We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never judge a book by it's cover!”
Review of Seahorse Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Seahorse Motel
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Cowes
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 29, 2013

Having stayed in a fairly poor motel in another part of Australia we were slightly sceptical about this and as we drove up were thinking "what on earth have we done?" But on entering the room we were much relieved to see the large clean and well presented accommodation. We had our 3 and 6 year old kids with us and had decided to stay on Phillip Island overnight as we were doing the penguins and were staying an hour away so wanted to avoid a really late night. We booked a 2 bedroom suite which consisted of a huge living room with a well equipped kitchen area, a shower room and 2 bedrooms, one with double, the other with a double and a single. There was also a sofa bed in the living room. There was a play area for the kids ideally suited to our younger ones ( for older kids a trampoline) which they were reluctant to leave! We could definitely have stayed here for longer and used it as a base for sightseeing in the area.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lizzy d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (255)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

201 - 207 of 255 reviews

Reviewed April 28, 2013

Stayed here for one night in one of the apartment rooms, Our room was extremely clean and spacious with a comfy king size bed. The lady at reception was really friendly and provided us with plenty of useful information about the island. Would recommend this hotel/motel to family's and couples alike.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MindyMills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2013

Stayed at the Seahorse for two nights. Had booked a motel room, but we're upgraded on arrival to a one bedroom apartment. Unfortunately we had very noisy neighbors who banged doors and spoke very loudly until 1.30am the first night, then 3.30am the second night, along with the sound of vomiting. I understand that the owners can't be held responsible for this, but the walls must be very thin. To give the owners credit, they did refund the third night we had booked, in full. Otherwise, the room was very clean, great location, just a short walk to the shops. I found the pillows to be quite hard.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RuthS529
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2013

The hosts could not do enough, it's refreshing to experience service.
Location, location, everything is within a short walking distance; Beach; Shops, Restaurants.
The rooms are spaces, everything worked, even had WiFi.
All up the SeaHorse is do in my books as the place to go back to when visiting Phillip Is.

Thanks guys
Moto GP / V8 nutter

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank prp854
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2013

We stayed in Room 8 and found out at 8.30 in the morning that just behind it is the motor that runs the ducted vacuum cleaner system. I initially thought the hairdryer had turned itself on (then off then on then off). Don't take room 8 or 9!

The room was quite clean but really heavily scented to the point where it permeated our clothes. Not unpleasant, just really strong. It's not a large room, and had a toaster, but no cutlery or plates, only cups, saucers and teaspoons. However the fridge had a wine rack in it and a couple of wine glasses! The reception is really well stocked with tourist info and the owner is very happy to have a chat and help with tourist info etc.

The owners obviously care about their motel, the garden areas are nice, paintwork in good condition, and there's a trampoline and playground. Unfortunately along with these come squeals, yelling and general loud stuff. And then there's the little dog some of the guests brought. There is a communal covered barbecue area, which is very family-oriented. Fortunately the noise stopped at night, so we did sleep okay. There are washing facilities available at a cost, and you can buy washing powder from reception.

The bed was firm, but I guess that's better than rolling together. The bathroom has been mildly renovated, with a new basin and glass shower doors. It doesn't look fantastic but it works. I'd ditch the plastic towel hooks above the toilet though. Probably better off behind the door, not over the toilet.

It's well located, a walk of several mins to the main street in Cowes, and the motel rooms are removed from the street (which is a very quiet street). The curtains blocked most of the light; as usual, you need to close the bathroom door to stop the light coming through, but in this case also to muffle the noise of the ducted vacuum system.

The small fridge was just at the end of the bed, but didn't make any noise through the night. That was great. Wish they would do away with the daggy old bedspreads though. In the morning I heard the lady next door sneeze, but that was the only sound we heard from other rooms.

There's a split system aircon unit, that was handy when the nights cooled down.

Overall, the room was pleasant enough, quiet enough, comfortable enough and well located. I would recommend it for families staying in a family unit because of the facilities, but probably wouldn't stay as a couple in the motel rooms.

I can't fault the efforts of the owner though. He's a very nice chap.

Room Tip: Don't stay in motel rooms 8 or 9 because they're close to the ducted vacuum system.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Longworths
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seahorse61, Manager at Seahorse Motel, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2013

Hello Longworths.

Thank you for your review. As discussed on the morning of your departure I will look at further sound proofing the vacuum unit. But in the mean time I have instructed our cleaners not to use the vacuum until 10.00am. Due to other reviews we do not use any air freshners in our rooms. The scent in our rooms would be the hospital grade cleaners we use, I will check with our cleaners that they do not over use these products. There are toasters in all of our rooms including the motel rooms for guests to use. The idea behind this in our motel rooms is that when we deliver a light breakfast to your room, you can at your lesuire cook your toast to have it nice and warm. With this will come the plates and knifes required. But we are more than happy to supply plates, bowls and cutlery upon request so you can look after yourselves.
We welcome families, couples, singles and groups. Yes I do agree with you that during the day when it is school holidays when you were here, some children do get a little bit excited.
I would like to clear up one comment and that is, the dogs you saw, they were stray from the street. These dogs were removed as soon as I noticed them.
Thank you for your tips for the bathroom, I have a refurbishment plan in place for the motel rooms this year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2012

My fiancé and I stayed at the Seahorse Motel in September 2012 and it was fantastic. The Managers were so welcoming and helpful, answering all our questions about local attractions. For example when I mentioned that we were heading to see the penguins that night they gave us garbage bags to sit on as the seats would be wet. The Room was clean and fresh, quiet, very comfortable and seeing it was miserable weather was nice and warm when we arrived. I would highly recommend the Seahorse to anyone thinking of visiting Phillip Island. Thank you to Management and Staff for making our stay so fantastic.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ruth V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2012

Visited for two nights in September with some friends. Quiet location within walking distance to shops and restaurants. Very friendly hosts who were happy to assist with dinner arrangements. Rooms need a bit of an update and did smell strongly of air freshener. Nice outdoor sitting area where we enjoyed happy hour.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank 29plymouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cowes hotels
0.2 mi away
The Waves Apartments
The Waves Apartments
#4 of 11 in Cowes
238 reviews
0.2 mi away
Coachman Motel
Coachman Motel
#7 of 11 in Cowes
180 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Castle Villa by the Sea
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Comfort Resort Kaloha
0.6 mi away
Tropicana Motor Inn
Tropicana Motor Inn
#3 of 11 in Cowes
240 reviews
1.5 mi away
Ramada Resort Phillip Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seahorse Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seahorse Motel

Address: 29-31 Chapel St, Cowes, Phillip Island, Victoria 3922, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Phillip Island > Cowes
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Cowes
Price Range: $90 - $137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Seahorse Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Seahorse Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seahorse Hotel Cowes
Seahorse Motel Cowes
Seahorse Motel Phillip Island/Cowes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing