We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Budget Stay”
Review of Koala Park

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Koala Park
Ranked #19 of 19 Specialty Lodging in Cowes
Reviewed January 5, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the busiest time of year and because of the location you would not have even noticed. Very friendly people and they looked after us well. Perfect location as you are in between everything. Thank you very much for a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Melsantafaye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (47)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

27 - 33 of 47 reviews

Reviewed January 3, 2013

We decided to stay at Phillip Island this Xmas brake, and one of the first things you think of is the cost of good, clean accommodation. How much is it going to cost us? Well we found a little gem,well priced and clean that we all loved. They had a pool that the children used and a BBQ area that was undercover that I made use of. The rooms have most amenities but a little dated but we can't afford the Hilton. It is very central to all the island has to offer and we felt at home with the people that run the place, that gave us tips on all the attractions.Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gary R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2012

I was greeted at the resort accused of having more people than our booking. After I was able to prove that this wasn't the fact via a headcount I was allowed to check in. We arrived 2 hours earlier than the check in time and since the room was ready we were allowed to check in which was nice of them. This unfortunately was the last of the positive experience.

The resort is very basic and even something as basic as a microwave is chargeable. When you turn on the hot water you need to do it a certain way to avoid extinguishing the hot water lighter. Everything about the place is in desperate need of an overhaul. The tennis court surface was cracked and the basketball rings were crooked and in really bad shape.

The resort needs a good scrub down as everywhere you turn is covered in filth. The swimming pool furniture around the pool was either covered in a layer of muck or in so much bird droppings that you were better off sitting on the ground. The BBQ area was quite disgusting as it seems as though the oil drip container has never been changed as it was threatening to overflow and the surface was very greasy.

This place is also plagued with too many rules and regulations. Eg. You were warned not to use the big BBQ if you were a motel guest. There is also a bonfire pit which was clearly marked that permission was required before use. As I had 4 young kids wanting to toast marshmallows I requested permission only to be turned down on the premise that this facility was only open to large group bookings. I tried to plead my case that I would have 4 disappointed kids and that I only wanted to start a small fire for the purpose of toasting marshmallows but it appears that this facility was not open to motel guests. It was only 25 degrees that day so the decision wasn't a safety one. It now became apparent that not everything onsite were available to motel guests.

I have stayed in many accommodations before in Phillip Island and this has to be the most disappointing. My advice would be to exhaust all other options first before you book this motel to avoid disappointment. It's not even that cheap given how much is not included in the price. I personally will never return.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank HowieTran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobynA, Owner at Koala Park, responded to this reviewResponded November 11, 2012

When the booking was made for just a 1 night stay over the Melbourne Cup long weekend the guest was advised exactly what was included in the tariff. He chose the cheapest option we make available which is comparible with backpackers in the area, and is not very expensive.
He told us he would book subject to being able to use the swimming pool, to which he was advised the pool had been shut all winter, and not opened for the season as yet, but we would get the pool (only ) prepared for use. The guest was also advised of the check in time and check out time, but they arrived in excess of 2 hours early. As they were in 2 cars, we did ask for confirmation of numbers, as we do for all guests checking in.
With regards to the hot water service, we offer instructions for water efficiency purposes and most guests appreciate this information.
As for the camp fire, we do not know of any Motel that offers such an option, certainly not as an inclusion. Ours has seating for 80 people, and yes, it is provided for group bookings, which we believe was explained diplomatically to the guest and they toasted marshmallows on the gas cook top in the BBQ area instead.
We do not believe the basketball rings are crooked.......interesting enough we had a Basketball Group from all over Australia stay only days before and they didn't have any complaints about the courts/rings, so we don't believe there is any merit in such comments.
The BBQ and oil container were cleaned in the morning by our cleaning staff as they are daily, and we do have a sign requesting guests clean the BBQ after use out of courtesy for other guests, however not everyone does this and it does impact on others; had we been informed, we would have been only too happy to address this situation for him. It was also noted by others that this guest and his family, despite using foil, left the BBQ without any attempt to clean it also.
All in all, we believe the guest had a very economical overnight stay, with a number of inclusions and lastly, both owners were in the office when the guest checked out - we would have appreciated him expressing his opinions then, rather than posting such a biased outburst on Trip Advisor, but like all accommodation businesses, we have to live with it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2012

It was quite a shock to see how basic our room was. The TV was 14 inch and very few channels.
The room reminded us of Butlins Holiday Camps UK Economy Rooms in the 1970s.

We were disturbed by the neighbouring room having pizzas delievered late at night.

We did receive a warm welcome. It was very convenient for the famous Penguin Parade. That was awesome.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GrecianHighworthUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2012

Whilst it is a more basic accommodation the rooms are very clean and have all the facilities one could need. It was quiet so we got a good sleep and most importantly the hosts were extremely accommodating as we required a very late checkout. Nothing was a bother and they went out of their way to make our stay enjoyable. Would recommend them and stay there again. There is also a great pub next door serving fantastic food..

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tracy133
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2012

We had left our New years day booking for the very last minute, I had searched for accomodation in all Phillip Island without luck, I even looked into other coastal towns, however encountered the same problem... NO VACANCY ANYWHERE!

At first I avoided Koala Park based on the star rating of this venue, and in the end it really was our option. I was with my family and parents, however we really did want to go somewhere... anywhere!

Overall, do not expect anything spectactlor as you pay what you get for, however bang for your buck I'd say it certainly does the job. I didn't get a chance to swim in the pool located on premise however it looked pretty nice, along with the other well maintained amenities.

The rooms are very basic, and the beds were quite uncompfortable, however I was more than happy to bite the bullet based on being the only place with accomodation and price we paid. The guys that run this place were extremely helpful and provided lots of advice on getting around during peak holiday season and ideal beach destinations to relax with our family.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank basdeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2011

I stayed at the Koala resort for 4 nights over the weekend of the Moto GP with a group of friends and can i say it was a ball. I am a rep on the road full time and spend many nights away in country towns.When travelling you never really feel comfortable in a motel as you are only there for a night or two . Well that certainly changed when i stayed at the Koala resort. The owners Steve and Robyn could not do enough to make sure that we had everything that we were comfortable and that we were having a good time. It's not often that the owner sits down and shares a beer with you .The camp fire and BBQ were really a great idea and made you feel right at home chatting to other guests. Thanks for the great hospitality i will be back next year...cheers!

Room Tip: Front rooms were fine
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank debsgebs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cowes hotels
0.1 mi away
A Maze N Things Holiday Park
2.8 mi away
Comfort Resort Kaloha
3.5 mi away
Anchor Belle Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Cowes Caravan Park
Cowes Caravan Park
#6 of 19 in Cowes
106 reviews
2.8 mi away
Amaroo Park
Amaroo Park
#1 of 19 in Cowes
208 reviews
1.5 mi away
Ramada Resort Phillip Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Koala Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Koala Park

Address: 1825 Phillip Island Rd, Cowes, Phillip Island, Victoria 3922, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Phillip Island > Cowes
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 19 Specialty Lodging in Cowes
Price Range: $70 - $143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Koala Park 2.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfectly located in the centre of Phillip Island and only minutes from the endless island attractions including A Maze N Things next door and the Koala Conservation Centre across the road and the Penguin Parade which is only a 15 minute drive. Koala Park Resort is under NEW MANAGEMENT since December 2014. The now family run business is constantly evolving to include native animals around the park including bush tailed possums, sugar gliders, emus, frogs, lizards and large variety of native birds. The property consists of 5 acres with tennis courts, pool and a new play area under construction. Koala Park Resort is the ideal location for the family get away you have been planning! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Koala Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Koala Park Phillip Island/Cowes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing