We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it!”
Review of La Perouse Lorne

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
La Perouse Lorne
Ranked #1 of 8 Lorne B&B and Inns
Reviewed January 12, 2012

I always take my sister away somewhere when I come and stay with her. This time we chose Lorne and la Perouse. We loved it. It was comfy and pretty and we really appreciated the personal attention we received from Laurel. She had so many ideas and her energy was infectious. We did a great walk and ended up at Qdos gallery and cafe (which we can also recommend). We didn't mind the walk up the hill at all - even in the rain. You can't have a great view if you don't live on a hill! Can really recommend this lovely place. Thanks Laurel and Sue.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SandraN49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (114)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

63 - 69 of 114 reviews

Reviewed January 11, 2012

Thank you to Laurel and Sue for providing a very comfortable place to stay. The room was well appointed; breakfast was good and Laurel's and Sue's recommendations for local dining and other attractions were very helpful. We look forward to returning.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MelbAustTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2011

This is a divine place to stay to add a touch of romance to your life. Every aspect of La Perouse has so much attention to detail and the service is outstanding!

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank j058
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2011

Great central spot, lovely room, comfy beds and excellent service from Laurel (esp her home-made croissants).

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wendy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2011

We were frazzled, we were overtired, we were bickering as couples do when a break is sorely needed! W
We arrived - it was like turning a page to the bit where you are taken in and all troubles soothed away.
Friendliness, the studio room - we emerged nearly whole. All that you could want - beautiful bath, bed, views ... space.
Breakfast and information.
They said 'unrivalled luxury in Lorne" - we have been travelling that beautiful coast road for years - absolutely true!!
Thank you to Laurel for looking after us so well.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Service
Thank karen h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2011

Just returned from a weekend at La Perouse.
Good points
Very welcoming hosts, gorgeous bed linen and interesting breakfast.
Very quiet and you will get a great nights sleep. WIFI great reception.
Toiletries lovely and big fluffy towels
only a 5 min walk downhill to Lorne main street, then a 10 min uphill hike to get back

Minor negatives
If you stay in the cottage be aware the bath is sunk into the floor and it doesnt have a door off the bedroom, if you have a wandering partner in the night trying to find the loo you may end up falling into the bath! Also no one locks doors in Lorne, so again be aware when leaving the cottage that you will need to be a picklock to re-enter if you have locked the door.
The fireplace is a lovely olde worlde touch in the cottage but is for looks only, shame that would have been lovely working.
Be aware that to reach the cottage you need to walk down some uneven stepping stones so not a good room to choose if you are unsteady on your feet.

All in all an ok B&B but I wouldnt say it is unrivalled luxury. The overall rating takes into account the price of the cottage and facilities in the room.

Restaurants in Lorne
After reading many reviews on Tripadvisor and Urban Spoon we decided to go for
The Ovenhouse - ok but not great and service was average.
The Maple Tree - Amazing food, service and ambience, glad we booked as we wouldnt have got in and many diners were turned away. They won the Golden plate 2010 and are finalists for 2011. Amazing specials and the chef even brought us a tasting plate of one of his new dishes to find out what we thought about the flavour matching!!!!

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BazzaCrewe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2011

From the moment we opened the front door of our our little cottage, we knew we had found a special place..
The fresh smell of the flowers placed on the bedside table mixed with the perfumed reed diffusers was inviting..
The room was immaculate and we instantly felt at home..A hot cup of tea on the balcony overlooking the ocean and down the hill to the beautiful country town of Lorne..
Our host was warm & generous and full of interesting tales of recent tripsabroad.We sat for hours over a delicious french breakfast chatting and swapping stories...We will be back again very soon..

Room Tip: We loved the seperate cottage
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 645karon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lorne hotels
0.9 mi away
Grand Pacific Hotel Lorne
0.2 mi away
The Sandridge
The Sandridge
#4 of 9 in Lorne
174 reviews
0.5 mi away
Lorne Coachman Inn
Lorne Coachman Inn
#8 of 9 in Lorne
201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Lorne Hotel
Lorne Hotel
#5 of 9 in Lorne
240 reviews
0.3 mi away
Lorne Bay View
Lorne Bay View
#9 of 9 in Lorne
151 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mantra Lorne
Mantra Lorne
#3 of 9 in Lorne
3,073 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Perouse Lorne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Perouse Lorne

Address: 26a William St, Lorne, Victoria 3232, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Lorne
Amenities:
Free Parking Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Lorne
Price Range: $260 - $296 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — La Perouse Lorne 4.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unrivalled luxury in the heart of Lorne, La Perouse Bed & Breakfast boasts a balcony view of some of Victoria’s most scenic native landscape and rugged coastline. Whilst all rooms elegantly retain their past splendor, they are conveniently equipped with all the modern day comforts such as ensuites. Enjoy breakfast Parisian style in our cafe before taking a moment to discover the nearby Restaurants and cafes or maybe just a relaxing afternoon by the beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your La Perouse Lorne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Perouse Lorne Hotel Lorne
La Perouse Lorne South Pacific

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing