We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not impressed”
Review of Coachman Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Coachman Motel
Ranked #7 of 10 Hotels in Cowes
Ferntree Gully, Victoria, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“not impressed”
Reviewed September 7, 2013

They called it luxury studio with spa bath, what a joke. The bed was way to soft and the bathroom stunk like a men's urinal,they had also sprayed for ants but did not clean the dead ones up.
The sheets on the bed were stained and the pillows were lumpy. The bed it's self was so soft that we will probably have to see a physio.
We would not go back there or recommend it to anyone.
As a result we left a night early.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank Kim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobinM204_13, Manager at Coachman Motel, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Kim
I am sorry you did not come to us on Saturday morning with your concerns and we could have addressed them and moved you. Thank you for your report about the bed. It's hard for us to assess as we don't sleep in any of the beds - the mattress will now be upgraded as will the pillows.
Thank you for taking the time to review our motel
Regards
Robin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    77
    31
    14
    13
See reviews for
71
57
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Carlsbad, New Mexico
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2013

A very nice, tidy place in a quiet neighborhood close to town center. The family room we booked was very spacious, bright and clean. We were surprised at the numerous power points available which was a big plus since we had lots of devices we needed to charge at night. Check in was very efficient and the gentleman checking us in was very friendly. The off street parking area was sufficient for our needs but a little tricky to get to - a bit cramped but otherwise fine. Good value for a family.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobinM204_13, Manager at Coachman Motel, responded to this review, September 7, 2013
Thank you for your review. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Maybe one day we can welcome you back.
Robin & Josef
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2013

Went there for a night stay with my family. We booked a room that can contain 5 person, which have 2 rooms in it : One with 2 singles, and another with 1 single and 1 double bed. The motel was lovely, clean and nice! It was a comfortable stay, quite big for the price they offered.

Kitchenette is beyond my expectation, as it was really equipped with all the pots and plates, utensils, cups as well as table cloth! Heater was good, and in the room, no heater is provided but electric blankets are provided (and functioning well!)

Bathroom was good, clean, and equipped.

Would definitely recommend others to stay here! Good deal =)

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank suezannet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobinM204_13, Manager at Coachman Motel, responded to this review, September 7, 2013
Thanks you for taking the time to review our motel. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay.
Josef & Robin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2013

I stayed here for a single night, as a part of a road-trip around NSW/Victoria. Obviously, Cowes is more of a destination than a point on the journey, in general, and I guess many visitors to the Coachman Motel would stay for a holiday not just for a night.

It wouldn't be a bad place for that. My room was comfortable and well set-up. I was pleased that it had a panel heater rather than a reverse-cycle air conditioner - it quietly heated the room very efficiently. The room also had a full separate food area - complete with its own sink - separate from the bathroom, making it a bit more substantial than you'd find in most motels.

The welcome at the front desk was a little chilly perhaps. Maybe my attire was scuffy. Maybe they just don't like to chat. I don't know - nothing was lacking though, really.

The place is an easy walk to all the restaurants and facilities of Cowes. Even in the rain, I didn't get too wet. And I was able to go for a jog along the sea-front before dinner.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank doc_M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobinM204_13, Manager at Coachman Motel, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Thank you for your very comprehensive review. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay with us and I'm sorry I seemed chilly.
Cheers
Robin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2013

After reading the few bad reviews you are always hesitate to book. So we rang the lady Robyn and she was so nice she gave us 3 rooms for just over 320 aud that was 2 family rooms and 1 one double room. So after discussing we decided to stay and we weren't let down. My friends wanted the wifi strange away where i just wanted to go to bed and we were all so happy as its great to get what you want. We also enjoy the fact everything was walking distance to the small town of cowes that has shops, places to eat, cafes etc. Thank you to Robyn and team for providing my friends an I what we wanted a nice place to stay, warm bed, warm shower and a clean room.

We will continue to come back and recommend to friends and family.

Room Tip: Free wifi, walking distance to the shops. If you want to save money I would advice buy something fro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lecoolest01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobinM204_13, Manager at Coachman Motel, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review. Josef and I are so pleased you were comfortable and enjoyed your stay.
We look forward to welcoming you back some time in the future.
Cheers
Robin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2013

We stayed 1 night at this motel. There were 4 couples and 1 baby in our group so we booked 2 2-bedroom apartments, 1 meant for 4 persons and the other for 5 persons. The apartment for 5 persons was better than the other. We were able to connect to the free wifi whereas the other apartment had zero connection. The apartment for 5 persons was dirtier though. There was a couch in the living room and the couch looked like it hasn't been cleaned in a long while.

The shower in both apartments was terrible. The bathroom was super cold and the shower cubicle was small. The water was super cold at one moment and super hot at another. Can you imagine cold water gushing out from your shower when you are bathing in winter where temperature at night was like 8 degrees?

What upset me most was on the night when we checked in, I checked with the reception if we could leave our cars in the carpark of the motel the next morning as we were going for whale watching and come back to collect our cars after the whale watching. The lady at the reception told me that it was not a problem. However the next day after our whale watching, we were scolded when we went back for our cars. The same lady said that nobody asked her if we could leave our cars there. I was super pissed off with her attitude so will definitely not recommend anyone to stay here.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wlht79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobinM204_13, Manager at Coachman Motel, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
It is strange that one of the units could not connect to the internet. I feel that there must have been a problem with the devise used as we have had guests in both the units all week and they had no trouble connecting to the internet.
If there was a problem with the water you only needed to pick the phone up and call reception and it would have been checked immediately. We are on the property 24/7 to attend to guests concerns.
There is never a problem with our guests leaving their cars on the property till early afternoon but not after 2pm; as we all know that is the time new guests are due to arrive. I am sure you would have been 'super pissed offed' if you came to check-in and there was a car occupying your space and the owners of the car could not be contacted (the only contact phone number given was an overseas one).
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Cowes hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013

The room was clean and tidy. Not luxurious but good enough. Free wifi in our unit, which was a clear added plus. Our kitchen stove wasn't functioning, and after the owner came to inspect, handed us the key to the neighboring unit (which was vacant) for us to use the stove there - certainly a nice gesture.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EarthTraveler13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobinM204_13, Manager at Coachman Motel, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our property. Sorry about the stove, it is now fixed.
All the best
Robin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cowes hotels
0.2 mi away
The Continental Hotel Phillip Island
0.1 mi away
The Waves Apartments
The Waves Apartments
#4 of 10 in Cowes
228 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Castle Villa by the Sea
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Comfort Resort Kaloha
0.2 mi away
Seahorse Motel
Seahorse Motel
#3 of 10 in Cowes
227 reviews
0.4 mi away
Tropicana Motor Inn
Tropicana Motor Inn
#2 of 10 in Cowes
213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coachman Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coachman Motel

Property: Coachman Motel
Address: 51 Chapel St, Cowes, Phillip Island, Victoria 3922, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Phillip Island > Cowes
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Cowes
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Cowes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Coachman Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
200 Meters to safe beach, shops,& restaurants Penguin Parade 10 mins drive. Quiet family motel Solar heated outdoor swimming pool, heated outdoor spa,BBQ area Guest laundry. Free WIFI to all rooms and units ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Coachman Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coachman Hotel Phillip Island
Coachman Motel Phillip Island/Cowes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing