We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Classy casual”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of QPO Restaurant

QPO Restaurant
Reserve with
QPO Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #3 of 89 Restaurants in Kew
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Special occasions, Large groups, Families with children, Business meetings
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Brunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: QPO is located at 186 High St, Kew. We are open 7 days a week for breakfast lunch & dinner. Two private function rooms are available for hire.
Albury, Australia
Level Contributor
98 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Classy casual”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013

The food was simple but well done, service was friendly and efficient and we really enjoyed the atmosphere and decor - classy casual. We sat inside but with a view to the road and the sunset even! Definitely recommended.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Bob H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    63
    11
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Good breakfast selection”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2013

Really enjoyed brunch here. Good service, good range of meal options for everyone, and we felt welcome to stay and chat over a second coffee after our meal. No staff trying to push us out the door.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank KristinaWasa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
135 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Simple Surrounds, Sensible Menu, Good Value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2012

The QPO restaurant has been sitting high above the junction of High Street and Cotham Roads in Kew, in the fine old Post Office building, for more years than I can remember. We had booked for a jazz gig at the Kew Courthouse, which is next door, so QPO was the ideal place on a wet evening.
The staff were friendly and efficient. The menu is sensible, a limited number of interesting dishes are offered. We shared a Calamari entree that was unusual in that the Calamari was served in flat strips, but it was very tasty, almost melted in the mouth. We both chose Lamb Shanks for our main course—it seemed the perfect chose given the wintery conditions. The classic shanks were served on mashed potato, the delicious meat fell from the bone as you would expect. I found a four year old Toolangi Shiraz on the wine list for $32 a bottle. It proved to be the ideal accompaniment to the lamb.
The prices were sensible with the entrée at $16 and the mains at $23. This restaurant limits what it tries to do, but does what it does well.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank pierrekiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Level Contributor
35 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“great breakfast”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2012

We arrived just after opening on saturday morning and we weren't the first ones there. Staff were friendly and timely. The service and the meal were very good and we would recommend this venue.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank narelleh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“No wonder it was empty, terrible service, very rude and lazy staff!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2012 via mobile

Awful atmosphere, 2 other customers there and staff were lazy and rude!!! Chatting to each other and not serving customers. Shame on you. Poor owner! No wonder your sales in the cafe are down hey!! Empty place, empty hearts, empty heads!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank natrosewood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed QPO Restaurant also viewed

Camberwell, Greater Melbourne
Melbourne, Victoria
 
Camberwell, Greater Melbourne
Melbourne, Victoria
 

Been to QPO Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing