We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Surprise Find!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Tropicana Motor Inn
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Cowes
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 1, 2013

We just needed a 1 night accommodation on Phillip Island at the last minute and I was lucky to find Tropicana Motor Inn. I didn't have high expectation given it's a Motor Inn and for the price I have to pay.

Check-in was a breeze as well as check-out (what a welcome difference from some stuffy hotels with form to fill and long queue to wait). Parking is right in front of your unit so no dragging of heavy luggage all over the place is necessary. No waiting for lifts either!

The room is big and clean though "old styled". It has its own charm though especially I like the bare wall which gave it a little uniqueness.

I would highly recommend it to anyone looking for a decent place to stay minus the 5 stars facilities and services. Sometimes a departure from one's usual expectations might not be too bad after all.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SeasonTraveller17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (229)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

162 - 168 of 229 reviews

Reviewed April 13, 2013

We visited during Easter break week and it was myself and my 11 year old. This room is an amazing location near all the attractions. There's also a very private beach right down the street that was really nice. I found the staff very helpful being that we were from out of the country. We were thinking about a vacation house but were glad that we chose the hotel since the front desk provided us with many tips in attending local attractions. The rooms were clean and adequate. The location is a bit noisy since the rooms open to the parking lot and there is no seal on the doors or anything which makes it very noisy when people come and go but there was little of that during times we were asleep. I would not count on the pool at all for entertainment. It was small, a bit dirty, freezing, and there were no chairs around it. This was a great room for family since there was a large bed and a small single size bed. I'm not sure this would be the location I'd choose for a romantic get-away.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Melody_L_1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2013

We stayed 2 nights here and it was pleasant enough. The twin headed shower was a bit odd, one dribbled and the other dribbled a bit more. The only light in the bathroom is by the door so the shower was dark when the curtain was across. The bed was acceptable but not massively comfortable, was dipped in the middle. The whole place is just a little tired but as a place to sleep its ok, quiet, plenty of coffee, a fridge and lots of local information. The staff were helpful too.
Just dont order a taxi to get you home from anywhere, they dont turn up.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hollergrafik01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013

We were there for 3d2n, and we were offered a free upgrade to a cottage opposite this inn.

The name was Philip Island Cottages and instead of just a queen room, we also had a kitchen area fully equipped with utensils and cooking ware.

We are truly happy with our stay, and hoped that we have stayed longer. Thank you again to the management of this lovely accommodation.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jasmine L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013

During a trip to Phillip Island we searched for a place to stay after the Penguin Parade. We found this very enjoyable Motel, situated few minutes from Cowes beach. The queen room we had was extremely spacious and clean, located away from the road so no problem of night noises. Owners very friendly and helpul. We stayed so well that we continued our stay also for a second night. The only negative point is the lack of free wifi; the paid service was not even available in our room (connection very weak). Suggested choice for Phillip Island.

Room Tip: Try to have a room away from the main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SilkDragonfly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2013

We stayed in a spa suite which was spacious and clean. The motel was very quiet as there was no disturbance from other guests or from passing traffic.

There is a small outside pool and BBQ area.

The staff was friendly and helpful in getting my internet connection working

Room Tip: Rooms at the rear of the property are probably best, though the motel is located in a quiet area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank allanalderson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2013

Only managed to stay one night would have liked more nights on Phillip Island. Large room fully equiped with spa bath.very comfortable and quiet. Unusually exposed brickwork walls kept the room cool. Small but pleasant outdoor pool. What makes this hotel different, is Jim the owner who is most friendly, helpful and courteous both on arrival and departure.

Room Tip: go for the larger room with a spa bath.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HolidayfanDerbyshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cowes hotels
0.4 mi away
North Pier Hotel
North Pier Hotel
#10 of 11 in Cowes
38 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Waves Apartments
The Waves Apartments
#4 of 11 in Cowes
232 reviews
0.4 mi away
Coachman Motel
Coachman Motel
#7 of 11 in Cowes
178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Castle Villa by the Sea
0.5 mi away
Comfort Resort Kaloha
0.6 mi away
Seahorse Motel
Seahorse Motel
#2 of 11 in Cowes
246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tropicana Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tropicana Motor Inn

Address: 22-26 Osbourne Ave, Cowes, Phillip Island, Victoria 3922, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Phillip Island > Cowes
Amenities:
Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Cowes
Price Range: $98 - $176 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tropicana Motor Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Tropicana Motor Inn provides superb Phillip Island accommodation centrally located in a quiet area of Cowes, Phillip Island. Being only minutes walk to the beach, restaurants and great shopping we are your perfect Phillip Island destination. We cater for groups with a Dinner Bed and Breakfast packages available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your Tropicana Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tropicana Motor Inn Phillip Island/Cowes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing