We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Large room, helpful staff, open windows”
Review of Seahorse Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Seahorse Motel
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Cowes
Certificate of Excellence
Montreal, QC
Level Contributor
63 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Large room, helpful staff, open windows”
Reviewed October 11, 2010

We spent 2 nights. Clean, comfortable, suite-like with double & single beds in back; single bed, sofa and kitchen & appliances in front. No barrier around shower so bathroom gets wet. For some reason staff left windows open each day (winter). Staff helped conveying status of lost luggage. Good location in Cowes. Recommend Philip I. Wildlife Park, Rhyll Wetland & Bird Sanctuary. Glad didn't pay for upgrade at Penguin Parade--best views from path leading back to main building anyway.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    105
    93
    14
    5
    4
See reviews for
70
104
7
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
sydney
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2010

When we went to this motel, our intentions were to stay for 5 nights. We ended up staying for one night then checked out. The motel staff was terribly rude and the breakfast was cold and i wouldnt recommend anyone staying here. You will get spoken to rudely for parking your car too close to the pathway and the attitude of the people running this place is just wrong. You cant attract customers with this kind of attitude.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank voulav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seahorse61, Owner at Seahorse Motel, responded to this review, July 14, 2010
I'm sorry your stay did not live up to your expectations. However, a few facts may assist readers in making up their own minds. Your booking was for 1 person. You arrived with 2 and argued about why you should tell us how many guests were staying. Pretty basic. Also the linguistics you used towards our female manager were inappropriate.

It gets better.

You then objected to the fact you could not smoke in the room or at the room entrance with the door open......pretty basic stuff. Then you take umbrage to being asked to move your car back as you had parked your vehicle six inches from the front of the room directly across the pathway, which made it unsafe for anyone walking past your room in the dark.

In relation to all these matters all requests were polite and respectful. The comfort and safety of all guests is our priority and standards will not be compromised for one. Even when that one guest threatens to damage our reputation by posting a bad review.

These reviews can be dangerous when they are not forwarded to management for a comment before being posted by Trip Advisor. Somehow the review system should be reviewed!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2010

Clean motel which was very close to town. Perfect location. Rooms were basic but spacious with everything you required. Nice BBQ area and kids play area. In a quiet street so great for no noise!

Would deff recommend others to stay and we ourselves would return again.

Thank you

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank REG123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2010

Seahorse Motel was good value for money. The rooms and property were spotless and the location was good for restaurants and for Penguin watching. No need to pay more when you are out of the room most of the day

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bouv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijijng
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed March 5, 2010

I stayed there in one night! No like the penguin parade with a little bit disappointed, this motel was very good! The facilities are clean and in order. The rooms were clean. The location is also convenient, just 10 min walk to the beach. Especially, the host was very hospitable, she even help to pay theCityLink fee, with was troublesome transaction to foreigner driver first time in Melbourne! Next time, I'll choost this motel again!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank air360
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fawkner
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2010

Stayed with friends for 2 days not a bad place it was o.k, but i got a call after a few hours i had left saying we had burn't the laminex on the bedside table and it would roughly cost $300 to fix but he would charge me $100, after sending a friend to see the damage the next day it was the size of a 20cent piece ( not even sure we did the damage) , we used a blanket on the grass and was told they had to get it cleaned ( that told us that they don't wash after people use the room). Please check the room with them before checkout it could be a very expensive stay like ours. Would not recomend or stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank actionfcb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seahorse61, Owner at Seahorse Motel, responded to this review, January 26, 2010
Dear O' Dear....the things we sometimes have to respond to. This booking was two 18 year old boys. They were nice boys, that's why we took them. Most hotels here would not have but they were polite and well behaved while here.

They had two girls end up staying in the room with them and paid the additional charge, but I defy anyone who thinks that damage caused to a property does not have to be paid for. The burn mark to the bed head was small but still needed repair, regardless of whether it was inflicted intentionally.

A spare blanket is for use by guests if they require it WITHIN the room....not to be used as a picnic blanket.

As a footnote these reviews are valuable tool for guests and operator's alike but can cause untold damage to the reputation of properties if they are used as an act of revenge. I would ask that people read between the lines here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2009

For about the last 6 years I have been travelling to Cowes for Melbourne Cup weekend. We usually stay 5 or so nights and because we book so far ahead we could stay anywhere but we always stay at the Seahorse. The Seahorse is really nicely in context with the lovely town that Cowes is. The comfortable rooms are serviced every day and left spotless. It has a huge barbeque area and you can book a room with or without a kitchen if you want to self cater. Otherwise it's a couple of mins walk to the beachfront restaurants / cafes / Pub and when you return, it is completely quiet when you want to retire. The owners, Brendan and Olga are terrific and know every inch of the town and can match you up to the kind of food and service you want. Would I recommend it to a friend - Yes. In fact I have, we now book 4 or 5 rooms each year. It is just really good value for money, unpretentious and in a great location.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OPTrav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cowes hotels
0.2 mi away
The Waves Apartments
The Waves Apartments
#4 of 10 in Cowes
226 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Continental Hotel Phillip Island
0.2 mi away
Coachman Motel
Coachman Motel
#7 of 10 in Cowes
172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Castle Villa by the Sea
0.1 mi away
Comfort Resort Kaloha
1.5 mi away
Ramada Resort Phillip Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seahorse Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seahorse Motel

Property: Seahorse Motel
Address: 29-31 Chapel St, Cowes, Phillip Island, Victoria 3922, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Phillip Island > Cowes
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Cowes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Seahorse Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your Seahorse Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seahorse Hotel Cowes
Seahorse Motel Cowes
Seahorse Motel Phillip Island/Cowes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing