We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a return visit”
Review of Estivo Restuarant

Estivo Restuarant
Ranked #34 of 91 Restaurants in Kew
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Not just one cuisine - it has a bit of everything.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
254 reviews
179 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“What a return visit”
Reviewed September 28, 2013

Decided to re-visit this restaurant and it was better than before. The staff were welcoming and made sure you were going to enjoy the night. We dined on a Saturday night and it was booked out, a good sign. Seated very quickly and allowed to settle in without pressure, water glasses filled and a few minutes later the wine list arrived , which was very good.
We had a filet mignon and a butterfish which were both excellent. They came with vegetables but we had a salad as well to share. We also shared a chocolate fondant , great!!!
Our waitress Stef, was young but very attentive to us without intruding in to our night. We both left with smiles on our faces and will most certainly go back. It is a warm place with warm people running it. Well done, thank you.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank nbrown1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    27
    11
    11
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
214 reviews
114 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Excellent Restaurant in the Heart of Kew”
Reviewed September 23, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I joined some friends for dinner at this restaurant on Saturday night and I was impressed from the moment we walked in the door. The atmosphere was bright and welcoming, the staff attentive without being intrusive. During the night we chatted to the staff and we were surprised to hear that the restaurant had been there for 10 years, but had several owners and two chefs. The menu offered something for everyone, I had the crispy skinned duck, my wife butterfish both meals were excellent with portion sizes just right. For dessert creme brûlée. All in all a good night. Now for a tip: Tues, Wednesday & Thursday night you bring your own bottle of wine with no corkage, the restaurant is trying to get folks to come and try it. We will definitely be back

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank paulcardio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Nice to revisit.”
Reviewed August 22, 2013

My husband and I enjoyed a pleasant evening at this restaurant again. Since my last visit ,new owners including new chef and service staff run this venue. The service was very attentive, and nothing seemed to be too much trouble. Extra bread was offered when appropriate, and service was seamless. We were however disappointed with our steaks on this occasion, normally this is one of the best dishes on the menu. On mentioning this, the steaks were immediately removed and an alternative was offered without any problem. Next, the choice of cheese came with ample fruit and crackers, and the panna cotta with fresh summer berries was a delight. This is also one of the few places that serves genuinely good decaffeinated coffee.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Roswitha357
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Used to be great”
Reviewed June 24, 2013

We used to really enjoy dining at Estivo however our last visit was a real disappointment. Service and food quality have really taken a dive since it was taken over by new owners.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LostKnights
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“No longer good value”
Reviewed May 26, 2013

This used to be a great restaurant for special occasions, pricey, but food always had a knockout wow factor. Unfortunately things appear to have changed. Our pork belly was just an uninteresting lump of meat, the fish nothing special. Service was pleasant, but without a full restaurant the ambiance has slipped. A real shame.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank elinmac1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Estivo Restuarant also viewed

 
Kew, Boroondara
 
Kew, Boroondara
 

Been to Estivo Restuarant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing