We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“charming” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holmwood Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Holmwood Guesthouse
Ranked #2 of 10 Cowes B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level Contributor
57 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“charming”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2013

We stayed here for one night only, to see the pinguins. On hindsight we felt that we should have stayed another night as the island has much more to offer than "just" pinguins.
We liked the B&B and the host: the whole atmosphere was welcoming and nice. The room was nice and comfortable. The location was fine: close to the sea ant to the restaurants.
The enormous trees along the roads of Cowes were beautiful and impressive.
The pinguins were nice. It was a beautiful experience although it was cold and stormy. We put at least three layers of clothings on... Take the pinguin plus arrangement: better sights and more pinguins!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank harrielux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    124
    15
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
20
89
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
49 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2013

We made our booking through a tour operator and as we were in each place of just 1 or 2 nights we did not look into the accommodation until after booking. When I looked at the old review of Holmwood I was slightly worried about what we had let ourselves in for. But I looked again on TA a month before travelling and it had changed hands and things looked like they had changed drastically.
Holmwood was the last of 9 stops in Australia and IT WAS THE BEST. The house was superbly decorated and all the little details had been thought about. We run a B&B in the UK so notice these things.
The owner Jill who greeted us was a lovely friendly lady who was very informative about local attractions and restaurants. She couldn’t do enough to make our stay comfortable. It was actually our wedding anniversary whilst we were there and on the afternoon we returned to our room to sit on the veranda to enjoy a bottle of wine that we had brought and we were given a bottle of Champagne to celebrate our anniversary.
We really loved Holmwood and if we ever make it back to Aus we WILL be returning.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelCouple81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2013

Arrived after our 2 hour drive from Melbourne to a warm welcome to this really lovely B & B. Our garden room was beautifully decorated, fabulous furnishing chosen with superb taste by owner Jill. Top quality bed linen, wonderfully comfortable bed. Tea & coffee homemade cookies and fresh milk in room fridge, flatscreen TV and airconditioned. Every detail perfect and then comes the morning, daily news papers, fabulous brekky with options of fresh fruits, stewed fruits plus piping hot eggs, tomatoes, & mushrooms served on warmed plates. Jill the owner and creater of this little piece of paradisei is an absolute joy, we wish her only the best for her new venture.

Room Tip: We viewed 3 couples rooms, all beautiful and great positions. In addition Jill also has 3 cottages...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 311Jane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2013

Our host Jason welcomed us upon arrival and immediately knew we found THE place on Phillip Island. The entire guest house has been completed renovated and updated. We enjoyed a beautiful self-contained cottage while our friends had a big, bright comfy room in the main house. Walking distance to the beach. Arrangements were made for public shuttle to pick up/drop off directly at our B & B to view the Parade of the Penguins. Made to order gourmet breakfast could be taken inside the air-conditioned dining area or outside on a lovely garden porch. THANK YOU to Jason and Judy for making our stay so relaxing. If it weren't so far from Connecticut, USA, we would be there this weekend.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chuz2cruz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2013

Recently stayed at Holmwood Guesthouse on Phillip Island. Quite simply a fabulous B&B set in a quiet and idyllic location yet close to the beach and main strip of restaurants and cafes. Holmwood is beautifully refurbished guesthouse with spacious and well-appointed rooms and great decor. The lounge and dining room area are also lovely and cosy. The food was absolutely sumptuous. The owners did their utmost to ensure our stay was pleasurable and memorable. This a great place for that ideal weekend away or holiday retreat. One of the best B&B places we have stayed and can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Renette F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2012

This stunningly renovated guest house has lovely large and comfortable rooms, all with en suite. There is also a lovely lounge and bright sunny breakfast area. My room looked out onto the glorious cottage garden, and had a lovely old fashioned verandah. It's quiet and peaceful and the food was fantastic. Just 2 minutes to Cowes beach you can walk for miles in either direction, but you are away from all the busyness and noise of the shopping area, and it's such a peaceful place to stay when enjoying the attractions of Phillip Island.
The hosts are very friendly and welcoming and can't do enough for you to make your stay the best it can be.

Room Tip: There are 3 rooms in the original house, or self contained cottages behind the house. All of them of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rhonda J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2012

Holmwood's furnishing and decor is simply outstanding. It immediately struck us as a home from home, a place we could relax, unwind and pause, whilst soaking up the beauty of the island. The flowery garden and wooden porches made sitting in nature all the more enjoyable, especially whilst enjoying delicious home baked tarts or a glass of their fine selection of wines.

The accommodation is simply superb. Our room was beautifully appointed and could easily qualify as a decor prize winner in a Vogue competition.

We also viewed the three guest cottages which were beautifully appointed with a kitchenette and barbeque to accommodate two adults and two children.

Our appreciation of quality home cooking increases when travelling, and again, we were delighted with an array of delicious open sandwiches for lunch and perfectly cooked salmon and salads for dinner.

Jill, the owner, is a seasoned traveller and we found her perspective on what to do and see on the island very helpful.

We have already recommended Holmwood to a number of our friends and will certainly continue to suggest this tranquil haven as a home from home to anyone intending to visit Phillip Island.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnTheCurious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holmwood, Owner at Holmwood Guesthouse, responded to this review, December 8, 2012
John,

We appreciate your taking the time to write about your recent experience at Holmwood. Jill and I enjoyed your company and it was a pleasure to show you through the rest of the property beyond the guesthouse. The Spa Cottages that you inspected are a very attractive alternative to the main house, especially for couples wanting a romantic getaway. By choosing to stay for a couple of days, you were able to experience the best of Phillip Island's fabulous coastal walks which probably explains why you were ready to 'flop and pause' at the end of each day. Our private in-house dining is the perfect solution when you've had a big walk and it's great to read that you enjoyed our home style cooking.

Jason
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cowes
0.1 mi away
The Castle Villa by the Sea
0.0 mi away
Comfort Resort Kaloha
1.5 mi away
Ramada Resort Phillip Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Seahorse Motel
Seahorse Motel
#1 of 10 in Cowes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 211 reviews
1.2 mi away
Glen Isla House
Glen Isla House
#1 of 10 in Cowes
5.0 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
2.9 mi away
Seas The Day B&B
Seas The Day B&B
#1 of 4 in Ventnor
5.0 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holmwood Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holmwood Guesthouse

Property: Holmwood Guesthouse
Address: 37 Chapel St | (cnr Steele St), Cowes, Phillip Island, Victoria 3922, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Phillip Island > Cowes
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Cowes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Holmwood Guesthouse 4.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in a cottage garden in a quiet tree lined street, Holmwood Guesthouse is the perfect place to pause and explore the natural attractions of Phillip Island, offering a choice of Bed & Breakfast accommodation or self-contained Spa Cottages, less than two hours drive from Melbourne.Holmwood Guesthouse is a stylish boutique retreat with three elegantly appointed rooms and two luxurious self-contained Spa Cottages, all just a five minute stroll from the Cowes main swimming beach, cafes and shops and just a fifteen minute drive to the Penguin Parade, Moto Grand Prix Circuit, spectacular coastal walks and wineries. All accommodation options have ensuite bathrooms, television, heating/cooling, complimentary wi-fi and the Spa Cottages also have private courtyard gardens, verandahs, barbeques and wood fires in winter. Depending on the season, breakfast (included in the Guesthouse rooms tariff, or as an extra for our Spa Cottage guests) is served in the dining room near the open fire or on the sun deck. We are licensed, so drinks and local wines are available and for group bookings a special dinner menu can be arranged for a private dining experience. The menu is prepared fresh daily according to availability of produce and guests' preferences.Holmwood Guesthouse is suitable for couples, small families and groups up to 10-14. For travellers on a self paced, round-Australia driving holiday, Holmwood is an ideal place to stay a while, unwind, be pampered or left alone, catch up with the washing and take time to truly experience the unique attractions of Phillip Island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your Holmwood Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holmwood Guesthouse Phillip Island/Cowes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing