We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place to sleep”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Waves Apartments
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Cowes
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Good place to sleep”
Reviewed December 6, 2011

We stayed for one Saturday night to allow us to explore Phillip Island over the weekend. The location was good and the room was comfortable enough. Although we travelled as a couple, we opted for a larger room/apartment that actually sleeps 5 as we wanted to have sea views. We were on the second floor and a higher floor would have been preferable, however we were told there were none available. Pretty average accommodation but I imagine it would be good value for a family as there were three single beds in kitchen area.

Room Tip: Our room faced the sea, from what I could see rooms not facing the sea would not be worth staying in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sll80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

226 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    101
    96
    22
    6
    1
See reviews for
88
93
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Gold Coast
Level Contributor
38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2011

We stayed here for one night and have to say that was long enough.

Not really worth the money and is one of those places where the photos make it look much nicer than it is. The rooms are average and the beds uncomfortable.

The location is amazing though and waking up to crashing waves is beautiful.

The rooms are set up backwards and the two single beds were closer to the front door (and the people stomping past in the night - not to mention the lights are on all night outside the window with no block out curtains). We actually ended up dragging the matress out to the back of the apartment with us.

All in all - tidy enough but check other hotels or negotiate a better rate as we paid only $50 less then our 5 star hotel in Melbourne to stay here. Phillip Island is a hard place to choose accommodation as there isnt much between average and holiday houses so do ur research :)

However it should be noted.. The staff were really helpful and knowledgable..

And it is located straight across the road from where the seal tours leave from.. This I can recommend!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melinda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2011

We had an apartment on the 3 floor overlooking then sea... Modern and clean... Great value... We stay 2 nights as part of our Phillip Island ride day ... Walking distance to the shops

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Macbrowndog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryde, Australia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2011

We arrived seeking a place for 2A / 3C (15, 13 & 10) and to our surprise were given what was called a "Studio Apartment". This was by far the most wonderful apartment - plenty of room.

Entrance into a room consisting of Bunk beds and single bed, room had a TV, Fully equipped kitchen and dining table. Sliding door separated this room entering into corridor off to right was a Spa / Shower / Bathroom and then further down corridor Queen sized bed, another TV and 2 Lounges with sliding doors leaking onto balcony.

Included in tarrif was Juice for 5, Large Milk and Cereal for 5.
Great value, within walking distance to everything. Opposite water, we had a courtyard view.
Would recommend again! Could have stayed weeks.

Room Tip: Front rooms would have water views. Some rooms over look courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
127 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2011

The Waves Apts are right next to the water and if you stay there, do not get anything that is facing the inside grounds. The amenities are nothing special but there is a certain charm about the place (that may come with the charm of the town and Phillip Island as a whole). The town people are in general friendly, as are the hotel staff. Hotel is in a relaxed setting but there are no restaurants. However it is only short walk to the town where there are alot of eateries where the food and service is average in quality (except there is a Chinese/Malaysian restaurant, where the owners are not service minded).

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Moichee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yarragon, Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2011

The Waves is a lovely place to stay with small children - it's directly opposite the beach and playground, and well-located for Phillip Island's multitude of attractions. We stayed in an executive apartment, which was spacious, comfortable and had a spa. The blinds in the front of the apartment don't do much of a job of blocking out the bright lighting near the front door, which can make it hard to get a child to sleep, and the kitchen could be better provided with equipment (having a frying pan isn't all that useful without a chopping board or sharp knife!), but otherwise this was a very pleasant, quiet place.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank authorgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2011

We stayed at The Waves Apartments in Cowes between Christmas and NYE and it was perfect, the rooms were immaculate, the service was fantastic, location perfect, facilities perfect. It was one of the most relaxing holidays I've had in awhile. Our room was serviced everyday at a reasonable time, we had a beachfront room and it was brilliant, amazing views, very comfortable. I highly recommend this accommodation, we have already booked for the sametime again this year and will definately be continuing to visit.

Room Tip: We had a room on the 3rd floor, there was plenty of room and it had lovely views of the bay
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cj_loves_holidays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cowes hotels
0.0 mi away
The Castle Villa by the Sea
0.1 mi away
The Continental Hotel Phillip Island
0.1 mi away
Coachman Motel
Coachman Motel
#7 of 10 in Cowes
172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Comfort Resort Kaloha
1.6 mi away
Ramada Resort Phillip Island
0.2 mi away
Seahorse Motel
Seahorse Motel
#2 of 10 in Cowes
221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Waves Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Waves Apartments

Property: The Waves Apartments
Address: No. 1 The Esplanade | P.O. Box 108, Cowes, Phillip Island, Victoria 3922, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Phillip Island > Cowes
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Cowes
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Cowes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Waves Apartments 4.5*
Number of rooms: 64
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, Evoline ltd, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Waves Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Waves Apartments Hotel Cowes
Waves Apartments Cowes
Waves Apartments Hotel Cowes
The Waves Apartments Phillip Island/Cowes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing