We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Waves Apartments
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Cowes
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 12, 2013

I stayed at Waves as part of a mid-week getaway during the winter. It was quiet and very relaxing and I was extremely privileged to be upgraded to a top-floor ocean view room which was far superior than what I paid for. This level of courtesy is something I am very grateful for, but has not unjustly influence the remainder of my review.

The room was modern, neat, clean, comfortable and, importantly, warm during the cold winter days. The decor was contemporary, and the inclusion of two televisions and a DVD player made for a relaxing stay in the rainy weather. The modern bathroom housed a spa bath which added to the stay.

The kitchenette, while basic, was well equipped for simple meals. There was a fridge / freezer, microwave, hot plates (no oven) and other standard equipment such as cooking utensils, kettle and toaster. The room was not serviced daily, but was well configured for a three day stay without needing any housekeeping attendance.

Staff were very friendly and welcoming, which is a welcome change from the stale check-in experience of many hotels.

Location was ideal, just off the main strip making it quite yet accessible to both the beach and the main street.

Room Tip: I was on the top floor in a corner apartment away from the lift, so I had great peace and privacy fr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (232)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

154 - 160 of 232 reviews

Reviewed June 10, 2013

Great spot overlooking the water .Our 2 bedroom apartment was very functional, lovely and warm with sun morning and night. 2 sleep zones as featured in travellers photos, with lounge/sofa in main bedroom along with large TV, desk coffe table and spacious balcony. Smaller TV in kitchen area along with 4 seater table and 2 single beds. Heater at kitchen end and A/C in main bedroom. Full size bathroom with spa between both rooms, laundry on site.The unit was very comfortable and clean and parking was available underground with lift to rooms. Walk to town or water within minutes. Modern accomodation option for a family of 4.

Room Tip: Ocean view hard to beat.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gidget_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2013

I always stay at the Waves. The staff are always happy and welcoming. The location is directly across the road from the beach, jetty and playground. The main shopping centre is 10 mins walk away. There is a coffee shop and bike rental shop out the front that sells light meals and great coffee. The underground parking is great in the summer. Balcony is a bonus in summer, allows sunbaking in privacy. The kitchen is well equipped, with microwave, hotplates and all cooking equipment.The rooms are always clean and well appointed. Spa bath is great and always clean.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front have the best view and balconies. If you don't mind not having a view of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elise147
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2013

Perfect location on the esplanade of Cowes, great fit-out of the apartment, very comfortable and very friendly welcome at reception. If you are staying overnight to watch the Penguin Parade, this definitely is a very good accommodation option.

Room Tip: asking for a beach facing room would enhance the experience
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eva S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2013

This place is beautifully located and has so much potential however for $220 per night I expected more. Our room had a balcony with a very dirty balcony glass door which I would expect the magnificent view should have been what took my attention. House Keeping left our door open all day with all of our valuables at risk. The drains in the bathroom really smelled bad. It reminded me of the drains in Bali. The guests in the room next door had their own stereo and decided to keep us awake all night while their spa was also going until 4.30am. Since there are no staff members working after 10pm we had no one to contact to rectify the noise issue. We requested to check out an hour or two later but we were refused. Since this is the Off Season you would expect better service. A credit or refund/deduction would have been appreciated for a sleepless night. I doubt we will be back again nor will the groups I bring down each month.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
6  Thank Matt J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2013

Large room, 2x bunk beds in kitchen and a queen size bed.
Secured garage parking.
Be warned that nosey neighbours can look into your unit from the balcony so either drop the blinds or dress decently ;)

Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank ClemZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2013

I managed to book a private unit (501) situated within The Waves Apartment during the April school holidays.

Unlike most of the other units within this apartment block where the bunk beds were essentially next to the meals area or kitchen, this particular unit had a separate bunk room.

All the facilities within this unit were pretty new and functional. Highlights were the spa bath and the washing machine/clothes dryer combo. We also had access to a private covered garage under the apartment. Made it really easy to load and unload our stuff as the unit was adjacent to the lift.

The beach and jetty is but a short walk away. You do get a bit of ocean views from the apartment, but it's towards the north-west side of the apartment. In addition, a kids outdoor public playground is nearby. My kids had a lot of fun there one of the mornings.

The only negative thing that I can say about this unit is that whenever we flushed the toilet, there was a unpleasant smell for a short period of time. Not sure if there is something stuck in the pipes...

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Pak-Tjun_Chin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cowes hotels
0.1 mi away
North Pier Hotel
North Pier Hotel
#10 of 11 in Cowes
38 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Castle Villa by the Sea
0.1 mi away
Comfort Resort Kaloha
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Ramada Resort Phillip Island
0.5 mi away
Tropicana Motor Inn
Tropicana Motor Inn
#3 of 11 in Cowes
229 reviews
0.2 mi away
Seahorse Motel
Seahorse Motel
#2 of 11 in Cowes
246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Waves Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Waves Apartments

Address: No. 1 The Esplanade | P.O. Box 108, Cowes, Phillip Island, Victoria 3922, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Phillip Island > Cowes
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Cowes
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Cowes
Price Range: $175 - $227 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Waves Apartments 4.5*
Number of rooms: 64
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Waves Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Waves Apartments Hotel Cowes
Waves Apartments Cowes
Waves Apartments Hotel Cowes
The Waves Apartments Phillip Island/Cowes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing