We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Appalling.. happy fathers day .. yuk!!” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Koala Park

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Koala Park
Ranked #19 of 19 Specialty Lodging in Cowes
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Appalling.. happy fathers day .. yuk!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

Myself and my family stayed here..I called to book to be told 170 for byo .. ummm , okay or 220 for them to supply. I chose them to supply .. but supply what exactly?? The stench of sewerage was gut churning.. a toaster with no cutlery or plates .. 1 light bulb in a lamp, the tiny fridge wasnt even turned on .. the biscuits were so terrible not even the 5 yr old would eat them .. the gap under the door was big enough to let anything under it ..the bunk beds were so uncomfortable my children got sore backs and I paid 220 in advance for this .. its advertised as a resort .. from 88 to 180 per night .. ummmm, i paid 220!!! its certainly nothing like anything else that I have ever stayed in.. ever!! The sewerage stench is still up my nose and its been 3 days .. I will never be staying there again and I will certainly not be recommending this appalling excuse of a resort to anyone ..220 bucks.. I should kick myself very VERY hard for wasting my precious extremely hard earned money .. never ever again!!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bronsands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobynA, Owner at Koala Park, responded to this review, September 14, 2013
We are very concerned about your comments regarding your stay, and only wish that these issues had been brought to our attention whilst you were here, so we could have provided a resolution. There evidently was a sewerage problem with a neighbouring property, and of course these things never happen at a good time! With regards to the tariff, based on the 6 people you booked for:- equates to just $36 per person, and includes all the linen, towels, tea/coffee and apparently not so nice biscuits (we are going to change the brand immediately!) The other option is for guests to provide their own doonas, & towels and of course is more moderate at only $28 per person. Plates/cutlery are available in the office, but as a result of your feedback we are assessing different options.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    11
    6
    4
    13
See reviews for
20
4
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2013

This is a motel and not remotely a 'resort' in my opinion. 'Resort' is quite the stretch in terminology here. It was so basic, so do not expect anything more than a small outdated room. It looks like their marketing pictures were taken some time ago. Odd things are that there is a toaster and yet no plates or cutlery for your convenience. Basically it was a very uncomfortable stay. I should also warn that the one-bedroom is really just a studio, no separate bedroom at all. Really squashy with no comforts, so prepare to not want to spend any time in there. Also walls are paper thin so we could hear every single word the next room was saying. Shop around for something better for the price!

Room Tip: Clarify the size of the room with a phone call as website descriptions are deceiving.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelfish5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Cowes hotels

Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2013

very good value of money on phillip island.
exceptionally big room and the beds were so comfy.

Trees around the lodges and very peaceful and quiet during the night.

Staff was very friendly and helpful, I would definitely recommend this accommodation to others.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nobody M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Level Contributor
52 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2013

We had fun staying here overnight with our sons and their girlfriends. We all bundled into a family suite with bunk beds for the kids and a double bed for my husband and me in the front room. We had to go through the bunk bed room to get to the bathroom but didn't mind. This motel is right across from the koala park and not in town, but there is a restaurant next door, and there is not a lot of noise from the road. (We did love the noise from the laughing kookaburras in the trees above!) This is not a fancy place, but it's clean, and the people are friendly. We had a laugh because the instructions for fire safety in the rooms instruct guests to leave the rooms and assemble in front of "Bruce the Koala." You can't miss Bruce!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MadameCoco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Healesville, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the busiest time of year and because of the location you would not have even noticed. Very friendly people and they looked after us well. Perfect location as you are in between everything. Thank you very much for a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Melsantafaye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2013

We decided to stay at Phillip Island this Xmas brake, and one of the first things you think of is the cost of good, clean accommodation. How much is it going to cost us? Well we found a little gem,well priced and clean that we all loved. They had a pool that the children used and a BBQ area that was undercover that I made use of. The rooms have most amenities but a little dated but we can't afford the Hilton. It is very central to all the island has to offer and we felt at home with the people that run the place, that gave us tips on all the attractions.Highly recommended.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gary R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012

I was greeted at the resort accused of having more people than our booking. After I was able to prove that this wasn't the fact via a headcount I was allowed to check in. We arrived 2 hours earlier than the check in time and since the room was ready we were allowed to check in which was nice of them. This unfortunately was the last of the positive experience.

The resort is very basic and even something as basic as a microwave is chargeable. When you turn on the hot water you need to do it a certain way to avoid extinguishing the hot water lighter. Everything about the place is in desperate need of an overhaul. The tennis court surface was cracked and the basketball rings were crooked and in really bad shape.

The resort needs a good scrub down as everywhere you turn is covered in filth. The swimming pool furniture around the pool was either covered in a layer of muck or in so much bird droppings that you were better off sitting on the ground. The BBQ area was quite disgusting as it seems as though the oil drip container has never been changed as it was threatening to overflow and the surface was very greasy.

This place is also plagued with too many rules and regulations. Eg. You were warned not to use the big BBQ if you were a motel guest. There is also a bonfire pit which was clearly marked that permission was required before use. As I had 4 young kids wanting to toast marshmallows I requested permission only to be turned down on the premise that this facility was only open to large group bookings. I tried to plead my case that I would have 4 disappointed kids and that I only wanted to start a small fire for the purpose of toasting marshmallows but it appears that this facility was not open to motel guests. It was only 25 degrees that day so the decision wasn't a safety one. It now became apparent that not everything onsite were available to motel guests.

I have stayed in many accommodations before in Phillip Island and this has to be the most disappointing. My advice would be to exhaust all other options first before you book this motel to avoid disappointment. It's not even that cheap given how much is not included in the price. I personally will never return.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank HowieTran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobynA, Owner at Koala Park, responded to this review, November 11, 2012
When the booking was made for just a 1 night stay over the Melbourne Cup long weekend the guest was advised exactly what was included in the tariff. He chose the cheapest option we make available which is comparible with backpackers in the area, and is not very expensive.
He told us he would book subject to being able to use the swimming pool, to which he was advised the pool had been shut all winter, and not opened for the season as yet, but we would get the pool (only ) prepared for use. The guest was also advised of the check in time and check out time, but they arrived in excess of 2 hours early. As they were in 2 cars, we did ask for confirmation of numbers, as we do for all guests checking in.
With regards to the hot water service, we offer instructions for water efficiency purposes and most guests appreciate this information.
As for the camp fire, we do not know of any Motel that offers such an option, certainly not as an inclusion. Ours has seating for 80 people, and yes, it is provided for group bookings, which we believe was explained diplomatically to the guest and they toasted marshmallows on the gas cook top in the BBQ area instead.
We do not believe the basketball rings are crooked.......interesting enough we had a Basketball Group from all over Australia stay only days before and they didn't have any complaints about the courts/rings, so we don't believe there is any merit in such comments.
The BBQ and oil container were cleaned in the morning by our cleaning staff as they are daily, and we do have a sign requesting guests clean the BBQ after use out of courtesy for other guests, however not everyone does this and it does impact on others; had we been informed, we would have been only too happy to address this situation for him. It was also noted by others that this guest and his family, despite using foil, left the BBQ without any attempt to clean it also.
All in all, we believe the guest had a very economical overnight stay, with a number of inclusions and lastly, both owners were in the office when the guest checked out - we would have appreciated him expressing his opinions then, rather than posting such a biased outburst on Trip Advisor, but like all accommodation businesses, we have to live with it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cowes
3.0 mi away
Cowes Caravan Park
Cowes Caravan Park
#4 of 19 in Cowes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 103 reviews
2.7 mi away
Amaroo Park
Amaroo Park
#1 of 19 in Cowes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
0.1 mi away
Amaze N Things Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Ramada Resort Phillip Island
3.5 mi away
Anchor Belle Holiday Park
5.5 mi away
The Island Accommodation
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Koala Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Koala Park

Property: Koala Park
Address: 1825 Phillip Island Rd, Cowes, Phillip Island, Victoria 3922, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Phillip Island > Cowes
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 19 Specialty Lodging in Cowes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Koala Park 2.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfectly located in the centre of Phillip Island and only minutes from the endless island attractions including A Maze N Things next door and the Koala Conservation Centre across the road and the Penguin Parade which is only a 15 minute drive. Koala Park Resort is under NEW MANAGEMENT since December 2014. The now family run business is constantly evolving to include native animals around the park including bush tailed possums, sugar gliders, emus, frogs, lizards and large variety of native birds. The property consists of 5 acres with tennis courts, pool and a new play area under construction. Koala Park Resort is the ideal location for the family get away you have been planning! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Koala Park Phillip Island/Cowes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing