We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing, Yum Yum.”

The Goat in the Boat
Ranked #11 of 72 Restaurants in Cowes
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Essendon, Australia
1 review
“Amazing, Yum Yum.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2014

It's so great to have good food when you are away on holidays. We went to The Goat in the Boat just before Christmas and found the whole experience to be exceptional. Very authentic Greek food which was well presented and tasted amazing. A great selection of wines also available. It also has a bar so you can just have a drink and enjoy "tapas" while you sit back and enjoy the atmosphere. Great idea. We met the chef and his wife who works front of house and they are extremely friendly and helpful with your choices on the menu. Our next visit will include friends and family. We recommend you also take the time out to enjoy The Goat in the Boat.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jenny P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    107
    31
    18
    13
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
“Authentic and delicious Greek!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2014

We have visited The Goat in the Boat twice now to celebrate special family occassions. The staff are very welcoming, friendly and knowledgeable and the food is just amazing!
The menu is very authentic and it's wonderful to have such good quality dining available in a regional holiday destination.
The best way to experience The Goat in the Boat is to share dishes and experience as much as possible. The menu is designed perfectly for this which makes it a great choice for groups. HIghlights for us were the saganaki, ocotpus, spankopita, lamb rack and duck - all delicious and prepared to perfection.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tina O O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
261 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Really good Greek”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2014

A really good restaurant; the prices are fairly hefty, however we took the 'tapas' option and just ordered a range of dips / meats etc, and ended up with a completely satisfying meal for a (for Phillip Island) reasonable price. Service freindly and efficient, wine list very good; would happily go there again.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FamilyTraveller1012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wantirna, Australia
1 review
“Fantastic taste sensations”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2014

Had fantastic food and night great hosts service very professional wine list reasonable we will be back soon

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jock350
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
“Authentic Greek Cuisine with excellent service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2014 via mobile

Started with a very generous serve of dips but the highlight for me was the prawn salad with garlic mayo, pine nuts and potatoes. From the onset an outstanding meal coupled with the Blue Pyrenees merlot made for an unforgettable meal. My husband had the very generous serving of the Pork Souvlaki and rated it 5/5 for authenticity and flavour.
No room for dessert menu unfortunately.
Best service made for a wonderful night. Maria has an obvious sense of pride for this wonderful restaurant.
Will definitely be going back every time I'm on the island.
Highly recommended.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Anitamilas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Goat in the Boat also viewed

Cowes, Phillip Island
Cowes, Phillip Island
 
Cowes, Phillip Island
Cowes, Phillip Island
 

Been to The Goat in the Boat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing