We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Chatby Lane Apartments
Ranked #1 of 22 Specialty Lodging in Lorne
Certificate of Excellence
Adelaide, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic”
Reviewed May 11, 2013

My husband and I have just returned home from a 3 night stay! We originally booked for the B & B, but upon arrival were upgraded to 1 bedroom spa apartment. The accommodation and surroundings were fantastic, the view to die for and the birds were gorgeous. Doug and Karen were extremely welcoming and available. We had continental breakfast each morning that was beautifully presented and generous. What we loved were the special touches, Doug and Karen certainly know what "Hospitality" is and take their business very seriously. Thank you for a wonderful stay. Gabrielle and Stephen.

Room Tip: Upstairs had an amazing view through the gum trees. Not sure about ground level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brelly77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    126
    60
    15
    1
    1
See reviews for
3
168
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2013

My partner and I stayed here for two nights as part of our tour of the Great Ocean Road.

The flats are in a residential area of Lorne and well away from the main street, thankfully, so we could escape the touristy bars and surf shops.

The owners were very friendly and seemed happy to help. Our room was a large studio-style flat with a dining table, a kitchenette, a fridge and a big, comfy bed. We did a supermarket shop one day and bought fish and chips the other so didn't really cook, though.

The jacuzzi-style bath was a novelty and the room was quiet, apart from when we had a dozen or so parakeets on our balcony, which was fun to look at but probably like something from Hitchcock's The Birds for anyone who doesn't like them!

There was a view of the sea and the beach in the distance and we'd recommend this hotel as a good place to stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevinonthesofa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2013

We stayed in the ground floor B&B (not the upstairs luxury rooms) and were pleasantly surprised at how nice it was. Even a peep of the sea.Very friendly hosts - told us all the places to go in the area. Very quiet location - a little away from the main centre of town. Lovely breakfast.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christina H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2013

My girlfriend and I broke journey in Lorne on our GoR trip from Adelaide to Melbourne. Lorne is a beautiful little town and Chatby Lane apts helped us discover that. They are clean, the room for two was a good size and they are tucked away in a cute residential spot, so pin drop silence at night, no cars driving by (not that Lorne really has that problem!). A nice and easy 10min walk from the main strip it's well located. Free wifi helped us plan on onward journey too! The shower was amazing, like showering under a warm waterfall. The staff was so friendly as well. The gentleman that let us in made us feel so welcome and at home, I love country-folk. The morning continental breakfast was cute and brought to our door at a time of our choosing. Toast, juice, cereal, coffee and tea were all provided with jams and peanut butter. A lovely place and would stay here again. A bit pricey but I think that was the going rate for most places in Lorne, so given this and a standard hotel I'd choose the personalised touch of Chatby lane 10/10 times.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mathiar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2013

We used this B&B for one night and choose the B&B room on the ground floor. It was well presented and furnished providing all we required. Very clean with plenty of blankets and towels.
A standard continental breakfast was supplied and delivered to the room. More than enough to start the day on. Friendly hosts who assisted with all our inquiries. Its suburban location was great for a restful nights sleep.

Room Tip: The B&B room is great for a one night stay. If it was longer then one of the rooms with a view w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FinlayBanks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coolangatta, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2013

Room was very basic, queen size bed, nothing flash. Spa bath, but spas are over-rated without a view. On bottom level, so no privacy. Breakfast basic but enjoyable enough. Had more fun staying elsewhere. A little bit far out of town, unless you drive, or feel like walking. Nothing bad, just nothing special.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mantisalive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2013

We picked this property because of its excellent reviews on tripadvisor and were not disappointed. We stayed in the B&B room (motel style) and had an extremely peaceful night's sleep. The room suited us fine for our one night stay and it was spotlessly clean with extra towels and blankets etc. Continental breakfast was included in our rate which saved the hassle of purchasing supplies and both Doug and Karen were very friendly. The position is also lovely in a quiet residential area away from the hustle and bustle of the main road.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank coops49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lorne hotels
1.3 mi away
Grand Pacific Hotel Lorne
0.8 mi away
The Sandridge
The Sandridge
#4 of 9 in Lorne
170 reviews
0.4 mi away
Lorne Coachman Inn
Lorne Coachman Inn
#8 of 9 in Lorne
197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Lorne Hotel
Lorne Hotel
#5 of 9 in Lorne
230 reviews
0.9 mi away
Lorne Bay View
Lorne Bay View
#9 of 9 in Lorne
149 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mantra Lorne
Mantra Lorne
#2 of 9 in Lorne
2,738 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chatby Lane Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chatby Lane Apartments

Property: Chatby Lane Apartments
Address: 4 Howard St, Lorne, Victoria 3232, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Lorne
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 22 Specialty Lodging in Lorne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Chatby Lane Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chatby Lane is affordable luxury boutique accommodation. Reward yourself and stay in one of our luxury apartments or deluxe studio suites with ocean views and double spas available. Chatby Lane, a place to unwind and discover the simple luxuries of life... a walk along the beach, a long lazy breakfast, time spent with your partner or simply experience the peace, privacy and informal ambience of our boutique accommodation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your Chatby Lane Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chatby Lane Apartments Lorne, South Pacific

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing