We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal for family”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Waves Apartments
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Cowes
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 5, 2012

Stayed at the Wave Apartment in November. Reserved a Beachside executive unit and was informed that we were upgraded to the beachfront suite upon arrival. The suite was huge with a kitchenette and bed for 5 people. Beautiful beach view from the apartment. Person at the reception was very friendly, spending time to explain the hotel amenities and tourist attractions on Philip Island. Just across the road is a playground and the beach. 10 to 15 minutes from major tourist attraction on Philip Island, such as, Penguin Parade, Koala Conservation and Chocolate factory. I would highly recommend this apartment for family with kids.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pte-traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (229)
There are newer reviews for The Waves Apartments
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

167 - 173 of 229 reviews

Reviewed November 5, 2012

We loved the Waves Apartments - I assume they are individually owned but the two bedroom unit we were in was brand new - it felt like no-one had ever been there before. It was big, comfy and sparkling clean. The only downside was a glass bathroom wall which spilled light out into the main bedroom which for us was an inconvenience as my partner was ill. The apartments are right across the road from a kid's park which was ideal and very close to the town centre.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fiona B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2012 via mobile

We loved staying here, the apartments are in a fantastic location just across the road from a park (with a great kids playground) and the beach. Walking distance to cafes etc. Tastefully decorated, quite new, very clean. A very spacious main 'bedroom' / loungeroom. The only real con was that the kids' bunk bed was next to the kitchenette which made it a bit tricky to eat & wash up after they were asleep - luckily ours are deep sleepers but others may have been disturbed. We had one of the cheaper apartments so no view (only the back of a building) but this didn't bother us. Overall really enjoyed Phillip Island & would gladly visit again.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bobblepob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2012

Overall, this was an excellent place, especially for the price. We had a non-serviced room, which meant that no one came to clean up each day. That's fine with us, and it also brought the price way down. We were very surprised at how reasonable the price was for a place with a large bedroom/living area, plus a kitchen/dining area. Yes, the kids' bunk beds are in the kitchen area, but that's not a big deal, unless you want to cook after the kids go to bed. As others have said, there is a very large spa tub in the bathroom, which is nice.

Now for a couple of downsides. One, each unit has their own water heater, so if you have a long shower beforehand, you can't fill up the spa tub. Not a big problem--just something to know. The main downside was that we had people next door to us for the two nights we were there, and we could hear them very clearly. I expect they could hear us as well! It was like they were just in the kitchen next door, through a single door. We could more or less hear their conversations.

Since no one else has mentioned this recently, I expect most of the time people aren't placed next to each other. If you have the chance, ask for a room that is not next to another family. It was not terribly disruptive, as they were quiet at night, but a bit annoying nonetheless.

Overall, it was a great value and a very good location, and we would certainly stay there again!

Room Tip: Ask for a room that is not next to another family, to avoid noise.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank clhendricks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2012

Very nice apartment, very clean and tidy. We booked a beachfront suite and whilst it was lovely we could see more trees than beach. My only negative was that the beds werent very comfortable, particularly the kids single beds.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DenEli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2012

Stayed as a family with two young kids in April 2012. The rooms, toilet and bathroom were very clean and very roomy. Plenty of space for the kids to run about and had a beachfront room on the first level.

There's a playground nearby on the foreshore which was handy for the kids also.

The only minus is that people from the street (or those parked on the street) can see into the rooms which can be a bit off putting - particularly when there are hundreds of people on the lawns outside. Lightly frosted glass or some other means of providing some privacy for the first floor would have been good.

We would definitely come back, but next time would be requesting a second or third floor room.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kanning
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2012

I booked this place thinking it would be amazing for my Husbands Father Day present. We were all pretty disappointed when we opened the door to find the kids bed in the same room as the kitchenette! The unit was a very strange layout! The bed was comfortable enough, the heater was loud and rattled and we ended up turning it off! The spa was the best part of the place. The service and staff were nice though but despite this I would not go back because it was a lot of money and not worth it!. We left early the next morning. Next time I think we will stay in the caravan park or not book and find somewhere nice to stay on the day!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank s n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cowes hotels
0.1 mi away
The Continental Hotel Phillip Island
0.0 mi away
The Castle Villa by the Sea
0.1 mi away
Coachman Motel
Coachman Motel
#7 of 10 in Cowes
175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Comfort Resort Kaloha
1.6 mi away
Ramada Resort Phillip Island
0.2 mi away
Seahorse Motel
Seahorse Motel
#3 of 10 in Cowes
227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Waves Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Waves Apartments

Address: No. 1 The Esplanade | P.O. Box 108, Cowes, Phillip Island, Victoria 3922, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Phillip Island > Cowes
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Cowes
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Cowes
Price Range: $153 - $254 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Waves Apartments 4.5*
Number of rooms: 64
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Booking.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Waves Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Waves Apartments Hotel Cowes
Waves Apartments Cowes
Waves Apartments Hotel Cowes
The Waves Apartments Phillip Island/Cowes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing