We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for families”
Review of Quest Kew

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Quest Kew
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Kew
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 22, 2013

Our friends booked here because of its convenient location - close to shops, transport and friends. There is a Woolworths supermarket and bottle shop almost next door. It was an easy ride by train to the MCG, city, etc.

It's a good place to stay for families. The apartments are spacious and it's nice to have the pool and barbecue area. Each apartment has a well-equipped kitchen.

The air conditioning worked OK in our apartment but not in our friends' apartment and so it was too hot for them (Christmas time). They really need to fix this.

The site slopes gently down from street level and so there are several steps down - which makes it harder for strollers and prams.

They provide WiFi internet connection but I found the signal was poor and unreliable.

The apartments are clean and modern. Overall, a pleasant place to stay.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sales_kew, Manager at Quest Kew, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2013

SB488,

Thank you for your honest and most valued feedback in respect to your recent stay and I would like to take this opportunity to respond to some of the comments.

As you can imaging in Melbourne during the summer, the extreme heat can sometimes overload air-conditioners, we encourage all guests to inform reception staff of any maintenance concerns so that we can promptly rectify the matter.

We are always happy to take requests for specifics such as ground floor apartments to minimize the amount of stairs for guests.

All of us hope to see you back at Quest Kew in the future. Again, thank you for your feedback

Leah Millar
Business Development Executive for Quest Kew Serviced Apartments

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (199)
There are newer reviews for Quest Kew
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

178 - 184 of 199 reviews

Reviewed December 7, 2012

we chose quest on kew for our second time for our stay in melbourne as we had enjoyed this hotel 18 months ago ,, and oh what a differance 18 months make , , have have never heard of a $50 incidental charge being added to the bill, for refund 3 to 4 days after your stay , if in the event you accidently break a plate of cup etc , some of the hotplates didnt work ,bathrooms were dirty and had black hair throughout ,TV remote didnt work ,taped toghether with plastic tape , my wife used the hair dryer and it kept switicing off ,upon inspection it ws full of lint ,you would think all items in the rooms are cleaned after previous use , we were woke every morning to a randam alarm somewere else in the building forunatly we are early risers but it was still going after returning from our morning walk , there was not even a surrated knife to cut a steak or loaf of bread , Kew is a very handy place to stay if you want to get out and about in melbournes fringe and outer suburbs the position and location were good , its very handy for trams , some shopping and restaraunts etc , our front door door was missing a door closers and there must have been others as you could here doors slamming contiuallly especially in the early evenings and mornings when other Guest were coming back to the complex . i coundt beleive the differance in such a short amount of time in this complex dont know whats gone wrong here but the lack of attention to detail is definatly gone you dont expect all bells and whistles for $225 a night but if i want to stay in a cheap dirty apartment I can pay a lot less than $225 a night we wont be back a third time

Room Tip: mabe a second floor apartment might limit the noise of the baging doors from people going in and out
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sandersonsAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leah-M-Q, Manager at Quest Kew, responded to this reviewResponded December 18, 2012

Firstly, let me thank you for choosing to stay with us during your recent trip to Kew, and I’d like to take this opportunity to address the concerns you've mentioned.

I can assure you that a security bond is standard across accommodation providers all over Australia and the security bond is not a direct charge from your account, it is a freeze on a credit card in case of any incidentals such as car parking, internet, etc are used during a guests stay.
In relation to your concerns about the apartment you stayed in, our policy is that all apartments are to be checked thoroughly before a guest’s arrival to ensure that they are cleaned and maintained to our own high standards. We sincerely apologise that on this particular occasion our standards were not met.

As to the slamming door and the random alarm, we encourage all guests to inform reception staff as soon as possible so that we can attend to the matter efficiently to ensure that all our guests enjoy a comfortable stay.

The lack of attention to detail that you mentioned has been addressed with all staff and we have implemented new training methods to ensure the above concerns are a once off. If you decide to return to Quest Kew, we hope to show you that the exceptional housekeeping standards we hold ourselves too are passed onto every guest that stays with us.

Quest Kew’s goal and my person goal are to ensure every guest feels like Quest Kew is a home away from home when travelling.

Once again we thank you for sharing your experiences and hope you will consider returning for a more satisfactory stay.

Leah Millar
Business Development Executive for Quest Kew Serviced Apartments

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2012

The Good - Location, location, location. This property is in the middle of the Kew Junction area so walk out to shops, cafes, restaurants all within minutes. A Safeway supermarket next door and a few minutes walk to the sublime Leo's gourmet supermarket (duck through the the Safeway car park) Also catch a tram or a bus to the city. However, its very, very quiet - wonderful!

The apartment itself was spacious and very clean. Bed average comfort level, pillow predictably awful (most places are these days). Pool and Barbeque area, undercover parking.

The Bad: The only fresh air was via French doors in main bedroom and lounge which opened onto a balcony. You couldnt really leave them open at night for security reasons. There was only split system airconditioning in the lounge, none in the bedrooms which means it became stuffy quickly. I wouldnt want to be here on a good hot Melbourne summer day! There is also no tvs in the bedrooms, only the lounge.

The VERY Ugly. The stairs and more stairs. This is not a place for the aged, infirm or women travelling alone unless they are built like a gorilla and can lug their bags up/down multiple flights of stairs. No elevators and no one to help. The property is multi level and it is a long and steep staircase down to the underground car park. There is nowhere to park at the top near reception without blocking the driveway and even then there are stairs to negotiate both outside to get to the various buildings and then inside.

Its sad beacuse overall I loved the quet yet central location. However I wouldnt return...my back is still complaining about carrying bags up/down a lot of stairs and summer is coming..no aircon in the bedrooms would be unbearable.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the ground floor - at least you wont have so many stairs but there will be some..
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SmartTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leah-M-Q, Manager at Quest Kew, responded to this reviewResponded December 18, 2012

Hi Smart Traveller,

Thank you for taking the time to provide your valued feedback for your recent stay with us.
I'd like to take this opportunity to respond to a few of the items you have listed in the above mentioned review.

It is fantastic to receive such positive comments about the cleanliness of our apartments, as we are always looking to better ourselves and exceed our own expectations.
We do only have a split system air-con in the lounge room, however each apartment is also stocked with pedal stool fans to provide extra comfort for your stay.

In relation to the stairs, we are more than happy to take requests for lower level apartments when making a booking.

We hope to get the chance to provide a more satisfactory stay in the future

Leah Millar
Business Development Executive for Quest Kew Serviced Apartments

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A quickbeds.com traveller
Melbourne East
11
Reviewed November 4, 2012

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Quickbeds
1  Thank A quickbeds.com traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Leah-M-Q, Manager at Quest Kew, responded to this reviewResponded December 19, 2012

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed November 3, 2012

We stayed 5 nights at Quest Kew. We had a 2 bedroom apartment which was perfect for our family as we have 4 members in our family. The apartment was clean and the location is perfect because it was close to Woolworths which was easier for us to buy some groceries and also was close to some eateries and shops. Overall a nice stay.

Room Tip: Better choose a ground floor unit as it is better to carry heavy things such as luggage, etc.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travelwizz12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leah-M-Q, Manager at Quest Kew, responded to this reviewResponded December 18, 2012

Travelwiz12,

Thank you for taking the time in providing a review and it is great to know your stay was enjoyable.

We sincerely hope we get an opportunity to accommodate you again.

Leah Millar
Business Development Executive for Quest Kew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2012

We stayed 2 nights at this apartment complex. We had a 3 bedroom apartment. The two upstairs bedrooms were pretty big, the one downstairs was pretty compact, but was fine. The overall layout of the apartment was good. The main bedroom had a bathroom. The apartment was clean. Parking was at an extra fee, which is a little disappointing. Overall a good stay.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sbev7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leah-M-Q, Manager at Quest Kew, responded to this reviewResponded December 19, 2012

D8andS7,

it is always great to hear such positive feedback about our apartments. We hope to see you again soon at Quest Kew.

Leah Millar
Business Development Executive for Quest Kew Serviced Apartments

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2012

The place is clean and nice although may I suggest that you replace the coffee table and dining table or cover it as its an injustice to the place overall as it looks old. Also just that extra touch, a tv in the master bedroom is always a bonus

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Maria V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leah-M-Q, Manager at Quest Kew, responded to this reviewResponded December 19, 2012

Thank you for taking the time in providing a review and it is great to know your stay was enjoyable.

We sincerely hope we get an opportunity to accommodate you again.

Leah Millar
Business Development Executive for Quest Kew Serviced Apartments

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kew
0.2 mi away
Quality Suites Beaumont Kew
0.4 mi away
Best Western Premier Hotel 115 Kew
2.5 mi away
Quest Ivanhoe
Quest Ivanhoe
#1 of 1 in Ivanhoe
266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Amora Hotel Riverwalk Melbourne
2.4 mi away
Comfort Hotel East Melbourne
Comfort Hotel East Melbourne
#120 of 160 in Melbourne
116 reviews
4.2 mi away
Quest Mont Albert
Quest Mont Albert
#1 of 2 in Box Hill
358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quest Kew? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quest Kew

Address: 19 - 21 Walpole St, Kew, Boroondara, Victoria 3101, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Greater Melbourne > Boroondara > Kew
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Kew
Price Range: $133 - $286 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Quest Kew 4*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Travelling for work or play? Why stay in a city? Be different!!When only 6 km from the city is one of Melbourne most prestigious and influential suburbs and it's waiting for you.Centrally located at the Kew Junction, Quest Kew Serviced Apartments are surrounded by shopping, restaurants and cafes. With everything located at our doorstep, this Melbourne fringe suburb is the perfect answer to your travelling needs.All of our spacious well-appointed apartments come with a full kitchen, spacious lounge/dining area, private laundry and balcony for your comfort.The perfect "home away from home" is not as far away as you think ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Quest Kew reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing