.

But, this isn't really "luxury" accommodation, which it is promoted as. It has a cheap feel, a bit like a motel room. If it as a little less expensive or a little bit "nicer" it would be fantastic.

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms lack privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cortunefookie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lorne hotels
1.3 mi away
Grand Pacific Hotel Lorne
0.8 mi away
The Sandridge
The Sandridge
#4 of 9 in Lorne
174 reviews
0.4 mi away
Lorne Coachman Inn
Lorne Coachman Inn
#8 of 9 in Lorne
202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Lorne Hotel
Lorne Hotel
#7 of 9 in Lorne
246 reviews
0.9 mi away
Lorne Bay View
Lorne Bay View
#9 of 9 in Lorne
151 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mantra Lorne
Mantra Lorne
#3 of 9 in Lorne
3,128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chatby Lane Lorne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chatby Lane Lorne

Address: 4 Howard St, Lorne, Victoria 3232, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Lorne
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 22 Specialty Lodging in Lorne
Price Range: $111 - $226 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Chatby Lane Lorne 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chatby Lane is affordable luxury boutique accommodation. Reward yourself and stay in one of our spa apartments or deluxe studios with ocean views and double spas available. Chatby Lane, a place to unwind and discover the simple luxuries of life... a walk along the beach, a long lazy breakfast, time spent with your partner or simply experience the peace, privacy and informal ambience of our boutique accommodation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Chatby Lane Lorne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chatby Lane Lorne South Pacific

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing