We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Location, value for money”
Review of Coachman Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Coachman Motel
Ranked #7 of 10 Hotels in Cowes
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best Location, value for money”
Reviewed May 8, 2012 via mobile

located smack by the town centre,
Near the Tourist Info Centre,
Direct Shuttle to see Penguin Parade
Clean,
Affordable (Aud $95), Exellent value for money!
I used the hot spa in Autumn - fun!
I should definitely come here again!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JoeYee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    75
    29
    14
    13
See reviews for
68
56
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Co Kildare
Level Contributor
119 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2012

We stayed here on 18th April for just one night unfortunately! We really enjoyed our stay, it is in a great location just a few mins walk to the shops, restaurants and beach. It was very clean and had everything you could need for a short stay. It was also very quiet and only 10mins drive to the wonderful penguin parade. The Irish man in reception was very nice giving us lots of info about the penguins and the best time to go. It had a great pool at the back so really I cannot fault it. I would definitely stay here again, excellent value for money.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sgs67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
roma
Level Contributor
65 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2012

We spent just 1 night in this motel but we had a very good impression of it. Location is perfect, just 2 minutes walking distances from Cowes main intersection with shops and restaurants. It is an excellent base for visiting the various attractions of Phillip Island. The rooms are wide has everything you usually need, beds are confortable. There is even a small pool. The owners are very helpful and nice (one of them even Italian-speaking!).
We enjoyed Phillip Island, just one thing: be careful the Penguin parade is presented like a TV-show rather than a nature phenomenon. The penguins are forecast to appear at .. 21:07 .. and they do! All people watching (and freezing) like in a theater. Good for kids, although penguins are so beatiful... there are many other things to do in Phillip Island though.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank andreadic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
61 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2011

Very nice relaxing motel. Excellent location, friendly staff. The room was clean, the bed was comfortable. It had heated electrical blanket! The AC was quiet. It had VCR and DVR players and videos at the reception.
Nothing luxury but the room had microwave, fridge, toaster, kettle - all you need for comfortable and budgetary stay. We arrived to the motel right after hiking a long trail and asked about the spa. It was turned especially for us and in 15 minutes we enjoyed the outdoor spa.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 10. Rooms 9-12 are on the first floor, each has separate small verandas with small...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yelena S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed October 30, 2011

Fresh paint, great beds, new TV (no reception!!), great location, disgusting stove top, ripped sofa - disappointing but for the beds!

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caz640
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2011

Nice enough motel with friendly staff in great location. Typical motel so don't expect much. Clean, comfortable and excellent wifi. Not a destination but you get what this motel claims it is.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Juno-Nomar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 19, 2011

This was the second time I had stayed here as it was impossible to get accomodation anywhere else as we were travelling in a peak period.

During my first stay in 2010, I was warned by my friends about the rude owners who gave them a lecture upon arrival, the second night we were all relaxing in the spa in the afternoon and one of the owners walked out and turned it off on us, but we did still have a good weekend.

Second stay, was a nightmare. Our queen bed was broken, one of the wheels had actually broken off and so the bed tilted when you tried to sleep on it, the couch was falling apart and had rips all down one cushion. The old woman stuck her head into our room at about 11pm to see what we were doing, (We were just watching the footy and one of us was sitting outside having a smoke) So I requested a new room for the last night where only 2 ppl were staying, so we got moved to a standard room, the freezer didnt work, no cooking facilities, shower curtain that stuck to you - it was really lucky we are easy going people who have fun regardless. I dont recommend you stay here, I payed 285 a night for that crap! not worth it.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jessie-Leigh24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Cowes hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cowes hotels
0.2 mi away
The Castle Villa by the Sea
0.1 mi away
The Waves Apartments
The Waves Apartments
#4 of 10 in Cowes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
0.1 mi away
Comfort Resort Kaloha
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Seahorse Motel
Seahorse Motel
#2 of 10 in Cowes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 218 reviews
1.5 mi away
Ramada Resort Phillip Island
0.4 mi away
Tropicana Motor Inn
Tropicana Motor Inn
#3 of 10 in Cowes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coachman Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coachman Motel

Property: Coachman Motel
Address: 51 Chapel St, Cowes, Phillip Island, Victoria 3922, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Phillip Island > Cowes
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Cowes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Coachman Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
200 Meters to safe beach, shops,& restaurants Penguin Parade 10 mins drive. Quiet family motel Solar heated outdoor swimming pool, heated outdoor spa,BBQ area Guest laundry. Free WIFI to all rooms and units ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Coachman Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coachman Hotel Phillip Island
Coachman Motel Phillip Island/Cowes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing